×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Reformed Vampire Support Group
  • Alternative view 1 of The Reformed Vampire Support Group
  • Alternative view 2 of The Reformed Vampire Support Group
     

The Reformed Vampire Support Group

3.9 62
by Catherine Jinks
 

See All Formats & Editions

Think vampires are romantic, sexy, and powerful? Think again. Vampires are dead. And unless they want to end up staked, they have to give up fanging people, admit their addiction, join a support group, and reform themselves.
   Nina Harrison, fanged at fifteen and still living with her mother, hates the Reformed Vampire Support Group meetings

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Reformed Vampire Support Group (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 62 reviews.
AbbytheImp More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It's witty and a good escape from the romanticized stories of vampires that seem to show up everywhere. It started strong and finished stronger with a good cast of characters that became more and more developed throughout the book. If you're tired of the Twilight craze, read this book (I sensed a few jabs at the Twilight series...). I really hope Jinks makes this into a series.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Forget everything you knew about vampires. They are not sexy, stylish, rich, or powerful. Nina has been a 15-year-old since 1973 when she was first turned into a vampire. Now she attends vampire support group meetings with her fellow vamps, who are sickly and living off the blood of guinea pigs. It's not a fancy life at all! Nina's life is boring (although she does use her experience as a vampire to write vampire fiction). So when Casimir, the vampire who originally turned members of the group, is found staked in his apartment, Nina's life is about to be an adventure. The killer knows who and what they are, so The Reformed Vampire Support Group sets off to save themselves and finds a dangerous journey along the way. This is not your typical vampire story. These vampires are grumpy, cranky, and not glamorous at all. But that's what makes them fun. There were a lot of characters to keep track of in the beginning and the plot started off sort of slow, but keep with it and you will have a delightful and funny mystery.
Dead_Girl More than 1 year ago
At the begining of this book it was not that interesting. As you get into the third/fourth chapter, it starts to get much better. Things are over-explained at some points, but rarely. The characters relationships are great between one another. Some things you might think that it would never happen, some things you might. All in all, I thought it was a very good book and well written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book it is a teen book 4 shere i wood not recomend it to twilite lovers tho it is nuthing like that it is the opisit. It duss staert kinda slow i wood say tje 1st chapter is the only slow chapter but after that it is great. :)
Perry-the-Ducktipus More than 1 year ago
This book.....was really bad... I hate criticizing books because I know i can't to any better than the author, but I really did not enjoy this book. Not one bit. It wasn't exciting, nor was it funny, or filled with surprises! I was shocked by the lack of awesomeness because the summary makes it sound like it had amazing potential to be a bestseller. I guess not. :(
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesomely amazing book. Good for all ages above 8. Hilarious. Ill write my own summary now, for whoever is reading this. Nina is a vampire, and hates it terribly. She be.longs to a support group, and suddenly, a member of her support group is found with a stake through his heart. They must find the killer before they end up dead too.This sets the group on a wild chase, discovering a huge mystery. Awesome book. By the way, i know that theres a sequel coming out soon, and i think it is something like "the werwolf help group". I cant wait!!!!!!
bigman21 More than 1 year ago
The book "the Reformed Vampire Support Group," is phenominal.There's just the the right amont of romance,but the book is mostly adventure.I really enjoyed the book.Not to serious,but not completly light and fluffy either.Think this book will appeal to alot of people.It's also refreshing to have a good young book not set in america.And of course novampire book is complete without a werewolf so keep that in mind. Also I found the book having a slow start. I did enjoy this book very much. I would recommend this book to youth. It has a bit of every genre, just to name a few; Drama, Comedy, Farce, Horror and many more. Yet it is not too scary or gory. The style the author used to write the book was used in a humorous way. My favorite part of this book was when Nina went to the reformed vampire support group.The meetings were about how to learn not drink human blood. it is my favorite part because she is actually taking the human life into consideration. I relly liked this book and i bet anyone who reads this book will like it to.
marzelis More than 1 year ago
The reformed vampire support group is a teen vampire mystery written for young adults. This book is full of sad and detailed life stories that keep the readers eyes glued to the page. The relationship between Nina and the gang and all the vampire murderers is so hectic its hard to keep up, but all that means is that there is more to read. The reason I like the book is the author reminds u that vampires are supposed to be depressed, non emotional creatures of the night. Its not the romance novels that make vampires seem hot and normal it shows vampires as tired and weak. The book is extremely detailed, and not in a bad way it good because if you think about it they are making it easier to image the book in your head. This book is good for anyone who wants a easy read the excessive details makes the book a simple for people like me who don't always understand all the read or have trouble visualizing stories. I would recommend this book to any one of my friends this book is officially the best fictional mystery book I've ever read. I truly believe anyone with the intention of reading a great book full of mytery and suspense will be happy.
EGHunter01 More than 1 year ago
Our protagonist is quite detailed oriented; therefore you will receive an in-depth description of the gory, bloody life of a former, recovering vampire. This storyline is not for the faint of heart, it might just suck the life out of you. Ha! Ha! When one vampire "dies" the mystery and suspense begin. What is the connection between the "death" of this vampire and Cobar? What is out at Wolgaroo Corner? And who, what, and where does this search lead to? Walk into the vampire world with the protagonist and find out. Storyline really picks up once you read to page 203.
Hazardous_Pink More than 1 year ago
I was very excited to read this book - a different take on vampires. I thought that it would be an exciting story about how vampires could be different than what is so mainstreamed now. I was disappointed. Big time. The story was essentially about a bunch of old people stuck in the bodies of various ages. Everything was about how weak, worthless, and pathetic each of the characters were. The concept is great, I just wish it would have had been presented differently or even broken up into a series. Seemed like too much was going on in the story and could have had easily been broken up a little bit more than what it was.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was different then the "normal" vampire books and had a fun twist on the legend of vampires and werwolfs.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It as really interesting. Most vampire stories portray the vamps as almost human and incredibly good looking. It shows how vamps have a whole lot more problems to deal with than normal people do.
JHAZZY_TWILIGHTluvr More than 1 year ago
ITS A GOOD BOOK RELLY FUNNY BOOK! IT PUTS ON THE HOLE LOST SOUL, ROMATIC VAMPIER THING! IT HELPS MAKE VAMPIRES HAVE A BIT MORE DEPTH NOT JUST THE ROMANTIC VAMPIRE BUT A REGULAR VAMP!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Shadow Hunters: The Mortal Instruments
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very witty, sarcastic and funny, not to mention the killer ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Was not expecting much, but it totally surprised me! I actually liked it a lot and i couldn't put the book down!
beckymmoe More than 1 year ago
...but ultimately, a fun read. The author does tend to hit you over the head a bit with the whole "vampires are nothing like you think they are" bit, but it is nice to see a wholly different take on the genre for once. The ending has a fun little twist as well. I listened to it on audio, and the narrator's Australian accent definitely added to our enjoyment of the book. There's just something so fun about they way she said things like "cahr" and "Neener" that gave it that extra flair.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago