×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Regenesis (Cyteen Series)
     

Regenesis (Cyteen Series)

4.8 11
by C. J. Cherryh
 

See All Formats & Editions

The long-awaited sequel to the Hugo award-winning novels Cyteen and Downbelow Station.

The direct sequel to Cyteen, Regenesis continues the story of Ariane Emory, Personal Replicate, the genetic clone of one of the greatest scientists humanity has ever produced, and of her search for the murderer of her progenitor-the original

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Regenesis 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Dragonns More than 1 year ago
Cherryh picked up where she left off with the Cyteen series and kept everything true to the story line. She did not change things to reflect our current technologies-she stayed true to the world and the time line that she created. This above all was what I valued. Too often, when series have a long time between books, but the story time line picks up where the last book ends, the current technologies, etc, appear. She is still the great writer I have always enjoyed. I was sad when I finished the book!
ChefK More than 1 year ago
I thought this was an excellent book and a wonderful continuation of the story of Ariane and company. This book is complex in the flavors of politics and relationships between Ariane and her friends and enemies, it is a rich tapestry of politics and science, life and everything in between. I thought it was wonderful book, some of the science stuff eluded me but it was a big part of story especially regarding genetics and it's implications and that is reflective of our own times since we are in the begining of genetics and it's ethics nowadays. Excellent read and ends dramatically so get the book and enjoy it!
dbresler More than 1 year ago
C.J. Cherryh is an extraordinary writer and story teller who's hallmark is the creation of a possible future or alternative universe with a complex thread and jargon unique to the landscape she has created but left for the reader to puzzle out. The story, even when highly cerebral, as with Regenesis, maintains a high level of uncertainty and drama throughout. Here, as in Cyteen, the character of Arianne Emory is a repeat of the theme introduced with Pyanfar, of the clever female in charge of something, space ships, government agencies, etc, fighting for survival using her superior wits in a male dominated milieu. You may or may not like her, but you do root for her. It helps to have read some of the other novels in this series, (i.e. Cyteen, Mercanter's Luck, Downbelow Station, etc)to get a more complete picture of the universe she has created, but this novel stands alone and can be read as a one-off. Even though it is fairly long, I was disappointed when it ended and wanted more. I hope we see more of Union Space and Arianne Emory from Ms. Cherryh.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In the research city of Reseune, eighteen year old scientist Ariane ¿Ari¿ Emory is a clone of a late brilliant warped person whose work on psychogenesis, the cloning of psychology and memory, was ingenious; the evidence being Ari II. However, Ariane I was killed by an unknown adversary during a power struggle. Meanwhile another clone Justin Warrick mentors the ¿second Ariane¿.

However, all hell breaks loose when Justin¿s prototype Jordan comes home from exile demanding justice. He wants to know who killed Ariane I. Even more disturbing in his mind is that the history of the Union seems to be repeating itself with violence and death, but this time the battle for power also includes clones.

Two decades have past since CYTEEN was published, but fans of the series will feel the wait was worth it as the sequel REGENESIS retains the dark gloomy future of the first tale. The key is the cast who make Cherryh¿s grim picture plausible although the plot with several clever spins focuses on Ari II; she holds it together as a second power struggle erupts. Although reading CYTEEN is not a must prerequisite to appreciate REGENESIS, this reviewer suggests starting with the original super first story that holds up nicely as that enhances the backdrop to the excellent sequel.

Harriet Klausner
dolor.glauf More than 1 year ago
I never availed myself of the opportunity to read "Cyteen", the volume that precedes "Regenesis," when it was first released; thus, I have had the very great pleasure of reading both books consecutively as a fresh experience - and I still want more. This volume continues to chronicle the rise of Ariane Emory, PR as she steadily recovers her predecessor's power and influence, even as she puts her own stamp on things. The differences are perhaps more intriguing than the similarities, eerie as those latter may be. The framework set by the development of the Geraud, Abban, & Seely clones is a nice periodic reminder of so many things: the passage of time, the developing connections, the potential for similarities and divergences. Again, the ongoing discussions of life, death, genetic manipulation, cloning per se, destiny vs. free will, nature vs. nurture vs. nature/nurture, loyalty, duty, necessity, ethics, choices, etc. are thoughtful and open-ended. This reading is a pleasure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Finally a follow up to Cyteen. Wonderful book. An interesting look in to human psychology especially concerning power. Not to mention, it's just a danged good read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Talking-Horse More than 1 year ago
As always CJ Cherryh has done it again with another story from the Cyteen Series. I only wonder what took so long to see it come out.