×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Recollections of Rosings (Pemberley Chronicles #8)
     

Recollections of Rosings (Pemberley Chronicles #8)

4.6 9
by Rebecca Collins
 

See All Formats & Editions

A disaster at Rosings unearths long-hidden secrets

"Many surprises and turns in the lives of our favorite characters leave you riveted to each page."
-Beverly Wong, author of Pride & Prejudice Prudence O

Sisters Catherine Harrison and Becky Tate, daughters of Charlotte Lucas and Mr. Collins, have very different personalities and temperaments. Both

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Recollections of Rosings 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Complete the series in digital books! Please. This is too great a series, not to have the entirety.
Amy_D_Z More than 1 year ago
In Recollections of Rosings, 8th in the 10-book Pemberley Chronicles series, author Rebecca Ann Collins, turns her brilliant lens on two of her original characters: Catherine Collins Harrison (eldest daughter of Charlotte Lucas and Rev. Collins) and her younger sister Rebecca Tate. These sisters, separated from one another as teenagers, have led almost parallel lives - meeting only rarely, and often on sad occasions. Both women, now in their mid- to late 40's are forced by circumstances to take stock of their lives. And what they find in their middle-years, is that their lives are no longer fulfilling enough. Their children are grown. Their husbands are gone. They desire happiness, but have no idea how to find it. "Recollections" focuses primarily on Catherine. A devastating fire at Rosings Park years after the death of Lady Catherine deBourgh brings a certain Mr. Frank Burnett back to the estate nearly 25 years after he'd served as Lady Catherine's librarian. While at Rosings, young Frank Burnett falls in love with the teenaged Catherine Collins who had been invited by Lady Catherine to live at Rosings Park following the death of Rev. Collins. Lady Catherine's officious interference quashed a budding romance between Catherine Collins and Frank Burnett. And despite the fact that neither had declared their feelings for the other, both young people were heartbroken and never truly recovered from these events. Fast forward nearly 25 years. Catherine Harrison has lost her husband, Dr. Harrison (rector at Hunsford and Lady Catherine's hand-picked choice). Her older children are overseas and only her youngest child, Lillian (a young woman on the cusp of adulthood herself) is left to keep Catherine from being alone. Thanks to the generosity of Mr. Darcy and the Rosings Trust, Catherine and Lillian continue to live at Rosings Park. Lillian is a strong and self-possessed young lady who will not allow the trappings of wealth to sway her morals. This becomes evident when she travels to London to spend a season with her Aunt Becky Tate. Becky, despite being worldly and well-educated, has become a social climber, and her ambition often blinds her to the seedier side of London society. So, despite good intentions (to ensure an excellent match for her niece), Becky pushes Lillian toward a circle of wealthy but morally bankrupt suitors. Lillian boldly pushes back, and in so doing, brings about more than just her own marriage, but also a reconciliation of sorts between her aunt and her mother, at a time when each could benefit from a close and trusting relationship with the other. A loving and careful mother, Catherine seeks to vet her daughter's suitor, Mr. John Adams, about whom she knows very little. She asks for advice from friends, including Mr. Burnett (whose knowledge and opinions she had always valued). Over the course of several months these two become close confidants. When they finally declare their love for one another, only to discover how they were kept apart for so many years, they must decide whether to live with anger or to embrace the happiness so long denied them. Happiness wins out. The author skillfully takes us inside the private thoughts of the characters, leading readers to a greater understanding of and empathy for even those who seem most unworthy. The story is timeless - full of good intentions gone awry but also second chances and opportunities for redemption. Read the book. I know you'll agree.
Orla More than 1 year ago
This book of the Pemberley Chronicles centers on Charlotte Collin's daughters, Catherine and Rebecca. Up to now they have only been mentioned here and there in the other books, so I was very happy when I read the back of this book and learned that we would be reading about their lives. I enjoyed this book as I have the others and am looking forward to reading book 9, which will be coming out in June.
LHedgpeth More than 1 year ago
Recollections of Rosings is the eighth book in Rebecca Ann Collins' The Pemberley Chronicles series. This series has long been on my To Be Read list and despite owning the first two books in the series, I have yet to be able to read them. So while I was excited at the prospect of reading a book in this series, I was also hesitant about beginning with the eighth installment. As a Pride and Prejudice devotee, and with the help of the list of characters provided in the book and by the publisher, I had no problem keeping up with the characters (those established by Jane Austen and those created by Rebecca Ann Collins) and the storyline. While my beloved Darcy and Lizzy made brief appearances here, I did come to like very much Catherine Collins Harrison and her lively daughter Liliane. Again, not having read the previous books, I did feel that Catherine was very much like her mother, Charlotte Lucas Collins, and fortunately not like her namesake, Lady Catherine deBurgh! I found the contrast between Catherine and younger sister Becky to be an interesting one, as Becky is not only more outgoing and outspoken than her sister but also much more fond of city life and living in town rather than the country. The two sisters, while very divergent personalities, still share a close and loving relationship that is both positive and inspiring. The cruelty by Lady Catherine, alluded to in the synopsis, is just that and frankly, would we expect any less from a character you love to hate? It's a wonderful plot point and I fell in love with the result (without giving away too much!) I think the best part of Recollections of Rosings was the heart of the story that remained true to Jane Austen's original vision. True Pride and Prejudice fans will happily soak up this story, following the lives of much loved characters. Despite a somewhat slow start, I did find myself immersed with Catherine, Liliane, Becky and the Darcys and the Bingleys in Kent. My only complaint with Recollections of Rosings would be the aforementioned somewhat slow start. I fear that impatient readers may not give Recollections of Rosings a chance but it is well worth the time.
bridget3420 More than 1 year ago
As adults, Catherine and her sister Becky have only one thing in common, their parents. They were both raised in Rosings Park but they had different ideas about how they wanted to live their lives. Catherine remains in the area she grew up but Becky decides it's time to start a new chapter in her life. When Becky makes a trip back to Rosings because of a devastating fire, secrets are revealed and it might have better if the truth had stayed buried. I found this book to be entertaining in a relaxing way. It's the type of book that you want to curl up with on the couch for hours. I really liked the relationship between Catherine and Becky. Sisterly love is sometimes tough to capture but Rebecca did it beautifully.
LindaBanche More than 1 year ago
If you like PRIDE AND PREJUDICE, you'll like Rebecca Ann Collins's RECOLLECTIONS OF ROSINGS. RECOLLECTIONS OF ROSINGS, Book 8 of THE PEMBLERLEY CHRONICLES, follows the PRIDE AND PREJUDICE characters and their offspring into the future with this tale of love new, love old, and love lost. Emotional intensity, pictures painted with words, and an engrossing story--RECOLLECTIONS OF ROSINGS has it all. The Chronicles have now reached the Victorian age, and Ms. Collins deftly interweaves the stories of Catherine Harrison and Becky Tate, daughters of Elizabeth Bennet's friend, Charlotte Lucas, and Mr. Collins, and Catherine's daughter, Lilian. Lilian is caught up in her first love, and Becky's marriage is troubled. But the story centers on dutiful daughter and wife Catherine, who has spent her entire life near Rosings, the palatial residence of the late, unlamented Lady Catherine de Bourgh. The book opens with a devastating fire that incinerates part of Rosings. The destruction dredges up twenty-five year old memories, which force Catherine to reexamine her experience as companion to the difficult Lady Catherine, and her valued friendship with Mr. Frank Burnett, who was then the great house's librarian. As Catherine tends her seriously ill husband, Frank returns as an advisor on conserving the remaining Rosings treasures. Their friendship resumes and she wonders if she felt more than friendship for him in the past, and if he felt the same. Ms. Collins keeps you guessing almost to the end before she reveals what happened between Catherine and Frank so long ago, including Lady Catherine's meddling, and what their feelings for each other are now. Both characters are finely drawn. And while I love Catherine, I adore Frank. Would that more romance novel heroes were like him. Since RECOLLECTIONS OF ROSINGS is Book 8 of THE PEMBLERLEY CHRONICLES, a lot of story has gone before. I haven't read Books 1 to 7 yet, but Ms. Collins has kept any necessary explanations of the past to a minimum. So, if you can't get enough of PRIDE AND PREJUDICE, try RECOLLECTIONS OF ROSINGS. Book 9 is sitting in my TBR pile, and I can't wait to see how the story continues.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love The Pemberley Chronicles. Book 9 comes out in July and Book 10 comes out later in 2010. The series ends at 10 from my understanding. If you begin this series, start with Book 1 ! Some may not like the books because there is quite a bit of historical information taking place during the era of this story/stories....but I didn't think it bogged you down in the reading of each book. Very extensive of all the families that you find in the original P & P....laughter, drama, loss, etc...all bases are touched upon in this series of books. I highly suggest the reads! Looking forward to Books 9 and 10 later this year!