×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Reawakened: A Once Upon a Time Tale
     

Reawakened: A Once Upon a Time Tale

4.7 61
by Odette Beane
 

See All Formats & Editions

Strangers don't come to Storybrooke. The town's residents are victims of a curse--trapped by an Evil Queen in a world without magic, they don't remember that they were once Snow White, Prince Charming, Jiminy Cricket, and other characters from a fairytale world. The curse keeps them in Storybrooke, and keeps everyone else out...until a dark stranger with a typewriter

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Reawakened: A Once Upon a Time Tale 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 61 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First of all, this book is very similar to the movie. A little bit too similar. I mainly get this idea because it switches and forth between fairy tale world and Storybrooke in almost exactly the same way as the actual TV show. However, the author does try to add some ‘flair’ by skipping some parts in most of the scenes and instead explained these events as a kind of introduction to the next part of the scene. For example, where the TV show would demonstrate an event from beginning and end, this book starts at the middle, and briefly describes how they even got there (in a sort of flashback form). I really don’t like this since it feels like the story has a huge gap in it because of this.  Also, the characters are not developed like I think they should be. For example, Rumplestiltskin comes across in this book as a wise and somewhat kind man, completely different from the quirky, tricky, evil and slightly crazy man that is clearly portrayed in each episode of the TV show.  Finally, the writing quality is not the best. It really just sounds like someone watched each episode, wrote it down and then added a few adjectives and short descriptive paragraphs. I would say this book is written in a mid-late elementary age level (seriously).  Also, this probably isn’t as important for most of you, but you don't get any kind of cool 'easter eggs' in this book like you do in the movie (which I always love looking for :).  However, this book is is very nice if you want a review of each episode as well as a little extra insight into what each character may be thinking during each scene (which is what a Television show lacks). Although this is true, if you want the full story and glory of Once Upon a Time, I would suggest watching it rather than reading it. I would really just limit to this book as being an okay supplement or synopsis of the TV show 
FGNY More than 1 year ago
A Must read for all Once Upon a Time fans.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the show its awesome! But this book is the same as the series, but in ink.just like the first episode. I was hopeing for more back stories. More information. But was cool. Love the show
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome book. Can't even put it down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The tv show is absolutely wonderful. Full of intrigue, plotting, and lots of twists and turns, with romance sprinkled liberally throughout. The book is exactly the same, which is why it isn't as good. The book basically writes each episode down. If you've seen the show, this book is a waste of your time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Basically, this is a rehash of season 1. If you were expecting a brand new adventure, like the Doctor Who or Eureka novels, you're going to be sorely disappointed (like me). Don't waste eleven bucks on this thing if you're a seasoned Once fan- the writing's barely average, not great, and a carbon copy of what you've already seen on tv is hardly satisfying to the little fan heart. To the marketing guys behind this: Nice money-earning SCAM, but a way to make even more money without pissing off core Once viewers is to start a line of freestanding adventures within the show's timeline (as mentioned above). No one who's actually seen season one actually needs to read this book, and that's millions in potential sales lost. Think about it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love once upon a time. Watch it every week. It is highly recemended for all fans
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once a opon time rocks!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you watch once upon a time it is a great book and if you don't it is a start of a really good series. I would reccomend it to people who like mystery and adventure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well, let me just say: I love Once Upon a Time. IT WAS AWESOME!!! Now, usually I have to have a book to compare it to, seeing if it was good, bad, or just, Utterly TERRIBLE. Now, this book was amazing, but it would have been even more amazing if the person who wrote the TV series Once Upon a Time wrote this book. Otherwise, Amazing book!
Baileyy_Marie More than 1 year ago
I am a huge fan of the show... like slightly obsessed with it.  So I was really interested to experience it in a new format.  This book is essentially season 1. Each chapter is a new episode, and it events flips between the Enchanted Forest and Storybrooke.  The thing is, after experiencing the show this book was just kind of a letdown.  You really only see the perspectives of Emma and MM (Snow) so you miss a lot of details and background that the show provides.  The show does such a great job of exploring each character's story that this book fell a bit flat.  I'm glad I read it, but I will be sticking to the show in the future.  Adam & Eddie are kings. HOWEVER, my cousin picked up this book because she hasn't had a chance to watch the show yet & I keep raving about it.  She really enjoyed the book, and she said that it made her want to watch the show (because trusting my impeccable taste in shows isn't enough for her).  So the book must have been pretty good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Recomended to all oncers!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is so good i love it. ;-6
Anonymous 5 days ago
About to start book but tv show is DA BEST!!!
Anonymous 3 months ago
I loved this book(ps. I just read this in 2017) i am obbssed with the tv show cuz i literally watched ALL 6 seasons and I LOVE IT so obviously i loved this book
Anonymous 7 months ago
Om god i juststared the last one in season one and let me tell you............ WHY HENRY OF ALL PEOPLE WHY!!!!!!!!!!!???????????
Anonymous 11 months ago
Love the book, love the TV show
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you have read the book and not watched the tv series, i would it is also on netflix to let everybody know.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Theres a new season coming out in october they left us at a dead dropoff point
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Has anyone seen the show on netflix? And i think its season 2 or 3 where peter pan and the lost boys and captain hook come in to play....... i love Once!!!!! :) ;) ;-)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have only been watching the show on Netflix on the Roku . The show is really good i love the magic . Even tho i am a christian i still love magic. Magic is awesome. You need to watch it if you havent .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We finished the 4th season and are dieing to watch the 5th season,but we cannot believe its the last one. You must make at least 2 more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OMG I LOVE OUAT CAPTAINSWAN IS LIFEEE!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jexy More than 1 year ago
I bought this book because I'm a Oncer and a SQer. I heard that the book had SQ undertones like the show-it did but very few. The writers cut out some of the BEST parts of the show. And I'm not talking just about the SQ moments. I don't want to say which ones because I don't want to give anything away. I will say this though, I'm glad I used up a gift card to buy the book and not my own money.