×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Real Life & Liars
     

Real Life & Liars

4.1 13
by Kristina Riggle
 

See All Formats & Editions

Sometimes you find happiness where, and when, you least expect it.

For Mirabelle Zielinski's children, happiness always seems to be just out of reach. Her polished oldest daughter, Katya, clings to a stale marriage with a workaholic husband and three spoiled children. Her son, Ivan, so creative, is a down-in-the-dumps songwriter

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Real Life & Liars 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great read! The title is absolutely fitting for the plot and characters. The best part of the novel is the fact that the problems and characters are true to life and believable. And just like life not every problem could be fixed by the time the credits are rolling but at least on the way. Great book
kmckeeve More than 1 year ago
I loved the author's style- the book is written from the perspective of multiple characters experiencing a family crisis over the span of a weekend. It enables a quick and engrossing read. I thoroughly enjoyed the book - I couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOVED it. Funny, suspenseful, affecting and just downright wonderful. It's amazing this is a debut book. Don't let the cancer thing put you off; this novel is about much more than illness. This is a novel about the wonderful foilbles of family life. Reminded me a little of Anne Tyley, only with more plot. Don't miss it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
IHeart2Read More than 1 year ago
I enjoy reading books about family dynamics. Each family member has his/her own role that allows the family to function. In Real Life and Liars, Ms. Riggle explores the depth of family relationships. The story is told by the four main characters in alternating chapters. There's Mirabelle, the hippie, nonconformist mother; Katya, the oldest, materialistic daughter; Ivan, the insecure, middle son; and Irina, the youngest daughter without a sense of direction. The children come home for a weekend visit to celebrate their parents' wedding anniversary. As each child arrives, with his and her personal problems, Mira is also keeping a secret of her own. She's made her decision about her fate, and now she hopes her family can accept it. Ms. Riggle did a fantastic job of writing each character and allowing him/her to have his/her own voice. Only Mira's point of view is written in first person and I thought that only added to the richness of the story. Readers will feel compassion for this family when Mira finally shares her secret with her children. Real Life and Liars is an honest look into what makes a family a family. The Zielinskis are far from perfect. They may not see eye to eye on things, however when it's time to come together, they show up ready to support each other. I liked the uniqueness of each child and how he/she played a significant part to the family dynamic. As I read each scene, I could vividly picture each character in my mind and thought this would make a great movie. Real Life and Liars is Ms. Riggle's debut novel which I highly recommend. The next time you're at a book store or your local library, pick it up. You won't be disappointed.it's that good!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My nook broke so I have to use my phone
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok. Btw...I WON 2 TIMES!!!! Ha. Woodson: 13 Morgan: 8 *laughs* u keep forgetng tht. And whn u get u email, email me; harm rose woodson @ gmail . Com ((no spaces.))
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im so sorry Harmonie
JMTDiva More than 1 year ago
This book sounded SO much like my family, it was scary!! However, I loved reading this book, the family dynamics will speak to anyone. Highly recommended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good story line, slow going.
rudegal More than 1 year ago
great story...great characters. quick, easy read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I havent read it but it looks sad :(