×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Rant: An Oral Biography of Buster Casey
     

Rant: An Oral Biography of Buster Casey

4.2 267
by Chuck Palahniuk
 

See All Formats & Editions

The provocative and mind-bending new novel from the bestselling author of Fight Club and Haunted.

Rant takes the form of a (fictional) oral history of Buster “Rant” Casey, in which an assortment of friends, enemies, admirers, detractors, and relations have their say on this evil character, who may or may not be the most efficient

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Rant 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 267 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Other reviewers say that if you like Palahniuk you will love this book. I could not disagree more. This book is just a recycled 'Fight Club'. Let's review. We are shaped by our families, culture and the media. If we do not understand that then we are leading someone else's life. If we do see through that veil we can follow our own true path within our society. Or we can Chuck the whole thing and realise we are just clever animals. We can take the idea that life is 'nasty, brutish and short' to its extreme conclusion. Your garden variety rebel distills life to sex and drugs and rock and roll. Your true rebel distills life to sex and destruction and rant and rage. The trap is that for every authentic anti-hero, like Tyler Durden or Rant Casey, there is a pathetic cast of wannabes ironically trying to live someone else's life. This book would have been OK if 'Fight Club' had not been written first. Chuck Palahniuk rages against the tame homogenized life so many of us live. I think that puts a greater burden on him not to recycle his earlier successes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is an exceptional read. All of these very bad reviews must have been because they did not understand the work, or they just want a simple narrative that gives you a generic story. And this book is not even close to being Fight Club. It requires much more thinking, and is much more complex than Fight Club. This is a book that gets better every time you read it as well. I'm beginning to think some people that read this book has no clue what it is about!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Palahniuk's books. I give them to everyone after reading. I wanted to throw this one in the garbage after reading. It is as interesting as all the rest of the books until the last few pages. It's as if Chuck was simply tired of writing the story and finished it at 9am before a 10am deadline.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was a big disappointment. I am a huge fan of Chuck and this was totally not what I expected from him. It's very repetitive and all the important information about the main character is in the first few pages. Nothing new about him is discovered throughout the rest of the book. If you're into bad books, be my guest but if you're looking for a good read or am a fan of Chuck's, please spare yourself the disappointment and wasting money.
Anonymous 2 days ago
Rant is an addictive read, that made me not want to set it down!
Anonymous 11 months ago
H
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book reads like a documentary and that just adds to the fun and occasional humor of it all. The story really picks up when Palanhniuk sprinkles in some subtle Sci-fi, which came a bit late in the book, but it was welcomed. I loved the world Chuck built through the perspectives of the characters in Rant Casey's life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
?........
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The greatest read in my lifetime. I have been waoting to get into a book this good for a long time, and years later I'm still lost looking, I love rant with a passion, this is my favorite book of all time
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She nodded and hummed happily. "Hey Hask..." she smiled playfully d flirtingly fluttered her eyelashes. "Has anyone ever told you that you look amazngly handsome when you're think hard about something?"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
'He chuckled,' Your the first one to.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my all-time favorite reads.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Chuck's books but this one is horrible. I have tried to read it three times now and each time ends with me say "Why did I buy this!!?"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great Read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago