×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Red Dog
     

Red Dog

4.8 15
by Bill Wallace
 

See All Formats & Editions

TERROR IN THE MOUNTAINS
In the rugged Wyoming territory, the red pup is Adam's best friend.
Adam and his family live in a lonely cabin in the mountains, facing the dangers of the wilderness alone. One day, Adam¹s stepfather announces that he must leave for a weeklong trip to Cheyenne. Adam is put in charge of the family. Everything goes

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Red Dog 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the best book I ever read. The first time I read it was when I was 8. Bill Wallace is such an excuisite writer. Anybody should read this!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Red dog was my latest book report. It made me think of how thankful we are today and that children don't think about how much their parents love us kids. While reading this story I could imagine everything in my mind, I had such a good picture. I would recommend this book for ages 8+ and up. I want to take one more minute to thank Bill Wallace for his time to write these book for me and everyone!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a third grade teacher and when I read this book to my class they would beg me and I stress BEG me not to stop reading. This is a great book and I look forward to reading it every single year to my class!
HomeSchoolBookReview More than 1 year ago
It is the 1860's, and twelve-year-old Adam lives with his stepfather Sam, mother Louise, little sister Laurie, and big red pup named Ruff in a lonely cabin near Jenny Creek in the Whiskey Basin of the rugged, often dangerous, northwestern Wyoming Territory mountains. Adam’s real father had died back in Tennessee, and his older sister Jenny had died in Wyoming after their mother remarried Sam and took the family to his homestead out west. At first, Adam is angry at having been forced to move from Tennessee and is veryunpleasant to his stepfather, who insists that he behave responsibly. One summer day, Sam must leave for a weeklong trip to Cheyenne to file a deed for his land and puts Adam in charge of the family. While he is gone, three cutthroat gold prospectors who want to stake a gold claim on the land come crashing into the cabin and hold the family hostage at gunpoint. Adam manages to escape at night, but the men let the red pup loose, and the one thing that dog does best is track Adam. Will the pup lead the men to the boy? And if he does, can Adam still save his family? This is a very fast-paced, exciting story. There are a few common euphemisms (darn, danged, “bust your butt”) and some references to using “a long, ugly string of words,” although no actual bad language is found. Also, mention is made a few times to smoking tobacco. However, the biggest complaint which I saw is that the book is just too violent for children. Yes, some violence does occur, and as a result I would probably recommend the book more for ages twelve and up rather than younger or rather sensitive readers. However, it is set in a time and place when such things were fairly common. The fact is that there were and are evil people who are bent on hurting others. Yet, none of the violence is gratuitous, nor are the descriptions overly gory, and it all works out for the best in the end. From a positive standpoint, the story contains examples of parents disciplining an unruly child (though not necessarily in a politically correct way), important life lessons learned by Adam, and instances of praying to the Lord. I enjoyed it. It was a Rebecca Caudill Young Reader's Book Award Nominee in 1992.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Adam¿s father died and his mother needed a man to help out on the land. Adam didn¿t like his mother¿s husband because Sam wanted to be accepted as part of the family. Adam takes his dog trial hunting and they run into a mountain lion. Later four unknown men trespass onto Sam¿s land and mother was able to hold her ground with one of Sam¿s guns, and the men left. A few days later three of the men barged into the house during a terrible storm when Adam and his family let down their guard. During the night Adam left the house to try and warn Sam about the three men and his family. I liked this book because it is adventurous, gory, and suspenseful. It wasn¿t too long, and it keep me on the edge of my seat. I didn¿t won¿t to even put the book down which is very unusual. This book is also a little mysterious at times. There were also parts where it talked about how they punished their kids in the 1800¿s. There really wasn¿t anything in this book that I didn¿t like, really how could I with all of the details. This book is the only book and it doesn¿t belong to a series. This book reminded me a lot about Old Yeller because Ruff their dog protected his family from any dangers that it could. People that would like this book would be people that like Old Yeller, and adventure books. This book is similar to Gary Paulson¿s books and Will Hobbs¿ books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book changes alot and it has suspense in it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
it helped me under stand how inportant it is to have a friend at your side all of the time
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book at school and it was exiting, adventures and unpredictable you will not know whats going to happen in the next page of the book theres always something exiting. I recommend this book to anyone!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book.Now I have it.I could not stop reading it.I turned page after page.It was so good I read so much each day I finished it in about 4 days.
Guest More than 1 year ago
There was a dog named Hero he was the only dog in town that could save anybody that was in trouble. He would jump from the building and go through the water and swim to get whoever was drowning. He was a very brave dog.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Adam is the main person . He loves to have adventures. What I liked about the book was that no matter what happened Adam stayed strong and Ruff, his dog, gets Adam out of danger . Most of the book was pretty good. I didn¿t like the part where it talked about dead people and war. A person that likes adventures would like this book. It was a really cool book. It was the first book I read by Bill Wallace.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! I have been looking for it for years. This book just touched my heart and made me cry.I really think you should read this book! From, A fan of Red Dog