×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ratio: The Simple Codes Behind the Craft of Everyday Cooking
  • Alternative view 1 of Ratio: The Simple Codes Behind the Craft of Everyday Cooking
  • Alternative view 2 of Ratio: The Simple Codes Behind the Craft of Everyday Cooking
     

Ratio: The Simple Codes Behind the Craft of Everyday Cooking

3.8 68
by Michael Ruhlman
 

See All Formats & Editions

Michael Ruhlman’s groundbreaking New York Times bestseller takes us to the very “truth” of cooking: it is not about recipes but rather about basic ratios and fundamental techniques that makes all food come together, simply.

When you know a culinary ratio, it’s not like knowing a single recipe, it’s instantly knowing a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ratio: The Simple Codes Behind the Craft of Everyday Cooking 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 69 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm currently in culinary school and have found this book to be incredibly useful. While these concepts are taught in culinary school, they're not presented in such a clear, comprehensive way. Often times it takes several weeks of classes to even begin to make up you own recipes of a particular type, but with this book you can start as soon as you finish reading a chapter! I've found that most of the recipes I have from school fit into the ratios exactly, even though they are never expressed as a ratio. Before I read this book, I was in total awe of our master chef who, when asked what ingredients to use for a particular dish, would look up at the ceiling and throw out several ingredients with the appropriate measurements. I thought he had just memorized every recipe under the sun, but now I know he was just doing the math!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have always known that cooking schools don't teach just techniques and recipes, but a cooking chemistry that allows chefs to create dishes from a basic knowledge of how ingredients go together. I have looked and looked for a cookbook to teach me this. This is the book! I read it cover to cover in two days and I use the ratios daily. When you know the ratios, you can make anything you want--from cookies to bread to soup--without a recipe. Anyone who cooks (or eats!) will find this book to be a unique and valuable addition to their library. I have given it to several people as a gift and they have all loved it, as well. I will also be using it to teach my granddaughter to cook. Bravo!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading this book so many recipes made sense. It is a simple approach to baking - if this then that - what could be easier, no more wondering if a recipe will turn out. Good for the cook who wants to know why and how things work.
PF52 More than 1 year ago
I created a bread recipe using the ratios and it was great. So happy to have finally found the proportions necessary for basic items I make every day. Great resource for the creative cook. The other essential resource I use is The Flavor Bible by Karen Page and Andrew Dornenburg. It outlines flavors that go together. Ratio + The Flavor Bible = All you need to create your own spectacular recipes
Kapimom More than 1 year ago
While somewhat narrow in scope, this book is a delight to read and to put into use in the home kitchen. Ruhlman has compiled simple formulae for cooking and baking basics -- certain ratios (hence the name) that can be applied across thousands of variations to make breads and pastries, puddings and custards, and other categories of foods. I ordered the book for my Nook first, then went to B&N locally to purchase it in paper form for even quicker reference. I write a weekly lifestyle column for a local paper which features cooking and baking frequently, and have been a "foodie" all my life. This book touches a deep chord with its ease of use, and encouragement to explore and experiment. As a senior with many years of experience, I still find it most intriguing and useful, and know a rank beginner would also benefit greatly. I highly recommend this as an addition to any kitchen library!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book changed my life. It's like Michael Ruhlman tore open the secret lid of culinary basic knowledge and presented in a reader friendly format. While I would not strictly deem this a "cookbook" it has some great basic recipes. But the most important knowledge in this book is all about logical techniques and the ratios. Knowing the ratios for basic foods allows you to then play around and get creative all on your own. I would love to have a giant art piece of the ratios in my kitchen or a tattoo of them on my arm!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book elightened be to the science of cooking that I was always curious about. I am continually perplexed by US baking recipes and why they don't specify weight measurements over volume for dry ingredients. This book gives me the foundation to create my own recipes! Exciting!
gustigiusti More than 1 year ago
There are over a hundred cookbooks in my collection and this one made many lights come on, particularly good for a foundation when creating my own recipes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book for my husband who loves to cook. It is very informative - a great book for developing new recipes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful book! Ratio is a must have! The ratios are easy to understand and replicate. I appreciate the scientific explanations for why each ratio works. After years of trying different bread recipes from various sources, by far the most successful taste and texture was from this book. The crust was crisp and brown with a light and chewy crumb. It was excellent for both sandwiches and toasted with a cheese plate. The pizza dough was fabulous! It was easy to work with and had great flavor. Wonton wrappers were incredible and so versitile, I made French Onion Soup dumplings. I will never buy another prepared wrapper. The roasted chicken was succulent and delicious. I was shocked at how easy it was. The pan gravy was fantastic! My husband licked it off the plate! The stock was simple to prepare and incredibly flavorful. I look forward to trying the sausage ratios next. This will be a bridal shower gift for all of my friends!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago