×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Queen of This Realm
     

Queen of This Realm

3.9 17
by Jean Plaidy
 

See All Formats & Editions

In this "memoir" by Elizabeth I, legendary historical novelist Jean Plaidy reveals the Virgin Queen as she truly was: the bewildered, motherless child of an all-powerful father; a captive in the Tower of London; a shrewd politician; a lover of the arts; and eventually, an icon of an era. It is the story of her improbable rise to power and the great

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Queen of This Realm 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When this book was introduced to me I didn't think I would like it. I didn't know that much about Elizabeth, and I didn't care to know, but I was told that this book was different so I tried it. And I loved it. It made me go back to a Pre-Jamestown world and watch a young girl have to gow up quickly and tread carerfully around her own father of fear of losing her head. And her vow to become Queen, no matter what it takes. Even though her chances of being Queen became almost non-existant after a male heir was produced, she some how managed to become Queen and have a hole nation, as did I, fall in love with her as a Queen and a person.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this amazing book down! Intrigue, suspense, and history abound in this well-written novel. By far the best I've read about the virgin queen.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
miss_dobie More than 1 year ago
Any of the Plaidy books having to do with the British Royalty is very, very highly recommended! She brings the characters to life and puts you right into the middle of all the action. You will cry, laugh, gasp and go through a whole range of emotions during her page-turners. To complete one of her books is bitter-sweet: sorry to leave the characters you have come to know and care about, yet happy for being so much more knowledgeable of the era and also (if you have not read every single one of her 90 books) delighted to know there are yet others of her books to go on to. She never fails to enchant and educate her reader. Such a pure delight!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MBOLEY More than 1 year ago
Such an exciting time in English History. Would recommend this book to anyone. Jean Plaidy is such a great author. Captures history and weaves and excellent story around it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
OMG....I love Jean Plaidy books as wells as Philippa Gregory but after reading this book I can't help but think of Queen Elizabeth Tudor as an idiotic, vain woman, who lived for intrigue and exhibited bouts of irrational jealousy and envy. I just could not stand her character and how she pined over Robert Dudley like a fool (he obviously was a murderer and ambitious man) yet she turns a blind eye constantly. Anyways I could not respect or appreciate her except that she allowed religious tolerance. I liked reading about Queen Mary Tudor, Katharine of Aragon, Anne Boleyn, Catharine Howard, and Katharine Parr much more!!They were women I could understand and relate too! and respect!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am usually very particular in my reading and find it hard to find a book about Queen Eliabeth I that will keep my interest. However, this book has captured her true essence of being a great Queen as well as a bit narcissistic. I truly felt that Plaidy captured the complete personality of Queen Elizabeth. I definitely recommend this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although you really connect with her, she is the only one. I felt like they never got to let you know any of the other characters. I wanted not only Robert Dudley's actions i wanted to know his motivation and his thoughts. But maybe the author was shooting for an unexplainable unpredictable character, but it came out to me as flat. The novel seemed rushed at times and slow at others. Although well written the story failed to capture my attention.