×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Red, White, and Blood (Nathaniel Cade Series #3)
     

Red, White, and Blood (Nathaniel Cade Series #3)

4.3 34
by Christopher Farnsworth
 

See All Formats & Editions

“This is not a man. In almost a hundred years, I have seen it shot, stabbed, drowned, burned, decapitated, dismembered, and buried. And in almost a hundred years, there’s only one thing that’s ever been able to kill it…Me.”

The campaign trail, 2012: A political operative of the incumbent president and a party volunteer are

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Red, White, and Blood 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's an election year. Once you hit the inevitable point in the near future when you just cannot face one more left-or-right-leaning piece of political commentary, THIS is the book to grab. I mean, who WOULDN'T enjoy reading about a monster who targets political hacks with... hacks? Generally I don't go for vampire genre books because they tend to be poorly written and too formulaic to be exciting. This series rocks it, though. (Red, White and Blood is book 3; the first two novels were excellent as well.) In vampire Nathaniel Cade and his handler Zach Barrows, Farnsworth has created characters as cool and well-matched as Holmes & Watson or Spock and Kirk. The WRITING is what I loved: the dialog was snappy and fun and the plot had nonstop hairpin turns that were beautifully crafted. And by overlaying this construct of a vampire who is bound by oath to serve and protect the president onto the 2012 campaign trail... well, it just WORKS. Really really well. Fast pace. Unique and well-formed characters. Fun and surprisingly twisty plot. Backstage on the campaign trail. AND WITH A VAMPIRE -- trust me, it works! (BTW, I have zero connection to the author. I simply think he is a talented guy and I had fun reading his books.)
LaScrabbler More than 1 year ago
The very 1st page grabs you and the thrill ride continues from there. This book is one you don't want to put down until the last page! Scary enough that you might not want to read if you're home alone. Terrific characters.
Beck845 More than 1 year ago
Was not disappointed with book 3. Left me looking for more pages!!! Can not wait for book 4.
WBLikes2Read More than 1 year ago
This series is not your normal vampire romances!. Actually there is no romance. It is a combination suspense spy thriller with a vampire as a character. I do have to say that I did wish for Cade, the vampire, to be more prominent in the book he is just one of many characters to me. I would have liked him to have had more depth, but I have read the whole series to now and will read any new books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Would recommend to anyone who likes vampires....great series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this entry in the series. Old and new foes. Lots of action. Still love the relationship between Cade and Zach. And the end .... am I excited for the next book? Yes indeed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this book, but the first two were much better. I hope the next one in the series is worth buying.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
all three of the books are great and very different.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bs
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In this era of paranormal reads galore it is great to find a unique twist onthe vampire story. Cade is bound to the office of the Presidency and takes his "job" and commitment very seriously. Along with his human assistant who acts as a conduit with the President, Cade take on the job of cleaning up all that is odd and threatening to our way of life, The stories have enough political intrigue mirroring things past and present and issues abroad that also follow current events to make this entertaining and thought provoking. This book follows the President on the campaign re-election trail with horrible deaths of campaign workers in the wake of the entourage.
sarahconerty More than 1 year ago
Creepy and suspenseful, this is my favorite book in the series and I've really enjoyed all three. As scary as the paranormal "Other Side" bad guys are, the humans who choose evil (politicians, reporters, shadow government dudes!) are easily the most horrifying, and they outshine the monsters in this story. Which is pretty impressive when the actual villain is a demon from hell who carves up people for fun. Add in a seamless blending of historic record, conspiracy theories, and real people, and the world of Nathaniel Cade feels like our own. The shocking and ironic ending of this book reinforces that as well, and has lingered in my mind for days. This is top-notch storytelling.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Patches33 More than 1 year ago
It wasnt as good as the other two in my opinion but it was still pretty gripping and a solid page turner. 
VampressSJ More than 1 year ago
This is the 3rd in the seres about Nathaniel Cade. Way to go Christopher Farnsworth! I have been collecting Vampire books for years and have a collection of over 300. This book and the 2 before it are AWESOME! Farnsworth's plot about a vampire who answers to the President is so creative and fresh. The characters are wonderful and well developed. A throughly enjoyable read if you like books about vampires and the supernatural. I highly recommend you go buy it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didn't have as many problems with this one as I did with the previous book in the series, but I still didn't like it as much as the first. Again we get a lot of cannon fodder, but it doesn't work against the story this time. The main supernatural threat of the book is a Jason Voorhees style killer. So as we go through the story, we occasionally get side tracked to briefly introduce a couple of new characters so that they can be killed off. Which is the same as what the author did in the last book (introducing minor characters to be killed), but it's handled better. It's not reliving the same moment of time over and over again from different perspectives just to increase the body count. It works because of the villain. My problem with it comes with an increase in the adult content. The series over all is definitely not for children, but this one goes further. The language is saltier, more characters are featured in compromising situations, and the descriptions of crime scenes are a bit gorier. Again, this is tied to the villain used. Instead of a supernatural thing that just kills at random, we have a superpowered guy with a big knife killing people that fit a specific modus operandi. Probably not a problem for most people, just not my cup of tea.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm not usually a big fan of monster books, but this series us really fun and weird. And, this one not only had a great adventure in Monster Hunting, it has a great cliff hanger ending. I'm looking forward to the next book, which could be CRAZY if the story goes the way I think it will. It really is a great adventure with some really fun Slasher Movie gripes and inside jokes. The next book will require you to have read this one, the other books don't need to be read in order, but the next one will.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this one done! I love the other 2 in this series aswell. I hope he writes more of these