×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Random House Webster's Unabridged Dictionary [With CDROM]
     

Random House Webster's Unabridged Dictionary [With CDROM]

4.1 13
by Random House
 

See All Formats & Editions

With fifty years of experience in dictionary publishing behind it, Random House Webster's Unabridged Dictionary is the most definitive single-volume reference of the English language available. This modern dictionary offers an exhaustive, traditional study of the language, while covering the latest, most important developments--ahead of any other

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Random House Webster's Unabridged Dictionary 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
LMcHugh More than 1 year ago
As a writer, I've always wanted the slipcased edition of the Oxford English Dictionary with the magnifying glass. But since the OED is pretty pricey, I began looking for a good unabridged dictionary. A writing instructor I admire recommended this edition of the Random House Webster's Unabridged, and I've been nothing but delighted with the purchase. As an example of its depth, I was working on a piece about desert flora and fauna and had lost the exact spelling of the name of a particular bird. There on page 1575 was "pyrrhuloxia." In addition, the word origins are particularly useful to me. When a word origin dovetails with the meaning I'm trying to convey, I know I've chosen le mot juste. I highly recommend this affordable, authoritative dictionary.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have Chambers dic. of 2002 that is good but not current. I rushed to buy this Webster's + CD ROM because it was said to be published Sept. 2006 and putatively contained most new words. I was shocked to find it was published in 2001 as shown by the copyright and does not contain current words like 'blog' and 'podcast'. The book is everything but current.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is merely an older edition repackaged in a new cover. There is no new copyright date, and if you look up a new word such as 'blog' it is not present.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is absolutely amazing. It contains every single word in the english language and its origins. It also contains many words in other languages. It includes tons of other handy information: foreign alphabets, such as Hebrew, Arabic, Russian and Greek, flags of every country, a Spanish-English,French-English, Italian-English dictionary, lists of every college in North America, maps and various other bits of info and trivia. It's a phenomenal resource, a dictionary, encyclopedia and atlas rolled into one. I have used it to prepare presentations for work, my kids have used it for papers and projects. Whatever you need, it's in there!
PaulRN More than 1 year ago
An excellent dictionary. Everything I wanted (except for the fine print). Sometimes I would have preferred a little larger book with larger print due to my aging eyes, but with readers, I find this dictionary a pleasure to just pick up and read a page or two at random. I often glance at it, then say what letter do I want to start with today? Then read through that page for new meanings and new words. A great comprehensive work. PaulRN, a perpetual student and care giver.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I HAVE HAD SOME OF THE LARGEST DICTIONARIES IN MY LIFE BUT THIS ONE IS PROBABLY THE EASIEST TO USE **NOT COUNTING DIGITAL DICTIONARIES** AND THE MOST DETAILED...I LOVE IT!!! MY WHOLE FAMILY USES IT...AND LET ME TELL YOU, WE STARTED PLAYING SCRABLE EVERY WEEK BECAUSE OF IT AND WE ENJOY EVERY MINUTE OF IT...I HIGHLY RECCOMEND THIS...IT'S THE BEST THERE IS!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a dictionary and replaces the very old one I had since college over 30 years ago. My only complaint is that the book is so heavy. However,I wanted one with the most available words and that's what I got.I've found that the smaller paperback dictionaries are extremely limited and were not meeting my needs.
Howard57 More than 1 year ago
This dictionary turned out to be less than what I expected. I purchased the dictionary without thinking of cost, solely because I was told that the "unabridged" would have it all. That is not true. There were many words that I did not find in this dictionary, but was able to find in the Webster's online dictionary. Yes, it is good to have if you do not have access to an online dictionary. My preference is the online dictionary.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This a great dictionary for almost everything. Spelling bees, games, activities, college papers, school essays & progects, etc., etc., etc.!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MAV-N More than 1 year ago
Websters is just fine for in depth word explorations.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You will find the word you're looking for plus you'll get detailed info on word origin and extensive definitions. Good for word-lovers!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Easy to use, yet thorough and feature-loaded. Placing an icon for this dictionary in your task bar makes it available just about anytime, during most programs, on- or offline.