×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Queen of the South
     

The Queen of the South

4.1 34
by Arturo Pérez-Reverte, Andrew Hurley (Translator), Andrew Hurley (Translator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

This international bestseller inspired the must-watch drama on USA Network starring Alice Braga as Teresa Mendoza.

From “master of the intellectual thriller” Arturo Pérez-Reverte, a remarkable tale, spanning decades and continents—from the dusty streets of Mexico to the sparkling waters off the coast of Morocco, to the Strait of Gibraltar

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Queen of the South 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
Aygee More than 1 year ago
The Queen Of The South by Teresa Mendoza isa gripping story about a girl picked up off the streets into the heart of power. She loved, lost, and the pattern repeated just when you thought she was home free. On a warm day in Sinaloa, Mexico, a cell phone rings and wakes her up from her fairytale. With the help of unlikely companions and incompassionate lovers, she makes her way to top while her world turns upside down. They got her lover, then they came after her too. The drug trade and its connections throughout Mexico, Latin America, and the Mediterranean come alive. Flashing back to her earlier life, the novel reveals Teresa as an uneducated but attractive twenty-three-year-old in Mexico, in love with Guero Davila, a Chicano pilot from San Antonio involved in shipping coca. Working through a cartel enjoying the complicity of the police, the Ministry of Defense, and even the President of the Republic, Guero is known as "the king of the short runway," a pilot able to drop from the skies, make a pickup or a connection, and be gone almost instantly. Guero had always told her, "If this [phone] ever rings, it's because I'm dead. So run. As far and as fast as you can, prietita¿And don't stop, because I won't be there anymore to help you." When she suddenly gets the call, she follows Guero's instructions to the letter, racing to deliver important papers to Don Epifanio Vargas, in exchange for her life, and running, with Vargas's help, through Mexico City into Spain. I would reccomend this amazing book to anyone who loves to read. When she suddenly gets the call, she follows Guero's instructions to the letter, racing to deliver important papers to Don Epifanio Vargas, in exchange for her life, and running, through Mexico City into Spain. The way Teresa relates to topics really engaged me and I could defiantly relate.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The theme of the book centers on how the main character Teresa Mendoza must run for her life in order to survive. She must become someone new, someone who has the strength and the will to make her way to the top in a world mainly occupied by dangerous men. The story begins in the town of Cualican, state of Sinaloa, in Mexico, when Teresa receives that ominous phone call: her boyfriend Guero Davila, pilot for the drug narcos, has been killed and she had better start running of she¿ll be next. With the help of a friend Teresa ends up in Spain. Throughout the first 300 pages there is a strong sense of how Teresa manages to find the will to survive through all that¿s happened to her. It is clearly depicted how she manages to keep going even through all the pain that has entered her life and which she keeps within herself. It is unclear whether Teresa saw herself developing into many different women or just one strong woman managing to persevere with her life. In Spain Teresa rises to the top as she sets up the largest transport system of drugs in the Gibraltar Straight. As people became dependent on her, her many names included Queen of the South, La Mexicana, Queen of the Drug Trafficking Straight, and Czarina of Drugs. In other words, in a world of men Teresa became the Queen. She infiltrated society, paying people off and understanding the certain rules and codes to the entire trade which can never be conceived unless you are a part of the business. When Teresa first arrived in Spain she was the soft spoken, observant, worldly, and independent with her prim Mexican accent. As Teresa becomes stronger she looks to herself and her future as being independent and without men. After looking back on her life and past dependencies she begins not to hope, not to dream, and not to trust because it makes you vulnerable. I enjoyed this book immensely for many reasons. The book did ramble a bit for the first 300 pages but then the last 100 became significantly exciting. There was no doubt that the story was full of mystery with unimaginable twists and turns everywhere: ¿As he walked away, he added, `Then there¿s the mystery right? ... What happened at the end with O¿Farrell and with the lawyer¿. [...] `What happened with all of them¿.¿ (p.292). As you progress through the book you learn that anything is possible: ¿ `In fourteen or sixteen hours a lot of things can happen...¿ ¿ (p.416). I loved how there was a lot of foreshadowing throughout the entire book. There first few pages were definitely no disappointment: ¿[...] and the SIG-Saucer with the three clips lying there like an omen-in fact, a fatalistic acceptance-of what was going to happen that night.¿ (p.8). I liked how the book came full circle on several accounts but I also enjoyed how it was written. Much of the book is written in the third person, which is Teresa¿s story itself, but then there are parts that are told in the first person where you read about this reporter finding out the facts and interviewing people about Teresa Mendoza so that he can write a book about her life, which you ironically happen to be reading. It¿s interesting to read about how this man pieces her life together, and sometimes you find out things when he does and other times he finds out things that you already know. So all-in-all I really enjoyed this book. The major lesson in this book is that no matter what happens one can always adapt, change, or become a new person in order to survive in this world. I personally also learned that anyone, seen from a certain point of view, could be a good person. Not that I didn¿t know this before, but one can also learn that the world is a difficult place with complicated rules and it¿s sometimes easier to understand these rules, and life itself, through a book. There are thousands of books out there just waiting to be picked up, and though it may seem hard to grasp the full intended meaning of them, you can still obtain a sense that they contain an important li
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AMA001 More than 1 year ago
When I first started watching the series on TV, I wanted to read the book. Thought it was a little slow getting into, but the last 50 or so pages really had me hooked. I could not put it down because I wanted to find out how it ended. Wanting to know how her life is now and about her child, I understand completely why that was not possible.
bonana5211 More than 1 year ago
The Queen of the south is an amazing attention grabbing piece with twists and turns that keep you wanting more every page. It all starts with one little phone call that sets her dreams into nightmares and leaves her with a heart wrenching loss of her one true love Guero Davila. He was "the King of the short runway" as many people knew him as and he was heavily involved with drugs specificly cocane.As her hands shake as she reads the note he gave her she makes sure to follow every detail to the last letter and makes her way out of comfort of her home in Mexico to the greatest parts of Spain in order to bring these papers to a man by the name of Don Epifano Vargas and along with the death of her loved one she finds she not only has to deal with one death she has to make sure her life does not end in the same way Gueros did.This book is deffinetly not for everyone and would only recomend this book to people who have a true love for reading and can figure out details and bigger words because the context of this book is not something younger people should unless they are up for a challenge. I liked and disliked this book for several different reasons, I like it because the idea of a mystery tied in with s sort of romeo and juliet situation is in some ways good throughout the book and also bad. I also liked the fact that they had some things you wouldn't have seen coming like one that she could be pregnant and many other things. I didn't enjoy this book because i felt like it was a bit above my head in a sense and i had to think and reread some pages because i didn't quite understand what she was trying to get across especially in the beginning when she describes this dream or idea of her lover enjoying the beach in his beach chair and also some other things such as some conversations around 466 and so forth. Now reading this i don't think i would read it again but it was something i am glad i challenged myself with and learned a few things as well like all about the drug trades in Mexico,the Mediterranean, Latin America. For Teresa Mendoza I believe that in writing she loves to connect the characters emotions with the readers feelings towards their favorite character and find those little things that impact them or they could relate to and that is another reason why i did make it through the book and still happend to enjoy most parts of it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Alanza More than 1 year ago
In this novel by Arturo Perez-Reverte a young woman, Teresa Mendoza, is sent on the run by the death of her man. Guero was a drug trafficker/pilot and couldn’t keep his mouth shut. Eventually he was killed, as are all loud-mouths in that particular profession in Mexico. The protagonist, Teresa, is the next target despite her non-involvement in the traffic. Guero did keep a friend that could get Teresa out of Mexico and she went to him. He got her out of the dead zone and into southern Spain. There she got a modest job, though still on the edge of the ‘wrong’ side. She meets another man, Santiago, who also is a trafficker, but makes runs on the ocean. Teresa is thrown right back into the whole mess all over again. Love, lose, repeat. She ends up in jail for a little while, but gets her break after that. The main pieces thereafter are her struggles to rise in a dangerous world or men, drugs, and reasons to kill. This book is formatted in an odd fashion with some in the first person of Teresa Mendoza and other parts written through the eyes of a reporter researching her. The transitions are sloppy and there is no indication of view changes. The book is more description than plot and could be portrayed in a much shorter novel. Teresa and other important characters lacked depth and were hard to imagine as a full human being. I do not favor this style, although the descriptions were very thorough and well written. The dialogue left something to be desired, as did the plot and pacing. Overall, not my favorite book. I would not recommend this to anyone. There is also some mature content, not of violent nature. I love to read, but had a hard time getting through this one. I found it choppy, badly paced, and just uncomfortable to read. The story itself wasn’t horrible, but there may have been some things lost in translation. I may revisit this in it’s original language to see if it was just the translation that ruined it or if it just wasn’t the book for me.
valmiriam45 More than 1 year ago
Teresa Mendoza is a character that csught my attention, not only because of her personality, but, for her deliverance. A young woman who gets involve with a man who was earning a living by dealing drugs and all of a sudden she enters a universe of violence; betrayal; fear; opulence; and passionate love that marked her for ever. She did not know any better......she followed a dangerous path after loosing her beloved "El Huero" and she became the Queen of the South. There is a lot of discrimination in the book, and we get caught in the trama in which a mexican woman has to deal with life in order to survive. We lived her fears; cried her tears and laughed with her... Excellent piece of literature !! Well created characters....!!! A good book to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really recommend it book and advice you to read it but not only to read it but also to see the to series on channle 52 telemundo 10:00pm
Brianna29 More than 1 year ago
The book Queen of the south by Arturo Pérez-Reverte,is the story of Teresa Mendoza and how she becomes to find herself but in a very dangerous way,the story starts shortly after she hears that her beloved Guero has been killed,and its up to Teresa to save herself which leads her to meet some very interesting characters and travel to Spain. I really liked this book because it really keeps you on the edge of your seat and if you are getting bored it picks up and the writer did an excellent job describing all the emotional problems that Teresa was suffering from.I didn't enjoy how the book would start back in the present at the beginning of chapters it made it very confusing. I learned how you can make your own future and how truely nothing is impossible and how if you think something is in you grasp you can reach it. I would highly recommend this book because it is a great read and if you enjoy dark literature then you will definately enjoy it,however i wouldn't recommend it if you don't like drug usage or reading about it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MCHR More than 1 year ago
A window into a lifestyle is what Arturo Perez-Reverte has given us in his novel "The Queen of the South". The drama, the intricacies and suspense of the life of people involved in drug-dealings, arms-dealings, drug-fighting, corruption... love and death. The bets that a woman from a small town Mexico makes on life and death, on her chances to stay alive in circumstances that are againts her. The life that she chooses seem the inevitable result of a succession of events that leave her no choice... or does it? The only option for Theresa in this job is keeping alive and she will do whatever it takes to protect herself and the life she has achieved. For her and the people around her, attachments are to be avoided, relationships don't last --unless it is a business relationship that is profitable and has to be secured at all costs, otherwise, love in her live comes and goes, loyalties being more important than profits, and alliences with groups that survive among deathly rivalry. The enemies of her enemies are her allies....and surprises unfold that make her take drastic decisions that mark turning points in her life and no one can make it out of this lifestyle unscathed, as Theresa would soon discover.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Katie_Flynn More than 1 year ago
The book, "Queen of the South" by Arturo Pérez-Reverte, is a "biography" of Teresa Mendoza who begins as a beautiful uneducated girl on the arm of a Mexican Drug Runner named Guero Davila. Guero is killed by his bosses and Teresa receives a phone call, in which she knows is the signal, the signal telling her to run for her life, so she flees to Spain. During her getaway, she recalls numerous things Guero has told her about this day. "In this business," Guero had said, "you've got to know how to recognize The Situation. Somebody can come over and say Buenos días. Maybe you even know him, and he'll smile at you. Easy. Smooth as butter. But you'll notice something strange, a feeling you can't quite put your finger on, like something's just this much out of place-" his fingers practically touching. "And a second later, you're a dead man.... or woman."(pg. 11) Once she reaches Spain, Teresa falls for another drug runner, in whom she insists on partnering. She then becomes and expert at piloting boats. Teresa becomes a ruthless drug runner and gains her title "Queen of the South" the leader of a drug smuggling empire. Teresa Mandoza's story is not told through her point of view entirely, an unnamed speaker/narrator seemingly Arturo Pérez-Reverte himself, has come to Sinaloa (Teresa's home in Mexico) to investigate and fill the unknown time space in Teresa's life. The narrator inserts himself and his conferences into the biography. Soon the fine line between fiction and fact begin to blur, in which the people he has interviewed are real people, and some of whom he dedicated this novel as well as characters included in the narrative. This adds a depth of realism to the novel, making is seemingly real to the reader. I liked this book, the story line kept me on edge the entire time. It was one of those hard to put down books that completely captivates you. As I continued to read, I couldn't stop and it became harder and harder to get my other work done, because all I wanted to do was read!! The beginning, instantly pulls you in with an 'off the charts' ringer of a first paragraph. "The telephone rang, and she knew she was going to die. She knew it with such certainty that she froze, the razor motionless, her hair stuck to her face by the steam from the hot water that condensed in big drops on the tile walls." (Pg. 1) Then follows with introducing the reason for Teresa's horror, why the phone rang. "If this thing ever rings, it's because I (Guero) am dead. So run. As far and as fast as you can, prietita- my little dark skinned one. And don't stop, because I won't be there anymore to help you." (Pg. 2) The book continues to get more exciting and there are little mysteries along the way hidden in the story. The book continues to pull you in further till the very end, it is a charismatic thriller that I would recommend to anyone. A truly remarkable read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SarahR More than 1 year ago
I thought overall this book was very good. The first hundred pages were a bit slow but after that it became very interesting and suspensful. I like Arturo's style of writing, it seemed to take on journalistic attributes. Also he was very vivid with his description of events. It made me feel like i was right there watching what was happening. I would reccommend this book to everyone over the age of 15. It had some mature content that would be innapropriet for small children. I really enjoyed this book and im sure you would too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago