×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Restaurant Man
     

Restaurant Man

4.1 18
by Joe Bastianich
 

See All Formats & Editions

“The best, funniest, most revealing inside look at the restaurant biz since Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential.” —Jay McInerney

With a new foreword by Mario Batali

Joe Bastianich is unquestionably one of the most successful restaurateurs in America—if not the world. So how did a nice Italian boy from

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Restaurant Man 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
But I did. Mr. Batianich is someone I have seen on "Master Chef" and his PBS show regarding wine. He is clearly very experienced and capable at both restsurant management and wine making. I loved what he had to say about wine, it's purpose and so on. I never thought of it that way. I always had the impression he was a rather cold and soulless person. I used to think there was no way I would want to face off with him across the Master Chef judging table as emerging with any self esteem and dignity wan't likely. After reading this, I understand he is simply focused and passionate. Enjoyed the descriptions, and the language didn't bother me. I have to admire Mr. Bastianich for bring so blunt in looking at himself and reporting on what he sees unflinchingly is unusual and to be admired Got any more?
Madrid3 More than 1 year ago
Exceptional writing and profound intellect. I couldnt put the book down. Great reading on so many levels. gmadrid
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a great book - didn't want to stop reading it! Fascinating look into the restaurant world.
Ne-NeDK More than 1 year ago
Very readable and insightful look into the buisness side of running a successful restaurant. I was suprised because I thought this book would be mostly about recipes and food. Now I want to go eat at one of these places and of course..drink Bastianich wine and shop at Eataly. Learning about Joe's early life with food in his family and life made me understand why he seems like such a hardass on' Master Chef'. I wonder what Joe's opinion of the book "Extra Virginity" by Tom Mueller would be?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very inspiring
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
* nods and leaves*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She smiled. "Your welcome." She sat up. "Ready to go?" She got up and headed out. Gtgtb goodnight.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
May i take your order anyone
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ask the waitress " what do you know about bacon?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ewwwwwww....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found the book to be interesting, but it is mostly for would-be restauranteurs, not the layman. There were lots of tid-bits regarding how Bastianich looks at the operation of fine restaurants, but not enough to be a "must read". Also, even though he explained why to Matt Lauer on the Today Show, I felt the over-use of four to twelve-letter words to be unnecessary and somewhat a turn-off.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kk, kk
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Entrees-- Ravioli and Meatballs, Srimp Scampi, Oysters, Pasta, Mac + Cheese, Chicken Parm, Hot Dogs, Hamburgers, Chicken Tenders. The Menu is growing. I am open to suggestions. Appatizers-- Clams Casino, Brugetta, Bread and Dip, Potato Salad, Bacon Salad. Desserts-- Any Ice Cream Flavor, And Amount, Any Toppings. Brownies, Cupcakes. Drinks-- Wine, Beer, Mead, Ale, Any Fountain Soda, Coffee, Tea.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can i have job. Please please please
AvidFoodieReader More than 1 year ago
Did you ever see someone, and couldn't figure out if you were going to like them or not, until they opened their big, vulgar mouth and you realized they were a complete slob? I cannot believe this person came from a woman who is such a kind, loving person. His language is disgusting and his lack of confidence is apparent, as he cuts down everyone else. So glad B&N has an excellent return policy!