×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Remember that Nice Lady who Used to Make Homemade Peanut Brittle? She's Dead.
     

Remember that Nice Lady who Used to Make Homemade Peanut Brittle? She's Dead.

3.1 29
by Tom Oatmeal
 
Tom Oatmeal is just a regular guy thinking about things like hair transplants for dogs and hand-to-hand combat with bus drivers. Truly the most average man in the world, his collection of essays reads like the fever dreams of a man both painfully clueless and totally lacking in impulse control. They’re delightfully paranoid, addictively hilarious and charmingly

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Remember that Nice Lady who Used to Make Homemade Peanut Brittle? She's Dead. 3.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Funniest thing I've read all year. This man is a genius!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
~wave
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A little insight to a quirky mind. Funny and a little off the wall of ordinary thinking. I liked it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Definitely worth the chuckles. To all the negative reviews: how boring it would be if everything written happened to be classic novels. Reading should be fun. Don't take it so seriously and just enjoy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hilarous!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
rational-reader More than 1 year ago
Clever and funny, but very dry. I enjoyed this book, but be warned, it's perfectly represented by its title.  You read the title and want to ask, "what happened to her?"  You don't get the answer.  That perfectly represents the stories within: there's something clever and intriguing, but then the stories stop.  I did find it entertaining, well-composed, and funny, but the style is flat and the stories kind of unfinished — you expect a punchline to draw each story together, and it's just not there.  If you're into that style (as I am) then you'll find this book an enjoyable light read with a little bit of depth, too (particularly thinking about the first and last stories bookending the collection).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book doesn't just make you laugh -- it makes you think. These odd, risible little vignettes shine a bright light on the strange white underbelly of the human mind.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What's wrong with quirky? I enjoyed it immensely. Brilliant, Tom!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
These stories read like the puerile, unrefined, incomplete thoughts of a junior high schooler (at best). They lack logical consistency even within their own contexts. And though intended to be, they're simply not funny. Even a good joke should make sense of some kind. Rather than being a brief respite from the workaday world, these stories leave me feeling insulted and annoyed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don't bother with this one. The jokes aren't even funny. It's awful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't even get halfway through the book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didn't get this book of short stories. If the title makes you laugh off your chair then this is for you. I just didn't get them, they seem to have no ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
These stories read like the puerile, unrefined, incomplete thoughts of a junior high schooler (at best). They lack logical consistency even within their own contexts. And though intended to be, they're simply not funny. Even a good joke should make sense of some kind. Rather than being a brief respite from the workaday world, these stories leave me feeling insulted and annoyed.