×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Reason for Hope: A Spiritual Journey
     

Reason for Hope: A Spiritual Journey

4.6 20
by Jane Goodall, Phillip Berman
 

See All Formats & Editions

Jane Goodall, preeminent scientist, conservationist, and animal rights activist, explores her deepest beliefs about spirituality and moral evolution in a unique and philosophically compelling spiritual autobiography. Ties in with a PBS special this fall. of photos.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Reason For Hope 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Dr. Jane Goodall is best known for her pioneering research with chimpanzees in which she discovered that they share more traits with humans than previously realized. In this book, she shares her personal perspective on what her research means for human beings. This is a spiritual memoir, and it focuses on the battles between good and evil that occur. Dr. Goodall optimistically sees the potential for humans to do good as outweighing the potential for evil, and she relates her prescription for how each of us should seek to become more saint-like in order to heal the evil that has and is still being done every day to humans, animals, and the environment. While Dr. Goodall will probably never be thought of as a great prose writer, the testimony of her actions, emotions, heart, and thoughts is a powerful inspiration for all to find one's own special calling and to follow it. Reason for Hope has several rare qualities. First, it describes how Dr. Goodall's Christian faith is reconciled with her scientific beliefs. Few scientists do that in public, and both religious and nonreligious people will find the comments to be valuable. Second, she describes one of the most unusual reactions to the Holocaust that I have read. Much of her work with overcoming cruelty towards animals is inspired by seeing them as unwilling victims of zoo and animal research concentration camps. Third, she describes in moving detail the religious epiphanies she has experienced. Fourth, Dr. Goodall describes how she has balanced her personal and professional lives in a very vivid way, that connects to her chimpanzee research. Fifth, she takes what she has learned in her research and connects it to a prescription for humanity. In case you haven't been following her work recently, Dr. Goodall mostly campaigns now for animal rights and to obtain funds to permanently endow the continuation of her work at Gombe in Africa. She is on the road around 300 days a year doing that, and spends the remaining time writing books to publicize her ideas. Her view of animal rights will probably expand your own perceptions. Beyond pointing out the poor conditions applied to animals employed in research and food production, she also makes a persuasive case for how unnecessary pain, discomfort, and a lack of normal pleasantness are instilled on those animals. Basically, she points out that animals share the human qualities of benefiting from lack of pain, freedom to follow one's natural instincts, and receiving loving care. When we treat animals like inanimate objects, we dehumanize ourselves and operate below our spiritual potential to create natural harmony while inflicting real pain and suffering on the animals. Unlike many animal advocates who take extreme positions, she argues for making easily achievable progress towards eliminating abuses of animals as part of a longer path towards ending inhumane treatment of animals. She sees the potential for a future in which there is no animal testing and research and little use of animals for food. But we have to focus on that vision before it will happen. She is even more concerned about the ravages done to the Earth that affect humans and animals alike due to overpopulation, overexploitation of natural resources, and use of chemicals. I found the way she handled the spiritual challenges she faced to be the most interesting part of the book. Her second husband died unexpectedly of cancer. Four of her students were kidnapped at one point from Gombe. She visited two concentration camps. How can a living, loving God allow such evil? You will find her thoughts and experiences helpful with that fundamental question that we all face at various times. In many sections of the book, she shares brief poems that she wrote to describe her thoughts during her various spiritual challenges. I found those to be a helpful way to delve deeper into her heart and mind. Dr. Goodall is clearly a saint-like person in many ways. I am sure you
datahunter More than 1 year ago
What can be said for a person who realizes their dream and follows it wherever it takes them. Jane read the Tarzan books as a child and fell in love with a continent and its animals. Jane Goodall followed her dreams to Africa where she met and then worked for Louis Leaky. It was not a matter of luck. It was a matter of being in the right place at the right time with the tools of knowledge to do the job correctly. Her passion for animals became her spiritual journey and her growth followed a logical path. By studying the Chimpanzees she learned the mysteries of the relationships between God, man and the animals of our small planet.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Jane Goodall's book Reason for hope is amazing! She shares her feelings and passion for her chimps. It should speak out to everyone to help save these animals. Jane Goodall has dedicated her life to these animals to show us what we are losing. I think everyone should give a little to the enviroment to help save all these animals. I loved this book and i think other people will to.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I particularly liked the concept that good will win over evil.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Having the incredible fortune of recently meeting Dr. Goodall and hearing her speak, not lecture, about her passion and love, I was immediately reminded of Dr Albert Schweitzer's credo of "reverence for life."  In this book, Dr. Goodall speaks openly from her heart of the spiritual lessons she has learned throughout her  history-changing studies.  But moreover, she  speaks of the  spiritual roots that  took her to Africa , to the animals, and to the people in a prose that, having heard her speak, is intimate and conversational while still being  insightful .   This book  allows the reader to sit alongside her and hear her reflections, both academic and spiritual, of her life-long devotion to animals and the lessons they bring to humans--if only we can understand.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Thoroughly enjoyed this easy read. Very insightful and entertaining for me as a spiritual person and an animal lover. She offers some interesting theories and ideas, as well as a look at her inner self apart from the Scientist.
Amelda More than 1 year ago
I L.O.V.E this book. It has inspired me to reach for my dreams and it has changed the way i see others and the world
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm a high school sophomore and I had a research project to do. My topic is Jane Goodall and I chose this book to read to get more  information about her. I really liked this book because Jane put her life into detail and made it sound interesting at the same time. She starts off the book with her early life experiences and stories that she remembers so well. Jane then tells about her teen years and how she was able to go to Africa. From there she became so successful and Jane is still admired for her work today. In Africa, she observed chimpanzees for a few months and found lots of new information about them. This started the world's longest running research project and researchers are still finding out new things about chimpanzees. Jane noticed that sometimes the chimpanzees have a dark side but Jane always saw the good in them and in what they do. Jane not only views this in animals but in people too. She grew up in times of World War II and the Holocaust but she still overlooked what people did. Jane wants to try to make this world a better place little by little. She also wants to stop human or animal cruelty since the chimpanzees were used as experiments and their homes are being destroyed. Jane tries to make these issues known by speaking out and raising awareness about them. This book is inspirational and I would recommend anyone to read it. Jane Goodall inspires me to be like her and to make a difference in the world like she has.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a sophomore in high school and I read this book for my research project. I greatly enjoyed this biography Jane wrote. Jane is such an influential woman already and hearing her words on explaining her journey is truly inspiring. I love animals already and  when I read what Jane believes and her ways of explaining why, she makes me love them even more but with a reason. Her descriptive language on her beliefs of these animals shock you and leave you with a smile on your face. Her relationship with the chimpanzees is absolutely incredible. I am moved by the way she writes her experiences with animals. The way she approaches them, befriends them and even gives them names shows how beautiful her relationship is with the Gombe chimpanzees. What makes the book interesting is her stories with her individual chimp friends. She really goes in depth with the stories of the chimps she meets and how their relationship strengthens. She shows respect and courage throughout her life with the chimps and her family. She is a role model to me and her biography applies the fact that we must do what we love. It is so inspirational how she was studying to be a secretary, dreaming that one day she can go to Africa, and she did! She accomplished her dreams and teaches us today to never give up on ours.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
 I am a high school sophomore and i chose to read this book for my project.  I liked this book very much though it wasn’t what I expected.   I thought it would basically be about chimpanzees and Jane Goodall’s interaction with these apes.  Surprisingly, this book was so much more than that.  I was only vaguely aware of Jane Goodall and her research work with the chimpanzees.  Reason For Hope began with the childhood of a little girl who loved animals and being outside more than in.  Born in England, in the 30’s, she became aware of the horrors of war at much too early an age.  This love for animals, particularly chimpanzees, and hatred for war would impact her whole life.   What I like so much about the book was finding out how the work with the chimps, that she began in her mid 20’s, would go on to consume her whole life.  What I’ve gotten from this book is that she has devoted her life to humans, animals and saving the planet.   She feels that there is still hope we can make things better if we all work together and, after reading this, book I do too.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
When this reviewer was an undergraduate anthropology major in the CUNY system (perfect prerequisite for reviewing novels), Jane Goodall was already a legend. Now three decades later, Goodall has become so renowned she seems more like an Olympus goddess visiting us mortals. REASON FOR HOPE A SPIRITUAL JOURNEY is Ms. Goodall¿s reflective look back on her life through the events and relationships that led to her spiritual awakening.

Although well written and very insightful, the ¿autobiography¿ is for the purists because of a high cost and that PBS has presented a show based on the book. Still, the book is easy to read and provides fascinating insight into a scientist who has to be considered one of the great people of the last fifty years. Did she make Biography¿s list of the twentieth century notables? If not Ms. Goodall should have as this book and her other works prove beyond a shadow of a doubt they should have, but then again I remain prejudiced.

Harriet Klausner

Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love you jane you made my mine blowen away and what you did was amazing and I would go with you if Icould cause I think you are powerful and cares and loves everyone but thanks for telling us how to treat animals.