×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Quintana of Charyn (Lumatere Chronicles Series)
     

Quintana of Charyn (Lumatere Chronicles Series)

4.8 13
by Melina Marchetta
 

See All Formats & Editions

The climactic conclusion of Printz Award winner Melina Marchetta’s epic fantasy trilogy!

Separated from the girl he loves and has sworn to protect, Froi and his companions travel through Charyn searching for Quintana and building an army that will secure her unborn child’s right to rule. While in the valley between two kingdoms, Quintana of Charyn

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Quintana of Charyn (Lumatere Chronicles Series) 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Joie-de-Lire More than 1 year ago
A review from an emotionally compromised bookworm: Melina Marchetta (authoress divine) is one of those rare authors whose writing is constantly improving, constantly pushing the limits of how much I think I can love a book. When I read Finnikin, I felt like I had found The Best Book Ever (aside from Jellicoe Road, of course). But then she wrote Froi and now Quintana and I just have no words. At least, none that I haven't said before. Quintana of Charyn is, undoubtedly, a conclusion. All the loose ends are tied up and the reader is left in a satisfied place. Actually, it's a rather heart-wrenching place because it's The End, but nevertheless it was a good stopping place. The characters' struggles have been resolved. You know that they're going to be okay, yet there's still an open-endedness that comes with knowing their lives will go on and they will continue to learn and grow. With most fantasy books, the authors focus on explaining the world-building. What was great about this series was that yes, Marchetta explained the ways of the Lumaterans, Charynites, and co. But she never took the focus away from the characters and their relationships. At the end of this series, you know these characters: their hopes, their fears, their love of country, and their love for each other. You know their hearts- their very essence. And being so close, so darn attached to these characters made me feel ALL of the feelings. While reading, I had the sudden and overwhelming urge to just take all these beloved characters and, I don't know, hide them in my pocket or something. Just snatch them from the pages and tuck them somewhere safe so that they could stop hurting. Maybe that's a little silly, but these characters have just gone through so much in just Quintana alone, let alone the entire series. There is pain, devastation, loss, grief, and heartbreak. Yet more powerful than all of that is the undercurrent of hope and love that has been there even in the darkest of times. That is Marchetta's true talent—besides the ability to make me want to curl up into a fetal position and sob— she has the uncanny ability to craft these masterful stories of broken people and their broken relationships and somehow make it a story of redemption and love.  The Lumatere Chronicles has given me more heartache than I thought possible, yet I always crawl back for more. And, to be honest, I would sooner swear off of chocolate than say goodbye to this series and its magnificent characters. I hate goodbyes. I hate the knowledge that once I finish a book, I will never get to know more about a character's life. But knowing that everyone I cared about in this book ended up okay made saying goodbye just a little bit easier.Good books give you a beautiful happily ever after. Great books pierce your hearts with sadness and linger on your mind long after you've finished. And then there are the rare, phenomenal books that manage to utterly shatter your heart, then somehow heal you at the end and claim an eternal place in your heart. Quintana of Charyn is one of those books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great if not predictable end to the trilogy; but it's not just the ending that makes the book/trilogy, it's the journey.  Marchetta is a beautiful writer, with great characters made real by their passion, flaws and witty and often times humorous quips.   the growth and development of the characters was nice to see.  though it was still difficult for me to relate to Quintana, she was at least more likable by the end.  The plot was much more intricate and rich in the first 2 of the series, and this book just seemed to wrap it all up to a happy and satisfying end .   sorry to see this story come to the end, but i am sure i will reread it again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Book 1is still my favorite but this is a close second. Would love to get more from these characters, whom I have grown to love. I think there is a few more stories left within this world.
MissPrint More than 1 year ago
"We could look at the side of wonder." Froi was left for dead on the mountaintops of Charyn, taken to his uncle--a gifted physician. He has lost Quintana. He has lost Gargarin and Lirah. Quintana of Charyn is alone and in hiding. She might be the curse breaker, but first she will have to survive long enough to give birth to the new heir. In Lumatere, the Charyn threat is growing. Lucian of the Monts is uncertain of how to deal with his unwanted neighbors across the valley. Isaboe wants to erase the royal line responsible for the days of the unspeakable and the murders of her family. Finnikin wants to find Froi before it's too late. But in their months apart, both young men have changed. Two countries torn apart by grief and rage will have to find common ground if either of them hopes to heal in Quintana of Charyn (2013) by Melina Marchetta. Quintana of Charyn is the final book in Melina Marchetta's Chronicles of Lumatere which begins with Finninkin of the Rock and Froi of the Exiles. Quintana of Charyn picks up soon after the brutal events of Froi of the Exiles. Everything is still a mess. The characters are all separated. The outlook is bleak. It's difficult to talk about too much of the plot but suffice to say that Quintana of Charyn gives these characters the space and the ending that they deserve. Through careful writing and artful plotting, Marchetta subtly shifts her characters and tone. After the harrowing experiences of book two, this conclusion to her epic fantasy trilogy reads like a soothing balm. It's a testament to the strength of the writing and the intricacy of this series that absolutely everything comes together here. Marchetta uses the fantasy setting to explore larger issues of forgiveness and love as well as grieving and rebirth in this powerful novel. Quintana of Charyn is a must read for fans of the first two books in the series. Readers looking for their next sweeping fantasy series should definitely start this series at the beginning. Highly recommended. Possible Pairings: Graceling by Kristin Cashore, The Yiddish Policeman's Union by Michael Chabon, Exquisite Captive by Heather Demetrios, Incarceron by Catherine Fisher, The Lost Sun by Tessa Gratton, Princess of Thorns by Stacey Jay, The Dispossessed by Ursula K. Le Guin, The Tower at Stony Wood by Patricia A. McKillip , The Outlaws of Sherwood by Robin McKinley, The Winner's Curse by Marie Rutkoski, Gulliver's Travels by Jonathan Swift, The Last of the High Kings by Kate Thompson, Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien, The Queen of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved!
SmalltownSR More than 1 year ago
A heart-breakingly beautiful story, that had me weeping tears of sorrow and joy.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A beautifully crafted series, with unexpected plot lines and twists, truly human characters who a reader cannot help but love despite their flaws, and writing more lovely than anything I have ever read. These are my all time favorite books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RozetteKR More than 1 year ago
Oh my goodness. I first began this series with Froi of the Exiles, the second book in the series. I purchased Finnikin of the Rock as soon as I could and after finishing both in three days, I waited anxiously for Quintana of Charyn to come out. What a wonderful book! I loved each book in the series, but must admit that Quintana is by far my favorite in the series. Words cannot describe how great this book is. I am astounded that this series is not better known here in America (each book in the series was published first in Australia, where Melina Marchetta is based). When I finally held this book in my hands, my stomach doing happy flips, I had to put the book down and take a deep breath. It took me a full week before I worked up the nerve to read this book, because I was so afraid of it not living up to my expectations. Boy did I feel like a dense when finally read the last sentance on the last page and couldn't help myself- I screamed. In happiness because the book was so wonderful, but also in sadness, because the series is done. Over. And Melina Marchetta ended the series and the book so well you are left going "But then what happens?!?". She give you the sense of finality that each book should have while also leaving you the knowledge that these characters lives will continue and many more adventures will occur. I think that this is fantastic story telling on Melina's part, because this makes the characters more real. You can actually visualize them as people, not just characters on a page. I commend you, Melina Marchetta! Much love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago