×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Purrfect Murder (Mrs. Murphy Series #16)
     

The Purrfect Murder (Mrs. Murphy Series #16)

4.0 39
by Rita Mae Brown
 

See All Formats & Editions

It’s autumn in cozy, idyllic Crozet, Virginia—a time for golden days, crisp nights…and murder. Mrs. Carla Paulson is one of the diamond-encrusted “come-here” set who has descended on Crozet with plenty of wealth and no feeling for country ways. She’s determined to make her new house the envy of all her well-heeled friends—and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Purrfect Murder (Mrs. Murphy Series #16) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 39 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I too am glad I got this from the library instead of buying it. After having read every other book in this series I couldn't even make it past page 33. What began as an exciting mystery series with a lovable cast of characters has turned into the author's political agenda with a weak storyline on the side. I thought I was sitting down with another murder mystery not pro-abortion propaganda. When abortion came up at a vestry meeting that was enough for me. Even if you are pro-choice you will find the pages of abortion dialogue nauseating and over the top.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read Rita Mae Brown's books for many years. Always loved them and looked forward to the next one. Until this one. I stopped at Page 54......she started bashing the present administration ('Karl Rove and Company') That is not necessary to tell a good story like you usually do, Rita!! Sorry...but if she wants to write political bashing stories....I will skip buying those books. Sorry about this. Always enjoyed her humor and good mysteries in the past.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read many of Rita Mae Brown's murder mystries over the years. Her mystery Purrfect Murder was a message for abortion. The plot line was terrible and her desire to blast Christians made it a very bad read. I have enjoyed her books upto now, but now that she is pushing her political views through a work of fiction, I will drop her from Authors I want to read. Don't waste your money on this propaganda piece. It's poorly written and spends all its time defending abortion. Pass on this left wing book. I liked her better when she kept her political views to herself. I have had several other mystery readers share their disdain of this book.
garage366 More than 1 year ago
I have read all the books in this series and this one to put it mildly "Totally Sucked"! We want mysteries, not personal agendas. It basically was a book about abortion. I know the writer is against it and I still don't care!!! What happened to her? She started this series off with a bang and now I'm not sure if I'll ever read another one of her books. Sad day for what used to be a good writer. I'd skip it if I were you. Not worth reading for any reason!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read about 50 pages and am already sick of the political slant of the book. I like to read to escape, not rehash the evening news. Love this series, but really dislike this book.
MOMOF6TM More than 1 year ago
Read all the reviews of the people who gave this one star! This book is very political and definitely liberal leaning, from abortion (the ongoing theme) to global warming to Carl Rove. It was hard to get past that to get into the story itself. The only good thing I have to say is that the illustrations are very well done, and very cute. This is the first book I have read by Rita Mae Brown, and definitely the last. Too bad, because mysteries are usually my favorite! If you want to read good books including the cat theme, try Lilian Jackson Braun's "The Cat Who..." series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What makes this novel a treat to read is the author's delight in the regionalism of rural Virginia and the characteristics of the "characters" inhabiting Crozet. The novel unbashedly tackles concerns that are important to a changing United States, issues like homosexuality, the incursion of big box homogenity into rural communities, and the importance of diversity and acceptance. Crozet, and its inhabitants, act as a microcosm of controversal issues debated in communities today. What I love about Brown is her skill in reminding the reader that issues have real people behind them, with real feelings, lives, etc. The message to love the person even if you don't agree with life choices overrides all petty concerns. The mystery, while entertaining, is pretty weak; however, I encourage readers to look more deeply into the nuances of what it means to be a citizen in an increasingly pluralistic society.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ms. Brown once again has entertained with the characters of Crozet WV. I thoroughly enjoyed the book, but unfortunately this series has become a rote format. Nothing new, nothing exciting, but if you're a fan of the animals go for it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What can I say? Tucker, Mrs Murphy and Pewter did it again. Just another good, fun and who done it read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ninjamom More than 1 year ago
I have read all of Rita Mae Brown's Mrs. Murphy series books and I love them all. I adore the animals and their antics. I really like the writing style of this author and the unique plots she comes up with.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago