×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ravished
     

Ravished

4.2 133
by Amanda Quick
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the cozy confines of a tiny seaside village to the glittering crush of the a fashionable London soiree comes an enthralling tale of a thoroughly mismatched couple . . . poised to discover the rapture of love.

There was no doubt about it. What Miss Harriet Pomeroy needed was a man. Someone powerful and clever who could help her rout the unscrupulous thieves

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ravished 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 133 reviews.
Lvtworead More than 1 year ago
out of all her books this is one of her best !!! This is a book you will re-read again and again. All characters are very well developed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amanda Quick is a master at creating three-dimensional heroes, and Gideon Westbrook is no exception. This is a cleverly written story, and includes a generous supply of comedy, danger, and adventure. Highly recommended.
Bubbysgirl87 More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I have read of Amanda Quick's and even though I have read two other books since this book, I still find that I can't get the book off my mind. It was definately a great read. The characters were funny and romantic. Harriet definately demonstrates how a woman should stand behind her man no matter what people think!!
booklover88CG More than 1 year ago
After reading the reader reviews for this novel I thought that it would be a good read and a safe purchase. Boy was I wrong. The language was excessively flowery, characters disappointingly underdeveloped and the story was lacking in anything close to passion and was completely predictable. I know sometimes romance novels can be more fluff than substance and tend to be formulaic, but this novel was laughingly pathetic and at times overly dramatic; reminiscent of a bad daytime soap opera. Despite the tempting title, the story is anything but 'ravishing' and if anyone thinks that the heroine was indeed 'ravished' hasn't read a worthy romance novel. A complete waste of time and money. If you want to read a steamy romance with developed characters and an interesting story plot, try Karen Marie Moning's Highlander series.
TalleyRoss More than 1 year ago
This is not a beauty and the beast story for children. Right up front, I will tell you I skipped pages. I don't find detailed intimacy interesting. In fact, usually it slows the story down and bores me. I should have expected with a title like "Ravished" would have those scenes. I just did not expect so many. And truly...in romance, they don't convince me of the love developing between characters. That said, there was a lot to recommend the story. Themes of prejudice, the fickleness of reputation, how damaging rumors can be, all part of this story. And I did find those interesting. Our heroine, Harriet, has an unusual excitement for fossils, which I couldn't exactly relate to, but since this is regency, who knows how people spent their time? And the hero, Gideon, the viscount St. Justin, was patient with her interest. Far more patient than I was with how much talk there was of fossils in the story. But fossils were important to the secondary plot line which held a mystery and were used to create some action and drama. Overall, if the story had had less intimacy in it, I would have enjoyed it more. The plot line was fun. Harriet was a charming, yet feisty, leading lady - wonderful foil for the grumpy St. Justin. The romance was developed with care and HEA rewarding.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the characters and the story. Another great story by Amanda Quick.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thoroughly enjoyed this tongue in cheek story! The title ravished is not what it seems & I'm glad of it. Yes, there is the compromised innocent & yes, a scary, powerful noble with a dark past. It is told with such humor, a bunch of quirky, lovable characters that I smiled, chuckled, & had a few tears throughout harriet's & gideon's challenges with each other. Harriet is funny & adorable as a scientific, fossil loving, no nonsense woman who stands up to a dangerous man that the ton fears & ostracizes from their elegant society. The dialog between those two had me grinning. Oh yes, there is ravishment on both sides, just not only of a physical nature.
Tangen More than 1 year ago
Another one that I dust off and read periodically. Plump spinster with her own interests and world view meets reclusive, scarred, and disgraced nobleman. But it's not boring or a trite as that sounds. It's actually quite lively and a good deal of fun, including a carriage chase, Bow Street Runners, thieves, and fossil hunters, and an attempted murder. The characters are great fun!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If I didn't come across the CD's, I wouldn't have known about the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was given this book as a gift and I adored it! I love how the heroine isn't the typical ton female and the situations she finds herself in because of her extreme belief in herself. My original copy is starting to fall apart, so I plan to buy it again soon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago