×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Regarding the Fountain: A Tale, in Letters, of Liars and Leaks
     

Regarding the Fountain: A Tale, in Letters, of Liars and Leaks

4.8 24
by Kate Klise, M. Sarah Klise (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Dry Creek Middle School drinking fountain has sprung a leak, so principal Walter Russ dashes off a request to Flowing Waters Fountains, Etc.

...We need a new drinking fountain. Please send a catalog.

Designer Flo Waters responds:

"I'd be delighted...but please understand that all of my fountains are custom-made."

Soon the fountain project takes on a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Regarding the Fountain 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Splish, splash!" That is what it sounds like at the drinking fountain in Geyser Creek Middle School. But it was called Dry Creek Middle School, because it was been the driest school in the whole state. The school principal, Mr.Walter, keeps slipping on the dripping water from the school's drinking fountain. So, the secretary of the school writes to Florence, a person who designs drinking fountains. The 5th grade gets to help design the drinking fountain because their classroom is next to the drinking fountain. The 5th grade class is really small class. The students are Lily, Shelly, Paddy, Tad, Gil, and Minnie. Lily plays the guitar in the 5th grade class band, Shelly is on trombone, Paddy on drums and cymbal, Gil on the french horn, and Minnie is on harp. I once went to a water fountain in my school. Our water fountain was a plain and boring one, not like the one at Geyser Creek Middle School. Did you know the person who drew this book, M. Sarah Klise, is the sister of the person who wrote this book? Kate Klise wrote a lot of humorous books. Kate has written the Regarding series and plenty more. I would recommend this book to everyone: kids and adults. This book she made is really hilarious!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Laura51 More than 1 year ago
This book is so insperational it talks about fight, rules, and community. I read this book to my students, they absolutly loved it. It teaches to stand when it is nessesary and fight when it is the time and do what is needed and not what is wanted for life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great book! I read this book and fell in LOVE with it. I never wanted it to end. It was a pretty quick read. It was also good because they were letters and they are a different form than a book with just text. It is always fun to read letters. So you have GOT to read this book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was ok, and could be better. I dont suggest reading this if u are over 10 years old. I thiunk the book had no point at all.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm not a book lover, but when I saw the cover of the book, I new there was somthing in store! I loved this book! It's about a school getting a new fountain. They ask the students what thye would like the fountian to look like. Some of the ideas are pretty carazy, and funny! Yet, they find a wa y to make everyone happy, by putting all of their ideas together! You need to read this book! ps. There is a twist ending you'll nver expcet!
Guest More than 1 year ago
captureed my attention by just looking at it and the tittle. i highly recomned it. it a lot more stars. any one who is any one will like this book. it may be short of pages but high of quality!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Regarding the Fountain is a most unusual and entertaining book filled with mysteries, unusual characters, and ample educational benefits. The story unfolds when Sam N¿s 5th grade class is assigned the task of presenting the history of Dry Creek at the annual Dry Creek Days Celebration. The class is surprised to discover that Dry Creek had changed its name thirty years ago. The town was once known as Spring Creek, but the town decided to change it when the spring dried up along with a lot of the town¿s businesses. As the class is researching their project, the principal of the school is distressed with the leaky water fountain at the school and wants it replaced. He writes Flo Waters, a well-known fountain designer, asking her to send designs on a new water fountain for the school. Ms. Waters corresponds back and forth with the students to get their ideas on how fountain should be designed. She is so delighted with the class that she sends them letters and artifacts from all of the places she visits. The fifth grade class uses her artifacts and their research facts for their presentation. The class unveils some interesting facts on why the water dried up and helps restore the missing water supply back to the town. Regarding the Fountain gives teachers opportunities to integrate history, geography, math, and language arts into their reading activities. This is a very entertaining and funny book that can be read by students above 3rd grade. This adventure is highly recommended.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It was so good. i liked it how the people in the story have names that go with water, like Mr. Sam N. I also like how it is written in letters. If you like to read other people's letters, this is for you!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book had a very good plot. The charachters were interesting, they are really what draws you into the story. I was surprised and excited in the end.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is basically about a bunch of 5th graders and a principal and a teacher(who each are tired of the leaking fountain) and the owner of a custom-made fountain company. Each of these characters write letters to present ideas about the new fountain, or something regarding the fountain. There are also 2 evil characters who dont want the fountain 2be replaced becoz of their money making reasons....and a secret. To read this tale of letters.and to find out the end read Regarding the Fountain....This may seem like a boring book, but really, its a really fun book. The author shows a gift of writing a story in a different way. Its like Dear Mr.Henshaw..except its not boring at all!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Fabouluse book! coouldn't put it down! loved the way it was put together, and the caracters ways.it was by far one of the bes books i've ever read. i recomend this book to any one who wants a good laff.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This boook was awesome and one of my favorites. The format and plot are fun and exciting and will keep you turning pages! A mystery that will have you saying, 'Oh, it all makes sense now,' at the end! I highly recommend this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Regarding the fountain, is an outstanding book, full of letters of how a 5th grade classes water drinking fountain brakes, who to call to get another one, and what design it should it be. But, someone is up to NO GOOD! Will dee 'eel', and someone from the board stop this from ever happening? Dont want to spoil the ending!! Read the book to find out for yourself!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love all of Kate Klise's books! She has such a fun way of writing! I definitely give all of her books a 5-star rating.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was soooooooooooo good. The storyline was incredibly creative and the illustrations were amazing!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I own this book and it is a masterpeice.All the letters were fun to read and the illustrasions are beautiful. This book shows kids my age that it is all right to write your best friend instead of just picking up the phone. I personaly have no problem with the using the phone but my parents might have one.It also shows little kids that their opinion can make a gigantic impact.If I had to decide if this book got an award , I would say yes without hesatation.The ending was one of the funniest endings i have ever read. I'm not going to tell you the ending just so you can read this spectacular book.I also think this book should have a sequeal. To the parents or adults who never listen to kids (close to teenagers) should start right now!
Guest More than 1 year ago
A tribute to imagination and fun . The author and illustrator are related !! I think that is wonderful they work together . They made a masterpiece!!!!!!!!!! I sugjest this book to all ages from 7-777.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was hilarious and it brings out a deep in the heart laugh in everyone. There is no way to describe this book- you just are going to half to read it!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I hesitate to recommend this as a children's title simply because adults may shy away from this hilarous and quick-reading book told through letters and other 'evidence.' It's nearly impossible to describe--just read it!
ihatereading More than 1 year ago
This is a WONDERFUL book!!! I absolutly LOVED it. I read it in 2nd grade, but one of my (very smart) friends read it in 5th grade. It is a great book for all ages, and is very fun to read. I highly recomend it to all readers, even ones that don't like to read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's the best book ever. A truly funny book. You are bound to love it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the best book!! Given it's written in letters it's easy to read and keep up with. What i loved about the book was that i never wanted to put it down I just kept reading. It has it's own way of keeping your attention. Kate Klise is a great author and has a great imagination. She knows how to grab kids attentions and can help them explore!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think Katie and Sarah Klise outdid themselves...I love them!! They are awesome authors!!It was a great book!!! All of them written by Kate and Sarah Klise...I have read all of them...