×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Rabbi's Daughter
     

Rabbi's Daughter

3.9 17
by Reva Mann
 

See All Formats & Editions

In this honest, daring, and compulsively readable memoir, Reva Mann paints a portrait of herself as a young woman on the edge—of either revelation or self-destruction. The daughter of a highly respected London rabbi, Reva was a wild child, spiralling into a whirlwind of sex and drugs by the time she reached adolescence. But as a young woman, Reva had a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Rabbi's Daughter 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A woman's journey into finding peace and closeness to God and the futile marriage with a man from a super strict sect within the Hassidic Jewish community.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Rabbi's daughter mirrors life's struggle for so many of us in so many ways. My heart responded to this book and even though the writer's life and mine are so different, we walk the same path. I think it is a well traveled path and Ms. Mann's memoir gives us so much to identify with. It ultimately has to do with the constant challenge each of us faces of identifying, understanding, and living our authentic selves. The book is also a window into the customs and ways of the secular orthodox jew and the hassidic jew. This was a beautifully written memoir with a lot of lessons shared and learned.
donnareads911 More than 1 year ago
This book reads like a novel but is a bitingly honest memoir. This almost manic account of drug abuse and wanton, anonymous sex, swings to ultra-conservative Orthodox Judaism, and as the story closes, the pendulum is swinging back again. I pray it doesn't swing "way far". I was given a glimpse into a world that is a part of my children's heritage and found it intriging as well as scary with it's religious stance. We all have our journeys in this life. I'm interested in reading the sequel to the rest of Reva's story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent book!
ShellyMW More than 1 year ago
Repenting of ones sins is always hard but in doing so one cannot loose themselves in the process. That is the core of the Rabbi's Daughter. In the long run, she becomes a stronger stronger women and finds a balance in her religious life. Through her trails she finaly begins to understand her parents and what made them the people she always felt so seperate from. The subject matter was presented in a way that let you feel the main charaters turmoil.
camilleC More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book and its honesty !!! An exceptional read
CathiMD More than 1 year ago
Interesting life, kept my attention from start to finish.
Anonymous 26 days ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read this book 9 times and fall in love with it again and again each time, it really give you a look into the hasidic community. defintiely a MUST READ!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The only thing I didn't like about this book was the crude language used far too often and wasn't necessary for the flow or meaning of the story.