×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Reflections of a Peacemaker: A Portrait in Poetry
     

Reflections of a Peacemaker: A Portrait in Poetry

4.0 11
by Mattie J.T. Stepanek
 

See All Formats & Editions

I write about anything that touches the essence of my existence. What I witness, what I feel, what I think, what I fear, what I treasure. I write about life, which is our greatest gift." --Mattie Stepanek, 1990-2004

Mattie J. T. Stepanek lived and died a child, but he had the spirit of a giant. Affected by a rare and fatal neuromuscular disease, Mattie lived

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Reflections of a Peacemaker: A Portrait Through Heartsongs 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mattie was God's gift to the world. He brought joy and comfort to everyone. I am 42 years old and have Muscular Dystrophy. There are many days when I have trouble dealing with the pain and frustration of this disease. This book has helped me to deal with it better. Even though I've never met Mattie, I feel so close to him after reading his Heartsong books. (I have all of them.) In Reflections of a Peacemaker Mattie shares his inner most thoughts and feelings with the world. If you think you have a problem in your life you can't deal with, read Reflections of a Peacemaker. You'll be amazed of the strength, courage, love and hope that Mattie had even though he had so many obstacles to deal with in life. This is a MUST READ for all ages, young and old.
Debra Rizdy More than 1 year ago
When I began reading this book I wanted to absorb every word like a sponge. The way this little boy expressed himself not only through writing but also painting, and public speaking when he was able was amazing. This book is especially relevant to the baby boomers. It is a reminder not to become cynical as we age. What a fantastic read, I hope it stays with me in my daily life as mattie would have wanted. By far my best book from barnes and noble.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Matti, only a child, knew more in his short life on earth than many adults do in a whole lifetime! Truly, his poetry is genuine, real, thought-provoking, touching, etc. He is a Peace-maker! This book is great for any person going through any illness; good for children/teens to see life's importance through the eyes and heart of another. Mattie was one tremendous, spirited, giving, caring, loving, courageous child who was wiser than most mankind!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is by far the best in the Heartsong series. It is both funny and sad, happy and serious, but always thought provoking. Jeni did an excellent job on this read and truly carried on the legacy of Mattie's hope for peace. From first page to last, from his earliest works to his final poems, from the introduction by Oprah Winfrey to the final thoughts by Jann Carl, this is a very fitting tribute to our lost angel, Mattie J. T. Stepanek. I highly recommend it to everyone. Alan Barron
Guest More than 1 year ago
Before he died, Mattie discussed this book with his Mom, Jeni. He told her how he wanted it put together -- specifically including the last page, after the index. That last page contains a challenge to every reader. The book is autobiographical, with Mattie¿s poetry as insightful, inspiring and direct as ever. It is also biographical. Jeni is more than editor. She is narrator with introductions from Mattie¿s friends. All together, we have a more comprehensive view of Mattie and his message than ever before. It all adds up to a powerful combination. It is amusing and demanding, inspiring and heart-wrenching. Any and every serious reader will certainly do some self- examination in order to determine how his or her life compares with Mattie¿s invitation. At the same time it is a very comforting and hopeful book. Mattie¿s passion for peace and hope which totally dominated his life, even in the face of almost unimaginable sufferings, will impress any reader, even those who had never heard of him before. Mattie¿s words ring forth: `Peace is possible. Live with hope.¿ Simply face the challenge on the last page. Bob Balkam
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mathew Stepanek's poetry is a portrait of the face of optimism during miserable times. It shows that, by simply practicing the methods of hope and the belief in something bigger than all of us, one can lift themselves up into happiness and the enjoyment of one's time on Earth. This type of poetry, however, is not for supporters of Darwin's theory, or those who condemn a belief in God.
Guest More than 1 year ago
These poems have the depth of a Triscuit. They vanish from your mind immediately after you read them. I feel bad for Mattie as it seems like his mother has exploited him for money through these sappy books and public appearances. She is perpetuating a culture that smiles upon self-proclaimed victims. This type of book is most appealing to people who prefer oversimplified stories and answers (e.g., a kindly old man with a beard made all the world, and loves and looks after us all), versus less comforting answers (e.g., the planet formed billions of years ago, and all sorts of complex forces and chemical reactions shaped it until we see it as it is today).