×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Regulators
     

The Regulators

3.8 125
by Stephen King
 

See All Formats & Editions

Now available for the first time in a mass market premium edition—master storyteller Stephen King presents the classic, terrifying New York Times bestseller of those caught between the surreal forces of good versus evil in a small suburban town.

“The red van rolls past…humming and glinting.…Things are happening fast now, although

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Regulators 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 123 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely my favorite KING book so far. Its difficult to read the news clippings and stuff on the nook, but still. I would suggest going to buy the actual book.
Mirk More than 1 year ago
I loved this book, like I love almost all of Stephen Kings writing. I just got the B&N nook and love it to death, but this book was not made for the nook. Scattered through out are newspaper clippings and journal entries of one of the characters that are SO small they are almost impossible to read, even with a magnifying glass! It was SO frustrating!
Bachman More than 1 year ago
I am currently reading this book, about 3/4 of the way through. It is a great read, pure macabre, though. I will try to make this as little of a spoiler as possible. It is about a suburban neighborhood in the fictional town of Wentworth, Ohio. A typical afternoon, about a week after Independence Day; the Carver kids are bickering at the corner convenience store; Gary's firing up the backyard grill; the paperboy is making his rounds; a Frisbee is flying over the Reeds' lawn. The only thing that just doesn't seem to fit the almost perfect picture is the red van with the weird radar doohickey thing on the top, idling just up the hill. Soon it will begin to roll, and the killing will begin..... Don't miss the companion novel, Desperation.
Scott Fenlon More than 1 year ago
I preferred Desperation over the Regulators, but that aside this was still an enjoyable and fast paced read. There's a lot of action, but never felt any significant connection to the characters (which is something I can't say for any of the other SK books I've read up to now). The backstory is also cleverly tied in. On a side note, the ebook is riddled with typos. In some of Audrey's journals I wonder if they were purposely included seeing the situation she was in while she was writing them.
DeDeFlowers More than 1 year ago
This is a very engaging novel. Stephen King does a great job building up the story and characters. It's very original and thrilling. It's classic in the sense that it isn't all huge twists and turns. It's just a great thriller. Good old fashioned story telling by the horror master.
It's one if King's more gory novels. So if gore isn't your thing you might not want to read The Regulators.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is tied into Steven King's book Desperation. So if you liked Desperation, this book will keep the story alive. Instead of taking place in the middle of nowhere, The Regulators takes place in the middle of a nice normal suburb neighborhood. But things start to happen that are far from the norm. Watch as things go from odd to worse in this weird tale. I thought it was a great book, but hey, why don't you judge for yourself? :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not a bad book, but I highly reccomend reading Desperation ( the companion book ) first. It' s not supposed to matter which order you read them in, but I personally feel you'll be left with a lot of questions if you choose this one first, I know I would be! The characters have different personalities which made me almost not want to read this one ( I get really deep into my reading!) So I waited a couple of weeks between books, I would recommend that as well! This is almost like an alternate plane from what happened in Desperation.....same people, only they live in Ohio, all on the same street. Johnny has a much different personality and the Carver's are all flip flopped around. There is not much of a detailed explaination for what Tak is or why this is happening, all that comes from the other book. That being said, I did enjoy it and do reccomend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good ideas, but the book could have been 100 pages shorter. It felt repetitive, like I just wanted to skip to the next section (while still knowing what was happening). Physically, the story mostly takes place in a pretty small place, so I felt kinda trapped mentally for the few days that I spent reading this. Like I said, interesting ideas but I felt they got beat to death over the course of the book, kinda predictable really. It seemed to start out with a lot more promise than it wound up with, like King was on a roll for 50 pages and then started getting bogged down in his own imagery. I didn't get clearly defined senses of about half of the characters, and it focused way too much on Audrey and Seth. Just not expansive enough for such a long book, which is something I normally like about King's stories. Instead, everyone is mostly packed together like sardines the whole time. Also it was unusually gory, and I didn't feel like this helped make the story more gripping; it actually made it more tedious. I'm planning on reading Desperation, the companion book, though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not one of his best but definitely worth it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First novel by Richard Bachman (Stephen King) that I read. Made me a solid fan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago