×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Reign: The Chronicles of Queen Jezebel
     

Reign: The Chronicles of Queen Jezebel

3.8 15
by Ginger Garrett
 

See All Formats & Editions

Beyond the Drama, Her Heart Was Real

From the moment her marriage to prince Ahab thrusts her into the intrigues of palace life, Jezebel’s exotic beauty opens doors and her will breaks down walls. Torn from her homeland and wed to power in a strange country, Jezebel vows to create a legacy and power all her own. Some might call her a manipulative

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Reign: The Chronicles of Queen Jezebel 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
dgottreu More than 1 year ago
Reign The Chronicles of Queen Jezebel by Ginger Garrett is a fictional account of Ahab and Jezebel taken from I Kings and II Kings in the Bible. In the Bible, Jezebel was described as a very wicked woman but the author’s imagination just became too much for me. Biblical fiction is one of my favorite genre but I just could not get into this book, in fact I was not able to finish it. I was really looking forward to reading the book but it was a disappointment for all the sacrificing of babies and the vivid descriptions of the worship of Baal just became too depressing for me to continue reading. I read over half the book and I will say that it was well written with the plot and characters being well developed. Just too well developed for my taste. It was obvious that the author did a lot of research before writing the book. I have read the story of Jezebel many times in the Bible and I know how the story ended. If one is not bothered by reading about infant sacrifices and the sexual perversion of the temple priests, then I could recommend this book. I received a complimentary copy of this book from David C. Cook at Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did force myself to actually finish this book. Writing style fell short. No substance and scattered. Focus on sacrifice. Focus clearly shows the authors hatred... can not recommend this book at all. Description of content shows promise, but never delivers. I have read thousands of books.... this has been the WORST one Ever. Least amount of historical fact, most amount of crap.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Reign The Chronicles of Queen Jezebel By Ginger Garrett There are many versions of the reign of Queen Jezebel but you have not read one like this.  Trust me you will not skip a page or want to retire to bed. This is an exciting tale with biblical detail. Who says the bible is boring? I challenge you to read this version you will be surprised. I had the the privilege to read Chosen and Desired too I am unable to decide which is the best. Well written and thoroughly exciting.  FIVE STARS for my review without bias.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
VicG More than 1 year ago
Ginger Garrett in her new book, “Reign” Book Three in the Lost Loves of the Bible series published by David C. Cook gives us The Chronicles of Queen Jezebel. From the Back Cover:  Discover the woman behind the villain From the moment her marriage to Prince Ahab thrusts her into the intrigues of palace life, Jezebel’s exotic beauty opens doors and her will breaks down walls. Torn from her homeland and wed to power in a strange country, Jezebel vows to create a legacy and power all her own. Some might call her a manipulative schemer, bent on having her way. But they don’t know the whole story, and she was much, much worse. As she moves through the halls of power, her heart struggles between devotion to the gods she worships, the prince who loves her, and her thirst for revenge. She sparks a battle between her strangely powerless gods and the God of palace administrator Obadiah—a God who confronts her with surprising might. She will fight, though victory may cost her everything. I have to admit I came into this book with just a little fear after all Jezebel is the most wicked woman in The Bible and I could not imagine a story based on her.  I mean why?  Especially when she is so evil?  I should not have feared Ms. Garrett did a memorable job of showing her villainy and also gives us her background as to why she becomes what she becomes. Not too many authors will delve into a character’s background the way Ms. Garrett did both Jezebel and Ahab’s backgrounds.  She shows us how their upbringings forged their adult lives.  It is dark and frightening and clearly shows us what our lives can become without God in them.  Ms. Garrett has done a good job in bringing a tough character to life and is to be commended for her efforts. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from David C Cook for this review.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bookishqueen More than 1 year ago
This books is amazing in its richness of detail. Israel really came alive for me. Not only that, but the human portrayal of Jezebel was a refreshing one. Often I read of the typical villain; evil to the core. This character, while not the most sympathetic was real, with true reasoning behind her actions. My problem with this story was that I did not like Jezebel as much as I wanted. She was truly the Jezebel of the Bible, committing all the same acts. It was great to be true to who she had been, but it kept this from being 5 stars.
dun1 More than 1 year ago
This was an amazing book and I enjoyed reading it. Ginger Garrett drew me into this story and did not let me go until the last page; she made you feel what each character was experiencing. There were time when I felt sad for Jezebel and times were I was angry with her; The Reign humanized these biblical people for me and let me know that there was so much taking place during that biblical era. From reading this I know that we must trust in God and not put our trust in idols, whatever those idols maybe in your life. I received a free copy of this book courtesy of TBCN for my honest review.
GrammyGeek More than 1 year ago
The name Jezebel brings to mind many things such as loose women, painted ladies. But Jezebel could also be described by words such as moody,manipulative and murderous. She would stop at nothing to have what she wanted, including sacrificing her twin sister to the Goddess Asherah. Reign: The Chronicles of Queen Jezebel is the latest historical fiction novel in the Lost Loves of the Bible Series by Ginger Garrett. It shows that a lot of research went into writing this story. The fiction has been woven so neatly into the historical facts that is hard to tell where the facts stop and fiction begins. What a wonderful story Ginger has given us. I am so looking forward to reading the other books in this series. I received a copy of this book through the Book Fun Network in exchange for my honest review.
Mirella More than 1 year ago
Reign is the fictionalized biography of the notorious Jezebel of the Bible. The story opens with Jezebel’s hatred of her twin sister and shoving her to her death in a sacrifice. The story unfolds through the point of view of Jezebel, her husband Prince Ahab, and Obadiah, a palace administrator. What makes this novel unique is the fact that the main heroine is abhorrent to our modern day sensibilities. As queen, she promotes murder and sacrifice, killing infants, rampant prostitution, the drinking of blood, worship of numerous gods, and pure evil. You will not like her, a most unusual predicament for most readers. Yet the story, although slow in places, was compelling and shocking enough to hold my interest. I love a good villain - the more vile, the better. Well written and woven with intriguing historical details, this novel was a very unusual, but interesting read, one that is still haunting me.
PianoLady831 More than 1 year ago
Mesmerizing, gripping, haunting . . . These are just a few adjectives that come to mind when attempting to describe Reign: The Chronicles of Queen Jezebel by Ginger Garrett. Reign presents a captivating portrait of the complex woman who was Israel's infamous queen, told in 1 Kings 16-22. Summary From the moment her marriage to prince Ahab thrusts her into the intrigues of palace life, Jezebel’s exotic beauty opens doors and her will breaks down walls. Torn from her homeland and wed to power in a strange country, Jezebel vows to create a legacy and power all her own. Some might call her a manipulative schemer, bent on having her way. But they don’t know the whole story, and she was much, much worse. As she moves through the halls of power, her heart struggles between devotion to the gods she worships, the prince who loves her, and her thirst for revenge. She sparks a battle between her strangely powerless gods and the God of palace administrator Obadiah—a God who confronts her with surprising might. She will fight, though victory may cost her everything. My thoughts "Jezebel held her sister by the shoulders at the edge of the fire pit. Priests surrounded her, dancing and calling to the goddess, their red robes stirring the dust, raising a filthy veil around them. . . . Jezebel let her sister go." With Jezebel's sacrifice of her twelve-year-old twin sister to the Phoenician goddess Asherah, Ginger begins the story of an evil, abhorrent character and pulled me into a story that I could hardly put down. The story is told through three voices: Jezebel and Ahab, who were united in a political marriage that was beneficial to both Phoenicia and Israel, but forbidden by God - and Obadiah, a Hebrew palace administrator, whose purpose was "to bear witness in evil days, and yet believe that the Lord was good." But they're really just minor characters in a story that is all about Yahweh and Baal. Ginger has done her research well and doesn't shy away from painting a vivid picture of Phoenician Baal worship and it's growing hold on Israel through Jezebel's power and influence. "Who could believe that a prosperous people living in freedom and beauty could murder their infants, could whore their youngest women, could worship demons and drink blood?" One thought kept entering my mind as I read, and that is how much the events recorded in 1 Kings mirror our times. Plurality of gods, tolerance, desensitization to sin, killing of unwanted infants? Just look at some of the characters' words and thoughts: Jezebel: "We call our gods by different names, but do we not all want the same thing?" And mosaics on the temple floor honored all gods, not just Yahweh. In reference to the sacrifice of infants: "What had seemed so unnatural and evil the first time she had witnessed it had become good and right to her over time." Obadiah: "These temples would always stand, somewhere, whenever people preferred pleasure to truth." The story of Elijah and the priests of Baal on Mt. Carmel is told beautifully in this novel. In the words of one of the Hebrew men: "God's love rages as fiercely as His anger, and He will not suffer long one who leads His children into danger. He moves among us and will not long be silent." Ginger is known for creating novels and nonfiction resources that explore the lives of historical women, and I am eager to read more of her work. Reign rises above the biblical fiction genre and I highly recommend it to all readers. Reign is technically the prequel for the novel Dark Hour, the story of Jezebel's notorious daughter, Athaliah, in 2 Chronicles 21-23. To learn more about Ginger and her books, visit gingergarrett.com. This book was provided by David C. Cook through BookFun.org in exchange for my honest review.
NanceeMarchinowski More than 1 year ago
Biblical Fiction "Reign: The Chronicles of Queen Jezebel" is fictional, based on the biblical story of Queen Jezebel and King Ahab, betrothed as a union between two nations. Jezebel was the daughter of King Eth-Baal who reigned in Phoenicia where the practice of worshiping gods and goddesses demanded the sacrifice of infants and children. Ahab was the son of King Omri of Israel, the land of Yahweh, a land of armies. Obadiah is a servant to Ahab, and serves as his administrator. His role in this story is one whose advice to Ahab is unheeded, and he is too timid to command respect. His relationship with the prophet Elijah is valuable, but his lacking strength of character fails him and his allegiance to Ahab. Jezebel, unloved and neglected as a child, became a vicious woman, scorned by all, including her husband. Ahab was not a born leader, and as he ignored Yahweh's warnings Israel suffered great tragedies. Jezebel's wickedness and mean spirit only brought hatred and disrespect. Her beauty was her only attribute. Her hateful spirit positions her husband against her, although he had previously loved her.  This fictional tale of the lives of Jezebel, Ahab and Obadiah is an emotional sojourn. The author researched her biblical history well. There were a few slow passages, but the story was well told and interesting beyond what I expected. I was compelled to get my bible out to read the biblical account of this profound story. For those interested in an enhancement of Jezebel's character and influence, this is an excellent portrayal. Disclaimer: I was given an advanced reader copy of this book by Wynn-Wynn Media for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own and I was given no monetary compensation for this review.
Laura_Pol More than 1 year ago
Reign was nothing I expected and I was very disappointed that I could not get into this book as much as I wanted too! I had been looking forward to this book as soon as I heard about it, but sadly I was unable to finish it. I am unsure how much of Jezebel's story was historically accurate, but it was too dark and morbid for me. I understand that the Phoenician culture did sacrifice infants, but it was too much for me when Jezebel tried to kill her own child because she hated it so much. Once I got to that part it did me in and I will not finish it. I know that women do abort their children, but I do not want to read a novel of a women who hated her body so much and the human growing in her that she would do almost anything to destroy it. The story overall was interesting based on what I had read, but again it was too dark and morbid for me to keep reading with the infant sacrificing. I know there was this kind of sacrificing during this time, but it overwhelmed me and left me too depressed about it for me to read the second half of the book. Some people might truly enjoy the story line and will not be effected by the description of infant sacrificing and temple worshiping through sexual means, but unfortunately I did not. I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Baby killing monster . A devil worshipper that brought demon entities into Yaweh's most beloved land. May she rest in hell.