×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Reefer Madness: Sex, Drugs, and Cheap Labor in the American Black Market
     

Reefer Madness: Sex, Drugs, and Cheap Labor in the American Black Market

4.1 70
by Eric Schlosser
 

See All Formats & Editions


America’s black market is much larger than we realize, and it affects us all deeply, whether or not we smoke pot, rent a risqué video, or pay our kids’ nannies in cash. In Reefer Madness the best-selling author of Fast Food Nation turns his exacting eye on the underbelly of the American marketplace and its far-reaching influence on our society.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Reefer Madness: Sex, Drugs, and Cheap Labor in the American Black Market 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 70 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is NOT a public forum for you to spam the reviews section.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Vvvb
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Detail after detail, this book was painful to read. No narrative arch.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Walks in
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
*She nods.* "Yeah. Anywase, I have to go. My existance is no-linger needed on my NOOK or at least several books." *She dissapoofs.*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Runs in with a ak-47
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rides in inside his limousine
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Locked out!))
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Walks in sharpening her dagger
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im bac
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gxc
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Okay. And here's something to remember me by." She kissed his cheeks.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I need a sla<_>ve.......
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I finaly made a snapchat....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wanna fuq?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Yes. Pointing it at your face is the best place to point it at."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Erm...?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Talk to Spade to buy things you wouldn't find anywhere else in the rp world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I appreciated the simplicity of how Schlosser divided the sections of the book-however, I think that it would have been more of a successful hit if he were to explain the more important details in more depth, rather than just throwing in a bunch of alphabet soup-information at the reader. All in all, was an interesting book with jam-packed ideas and creative history.  -Sadaf Tabibzadeh
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has three extremely interesting topics, marijuana, illegal immigration and pornography. three topics that are a current discussion in our daily life. After reading each chapter you are guaranteed to have more incredible and interesting  knowledge about each of the topics.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are looking for an entertaining economic book, Eric Schlosser has given you one.  Schlosser provides numerous  examples in each of his five essays.  Every example is a narrative, captivating and thrilling.  Although I was interested with each topic discussed- drugs, illegal immigrants, and porn- I often found myself off topic   I never felt the urge to drop everything else I needed to get done, and continue reading; however, I am not one who is easily captivated by economic books.  This book is very informative without a dull moment.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book showed me how people in certain industries get treated unfairly. It made me mad reading that getting caught with weed could get a harsher punishment than a murder. I also couldn't believe how much immigrants get taken advantage of. They get extremely underpaid and they don't even know it. I also found it interesting how the porn industry started and how it spread all over the world.
KileyT More than 1 year ago
This book is sectioned into three parts: Marijuana, Undocumented Workers, and Pornography. This book was boring for me to read in the beginning because of all the statistics coming at you all at once. Then as we read along the strung out story of Mark Young, a man convicted of life in prison for being a middleman in a big drug operation, you start to read a long more and it becomes less statistical and more personable because you start to feel for the families whose lives have been destroyed from marijuana convictions. The second part of the book is about undocumented workers whose lives are destroyed by sharecropping and far below minimum wage incomes. The third section is about pornography, the &quot;hush-hush&quot; underground culture of pornography that has been booming since the 20th century. All of these sections tie together to remind readers that this unregulated underground market economy is large and since the government isn't doing anything to control it, and instead are mandating more laws on immigration and conviction for casual drug users, they are hurting the economy. By decriminalizing marijuana, they could easily save billions which could go towards treatment programs and immigrant income security. Interesting read and definitely makes you feel passionate towards reforming some laws.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was very informative about everything, but it lacked something that kept me entertained. I felt like I was reading a better written textbook. The information was presented very well and I learned a lot, but there was nothing that made me want to read more. A lot of times, it seemed like he was repeating the same facts over and over again--especially in the section about marijuana. It was statistic after statistic of the different punishments for marijuana offenses. If you are interested in any of the three topics discussed in this book, I would reccomend reading it, but if not, don't bother. It will feel like a waste of time, and you will want to put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought it was an insightful book with good background information. An interesting read just like his other books.