×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Razing Kayne
     

Razing Kayne

4.7 27
by Julieanne Reeves
 

See All Formats & Editions

For two years, State Trooper Kayne Dobrescu has wanted only one thing: to understand why his wife inexplicably killed their children and then herself. Memories haunt his days and lay siege to his nights, leaving him questioning his reasons for living.
Jessica Hallstatt became a widow and single mother the night her firefighter husband died in a fiery explosion at

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Razing Kayne 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
twimom817 More than 1 year ago
A must read Suspense Romance! This book was what a suspense romance should be. It had everything I love in a book; suspense, agnst and romance, lots and lots of romance. Every page had me on the edge of my seat wanting to know what was going to happen next. I was sad, happy and pissed all throughout this book. This was a must read book and I have to thank my GR friends status updates for this book! I can't wait to read more in this series and from Julieanne! A must read if you love a good suspense romance. It will be worth the read.
Under_The_Covers_BookBlog More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by ANGELA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog Razing Kane is an IMPRESSIVE DEBUT NOVEL that had me turn pages non-stop. It is an engaging story that will make a mark on your reading experience. This story is heart breaking, EMOTIONALLY CHARGED and sometimes draining but most of all, it’s full of HOPE and SECOND CHANCES. Ms. Reeves has definitely captured my heart. ~Under the Covers State Trooper Kayne Dobrescu is a believable alpha male of the twentieth century complete with a tortured past. He is every bit jaded but deep down he is sweet, loving, confident, over bearing, over protective, and SEXY as hell. His story UTTERLY broke my heart. And the same goes for Jessica Halstatt. She is selfless, emotionally strong, inspiring and I AM HUMBLED by her character. Kayne and Jessica are both victims of their past trying to survive the best way can. It is true fate that this two lost souls cross paths and given another chance at life. However, Ms. Reeves did not make it that easy as their paths will cross more ways then they can imagine. I cannot speak highly enough about this book that had me crying at five percent. The tragic but realistic scenes were just so heart breaking. The intrigue, betrayal, heartaches, happiness, lust and love in this one novel was delivered with skill in a full flowing story. With experience being a 911 dispatcher, Ms Reeves brings REALISM to this book and more then that, AWARENESS. If you haven’t already read this book, I strongly suggest you do. I promise you will not be disappointed. Now, every time I hear this song , all I think of is Kayne, Jessica and Ms. Reeves. I just thought to include it with my review. Yeah, this book truly made an impact on me. Dark Side by Kelly Clarkson *Review copy provided by author
MargieS1 More than 1 year ago
Given To Me For An Honest Review This book is by a new author, Julieanne Reeves.  After reading it she won't be new for long.  I look forward to reading her books for a  long time.  This book is such a page turner.  Once I began I couldn't put it down.  It was turn page, turn page and turn pages some more .  It is a very emotional, heartbreaking, happy and beautiful story.  But ending is very suspenseful.  There are a lot of unexpected twists you will not even see coming you can only hold on and go with it.  This is not a must read, it's a HAVE TO read.  I wish I could give more  that 5 stars, it's that good.  Julieanne Reeves I wait for your next book.  I highly recommend this to all.
bucmjt More than 1 year ago
Razing Kayne by Julieanne Reeves is a beautifully written love story full of suspense and mystery.  Once Kayne and Jessica learn to trust each other for the sake of their children, his unknown criminal family and her stalking 'friends' threaten to tear it all apart.  This is a powerfully written book with so much intrigue, I never put it down.  I was nearly brought to tears on several occasions.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved every part of this book. It was the perfect blend of romance and mystery. Great plot with enduring characters. Loved the duel point of view. I highly recommend this story if you want to read a story that will keep you interested and wondering. You won't be sorry. Worth the time and money. Hope to read more from this author
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jess and Kayne had been through a lot. Jess was so positive for her children and Kayne was such a hero and stud and all-around  good guy.  This was such a good book and I enjoyed the mystery.  Jess's friends that accepted Kayne were so great. I didn't like Cody he was something else. There was so much action, drama, and HOT sex scenes packed in this book. I didn't want to put it down for fear I would miss or forget something! This book is a definite re-read for me and I am looking forward to Nick and Sarah's story. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the redemptive undertones to this love story. The hero & heroine each had to fight through their own painful past to grab hold of a future the each didn't think they deserved. Great book!
Karenls1956 More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a fantastic story!!! The surprises and the back and forth and twists and turns made this book really take shape. Wonderful and looking forward to more from this author!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The_Book_Queen More than 1 year ago
Here's the thing – I have mixed feelings about Razing Kayne. I could see the appeal of this story, which I know firsthand many readers (including two of my guest reviewers) absolutely loved. But I could also see the flaws. I couldn't stop reading, and I am very glad that I had a chance to finally read this book (Thank you, Kame, for gifting it to me when it was on sale!). That being said, to be honest I was very disappointed. There were far too many story lines and surprises shoved into one book. It would have been a much better novel if half the plots were taken out. The characters didn't have a chance to really grow, nor did the story, since there were simply so many things going on. I had to roll my eyes at more than a few things, but not in a rude way. I was still enjoying the story, crazy “every plot from romance-land” and all. I just can't say that I * loved * it like others did. I'll still happily try another book by Reeves in the future, as well as recommending it to readers that I think will love it. There was a lot of potential in this book, but, for me, it simply fell short of my expectations. 3 ½ Stars! ~ * ~ * ~ For other reviews, including favorite book quotes, please visit my blog, TBQ's Book Palace. I received this book as a gift and made the decision to share my honest opinion. TheBookQueen
amywhittington More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book, a great steamy book mixed with crime! Love it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've been locked out of every res I've ever posted in, as a result, we're moving to "Chaurn."
Bitten-By-Love-Reviews More than 1 year ago
This book is f'n awsome! It kept me off of Facebook for 4 days while I was reading it simply because I could not put it down. Kayne's heartbreaking story drew me in from page one, and Jess was absolutely perfect as his salvation. Reeves was able to make me both laugh and cry (yes, real tears) in equal amounts. There is no room for improvement in this book, and I can't wait to see if her other books are just as outstanding. This book blows the rating scale all to hell- giving it a 5 just isn't nearly good enough. State trooper Kayne Dobrescu comes home after yet another back to back double shift and wants nothing more than to spend a few quality hours with his children and catch a few z's before he has to get back to the grind, but when he walks into his eerily quiet house he just knows that something is horribly wrong. That is when his world shatters as he finds two of his children at their mother's feet not breathing, and wrapped in towels. Even though he can tell that they have obviously been dead for some time he can't help but to try to resuscitate them‚ and while he does- his wife takes her own life with his service weapon. Even now, two years later and having just moved to a new town, it is a daily struggle to find the will to live. That is until the night he pulls over the beautiful young widow, Jessica Hallstatt, for speeding and forgets to give her back her license and registration. When he goes to her home to return them he is pulled in by her four little imps. Kayne finds himself becoming an ever increasing part of Jessica and her children's lives, and at times he cannot tell if this new fork is the path to heaven or hell.
BlithelyBookishReviews More than 1 year ago
Razing Kayne is Julianne Reeves’ debut novel, and it’s a heart-breaking, heart-warming, heart-stopping, and sexy as hell story. It had me fighting back tears one minute, laughing the next, and kept me guessing what might really have happened to Kayne's family, right to the end. While the plot itself is definitely exciting and intriguing, filled with twists and turns and things I never saw coming, it was Kayne and Jess who kept me turning the pages. For me, the real draw of the story is found in how deeply Kayne's and Jess's failed first marriages affected them, their attempt to leave their pasts in the past, and to make things work between them, despite the odds. In truth, while neither of their previous marriages was rosy, Kayne's was flat out gut-wrenching. I'm not sure how he was able to live those years with the demons - the horrific memories - that haunted him. He could have taken the easy way out and used his own service revolver to end his pain, but he kept on going, kept on serving, kept on existing, if not living. Jessica is a caring, compassionate woman. Her husband died a hero, but Jess lived with the "real" man and it wasn't all that pretty. She could have become a very bitter person, but instead she focused on helping others, putting her own pain aside, and that's what I loved most about her. The bottom line: Though not without flaws - what I felt were some unlikely coincidences - Razing Kayne is one hell of a debut novel. It's a sizzling hot, emotionally charged story with compelling characters, and even though they're both far from perfect - quick to fly off the handle, and stubborn as all get out - I found myself invested in Kayne and Jess from the start, and caring about them, each in their own right. But when they finally got together and began working through their issues and trying to solve the mystery surrounding the death of Kayne's family, that's when they became people I couldn’t help but love and cheer for. I didn't just want them to be happy, I needed them to be happy. I had to see them conquer their demons so they could have the happily ever after they both so desperately wanted – and deserved. Nick Astenbeck's book is next in the Walking a Thin Blue Line series, and from what know of he and Sarah, it promises to an intense, poignant, and very sexy story. 3.5 stars My thanks to Ms. Reeves for providing me with a copy of this story in exchange for an honest review. It was a pleasure!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I laughed, cried and gasped aloud while being totally immersed in this debut novel by Ms Reeves. I am hopeing that this will turn out to be the first of a series allowing us to follow these intriguing characters. My only frustration is the inability to find an other novel by Julieanne Reeves.
Shellbelle1 More than 1 year ago
5 Stars...and more! Exceptional debut book for author Julieanne Reeves! This book is very edgy and the suspense keeps you on the edge of your seat. The author creates characters that you bond with immediatly. You feel their pain, rejoice in their journey to happiness, love their children & friends, and want to hug them all. Loved the book and highly recommend it!
Hesperia_Loves_Books More than 1 year ago
From the moment I read the prologue of this book, I was hooked. It was intense, gut-wrenching & extremely emotional - I wanted to crawl inside the book and be the healing balm that soothed Kayne’s soul. I was captivated by him and his story and needed a happy ending for him. What I was given was a truly spectacular book that took my emotions on an exhilarating roller coaster ride and I LOVED every minute of it. Kayne Dobrescu is a man who has lost everything, even at times, his will to live. The devastating loss of his children consumes him. His character was one of the most tortured and beautifully written characters that I have ever read. The emotions that were portrayed on the page, were both visceral and palpable & my heart ached for him. To live everyday with that loss and extreme grief...I couldn’t imagine. When Kayne moves to a new state to try and start fresh, he meets the light that begins to save & heal him - Jessica. Jessica is suffering her own loss. Two years ago her husband was killed in the line of duty. During that time, she has slowly tried to come to terms with his death. When she meets Kayne, she’s not sure she wants to let him in. Being married to a cheating non-existent husband is the only experience she knows and Kayne opens up a whole new world that terrifies her. Her strength and refusal to accept less than what she deserves was what endeared me to her. She has a backbone made of steel but, she also has a tremendous amount of love to give. While reading this book I was struck by many things - how exceptional the characters were written, the smooth flow of the storyline from page to page, the beautiful emotion and interaction between the characters, the realistic portrayal of a mom with four kids, the sweetness and love that emanated from and to those children & finally, that this was Ms. Reeve’s first book. Holy hell, what a phenomenal debut from this freshman author! If this first book is any indication of the quality and calibre of work she’ll deliver, then sign me up for every book she writes. Razing Kayne is a must read for any fan of the Contemporary Romance genre - just have your box of tissues ready!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it. I was holding my breath. CAN'T wait for more in a series..... ( I hope there'll be more.... too many hunks in this one to waste.) I totally participated in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I agree with the other reviewers that the plot, the characters, and the relationship between Kayne and Jess was well done! The reason I gave this three stars is because the situation with the judge in the middle of the book was ridiculous and predictable.
SugarNSpice1 More than 1 year ago
A gut wrenching roller coaster that expertly blends romance and suspense. From the shocking opening scene to the gut gripping reveal at the end the author takes us on an emotional journey like no other I have read. The author incorporates her real life experiences in 911 communication and real life tragedies ripped from the headlines and mesmerizes you in this debut novel. As the description of the book gives a very good understanding of what the book is about I am not going to rehash that and this is one of those books I think you need to take the journey of discovery on your own. Feel each of the painful things that happen to Kayne and Jessica and on the journey with them as they discover love again and then be shocked when it’s all revealed why all this tragedy happened. Its always a treat to find a new author you love and that I did in Julieanne Reeves. I am looking forward to the next book in this series.
hez1972 More than 1 year ago
I am in love! Julieanne Reeves book Razing Kayne was one of the most gut wrenching, suspenseful books I have ever read. The love story that intertwines itself through the book is spectacular and REAL. So many times I read great books but know that in real-life it just isn't going to happen. I believe that Razing Kayne is NOT that book. I know that somewhere Jessica exists and she has gone through the way ups and low downs that life has thrown at her. I know that Kayne is real and he has sat on his couch with that bottle and had the thoughts he shared with us. I want to go to Payson and put my arms around both of them and I want to be an Aunt to those amazing kids! I cannot wait for the next installment of this series! I am sure that anyone who enjoys suspense, mystery, and romance is going to love this book as much as I did. My friends are going to love their Christmas presents this year! You must read this book "A'kay"?
ScoutPF More than 1 year ago
Razing Kayne Razing Kayne........ By Julieanne Reeves  This novel contains heart stopping fear, sadness beyond description, police, firefighters, and a beautiful love story.  Kayne Dobrescu State Police officer pulls Jessica Hallstatt over for speeding in the little town of Payson, Arizona. It turns out to be a memorable traffic stop for both. Kayne and Jessica are both suffering from terrible losses in their lives, and have chosen to close their hearts to protect against further damage. Jessica is a widow, with four adopted children that are her life now. Kayne is a widower, who has shut down all his emotions to survive. That is till Jessica, Isabelle, Ash, Madeline, and the most adorable Gracie speed into his empty life. The twists and turns of this novel keep your heart racing and begging for more. The love scenes are frequent, very sexy, and occasionally in a bed! The side characters are very well written, you find yourself wanting to know more about them. Except a few of course, who get what they deserve. I could not put this novel down; my emotions were so wrapped up by the characters, and the amazing pace of this story. I would recommend this novel to anyone who enjoys police/firefighter novels. I loved it for the amazing love between this man and woman, and the family they learned to share. I have a special place in my heart for Gracie! This novel was given to me by the author for an honest review