×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Red Thunder
     

Red Thunder

4.5 29
by John Varley
 

See All Formats & Editions

Seven suburban misfits are constructing a spaceship out of old tanker cars. The plan is to beat the Chinese to Mars--in under four days at three million miles an hour. It would be history in the making if it didn't sound so insane.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Red Thunder 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this is a good sign that the "NOOK GODS" are finally getting it right..."RED THUNDER" is the 1st book in the "RED TRILOGY" and up til now it has been absent from the list to order...Now I have hope that "DEMON" the 3rd book of the "GAEAN TRILOGY" also by JOHN VARLEY, may soon become available...Thanx for the Rant...RADAR...06-13-2013...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great for a funny quick read. While the science is not believable, the story is well written and the characters are fun to read. The authors writing style is not boring and I found myself really enjoying the lead ins to the next chapter. Overall, I would recommend this book on the fun of the story and the characters presented. But, die-hard science fiction readers who look for believably would be disappointed.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In the not too distant future, NASA has invented space technology used by Ares Seven to travel to Mars, but it will land two weeks after the Chinese make the first red planet landing with people aboard. Manny and Dak, two college students, want to become astronauts more than anything else and they get to meet former astronaut Travis Bussard when they almost run over him in their jeep. Travis was drummed out of NASA because he was an alcoholic and he doesn¿t intend to change that condition until four young men and women give him a reason to remain sober. Travis¿s cousin Jubal, an idiot savante, invents a new form of energy that when inserted onto a spaceship, can take the crew to Mars in under a week. Jubal wants America to be the first country to walk on Mars. Manny, his girlfriend Kelly, Dak and his girlfriend Alicia agree with him. Travis thinks they are all crazy but helps them build a ship that will take them to Mars when Jubal informs him that there is a fault in Ares Seven that destroy the ship before it lands. Travis doesn¿t want that to happen because his ex-wife, the custodial parent of his children, is on board the Ares Seven. John Varley has written a first rate science fiction novel starring five unlikely heroes who end up doing the country proud. Jubal, the creator of the space drive, takes pleasure in simple things even though his patents are making him billions of dollars. RED THUNDER would make a great movie because it has plenty of action, romance and suspense. This work will appeal to fans of Robert Heinlein¿s more sophisticated works. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Thank you. We are very grateful. Our Clan is at "misc" result two, and bios at result one. Thanks again!" They said happily.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JOIN THUNDERCLAN AT THUNDER ALL RESULTS WE WILL HELP U THROUGH EVERYTHING WE WONT TRICK U JOIN NOW WE R ACTIVE ALSO PLZZZ JOIN
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
EliseInAZ More than 1 year ago
First of all, I have to admit that I don't read a lot of science fiction any more, but I was in the mood for something different when I went to the store and I knew the name John Varley, so chose this book. I remember John Varley for his haunting short story Press Enter which I read, well, let's just say there were stone knives and bearskins back then. If I had to classify this book, I'd call it a YA because of the characters and plot catalyst. The primary cast of characters are teenagers who get to build a spaceship and go to Mars. But it's more developed than a traditional YA, which is why the comparisons to Heinlein, I suppose. The science that makes this adventure possible is vague, to say the least, but if you buy the premise, the rest of the story is believable. It does, however, suffer from what writers refer to as the "sagging middle" while the building of the space ship goes on. There's not enough tension for my taste and it took an act of will--and faith--to keep going to the climax and the end. While I enjoyed the book overall, I'm not in any hurry to read the sequels.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The plot, characters, and writing of this book was top notch. I could not put this book down! Very enjoyable ride.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sighed
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She gently meows"may i join?"as she pads over to Riverstar.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Ive been given my nine lives before you came back." He said. Sorry River. I will still be deputy though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
May join
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
*limps in her back leg wrenched badly she huffs ingignitly as she trips on a rock and faceplnats*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Respond to Midnightfire
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Frostwing: She dipd her head <p> Nightshade: He pads to te dens
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My name is Moonkit and I am a beautiful silver grey with tortoiseshelle markings in light grey, blue, white, and a darker tipped tail.I have sapphire blue eyes and I am 5 moons old.My mother died when I was 3 moons old.I just started eating fresh kill right after my mother died when I was 4 moons old.I am in search of a clan.I need a clan so may I join Streamclan Riverstar? Please?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Do you remember me?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Chuckles. "Well, I suppose there is nothing to do, then." He slips through the trees and away.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Where's bronypaw
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi, Snowfall again. My bio was deketed so here it is again. I am 13moons old, i am a she cat with a completely white pelt, and I have brown eyes. Can I please join Streamclan?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
K)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Who are you where am i who am i?