×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ring
     

Ring

4.7 23
by Koji Suzuki, Glynne Walley (Translator)
 

One night in Tokyo, four healthy teenagers die one after another of heart failure. A journalist, the uncle of one of the victims and intrigued by the coincidence, investigates and learns of a videotape that the four watched together a week before dying. Amid a series of bizarre and frightening images is a warning that the viewer will die in exactly one week unless

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ring 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
GREAT book. it is the second best book I have ever read. Much better than movies because it explains a lot more.
R_MARTINEZ More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK IS A FAST PACED HORROR/THRILLER FROM BEGINNING TO END. IT IS A LOT BETTER THAN WATCHING THE AMERICAN VERSION OF THE RING. I COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN AT ALL! IT IS A QUICK READ WITH ALOT OF SUSPENSE AND WILL KEEP THE READER AT THE EDGE OF THEIR SEATS!! =]]
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book after seeing Ringu and The Ring. I think the book is 100 times better than both movies. It explains a lot more and makes you feel like you are in the story and not watching something.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this was one of the best books i ever read this is a classic i first read the book in japanese then saw the movie it was spooky but in english it was great
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is great so far i have read to part 3.I think the book is way way better than the movie!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I seen and read the ring. I thought it was the greatest book and movie.Other people I know hated it but everyone I showed it to loved it.I hope you did to!
Guest More than 1 year ago
'Ring' is basically this: four people die at the exact same time and some reporter dude named Asakawa uncovers a video tape that the four watched. Then the tape tells him that he will die in a week unless a charm is carried out. Now, he has seven days to research the history of this video tape and figure out what he has to do to survive. One thing that intrigued me about this book was the way things came together. (Much like the movie.) It had a very strange ending that definetely makes me want to read the next one. However, all of the hard-to-pronounce names threw me off. It's still a good book, but it confused me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm really enjoying this book. I watched the original a couple of years before the American version was released. I had to put the book down on purpose. I bought it and finished half of the book the first day I had it. I didn't want to finish it after only a few days. If you are a fan of the movie, I suggest you find a Japanese film called 'Ju-On: The Grudge'. It's creepier than the Ring and will be re-made with Buffy herself, Sarah Michellle Gellar.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found the book to be far better than the movie. The movie wasn't one of the worst to come out around that time, but I never really cared for it. I finally got around to reading the book, finished maybe 20 minutes ago. I thought it was fantastic. It had so much more detail than the movie. Made more sense. Not to mention had a better plot. Made it seem richer. I highly recommend this book. I hope they translate the rest of the trilogy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
So, you've seen RIngu or the Ring and wanna read the book? Fine go ahead, but SEE THE MOVIE FIRST.When you see the movie, youre wondering 'whats that?' and when you read the book you say 'Oh, cool!' This book is 1st in a seires featuring 'Loop' and 'Spiral'. WHEN ARE THEY COMING TO AMERICA? I NEED TO KNOW! But this book is a good horror book, mystrery, suspense and triller. If youre reading this read the book If you have read this you must complete the following if you want to live....
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ring is one of the most intertaning and scary books I have ever read. I really do wish they would bring out all the rest in the series, there are like four i think. If im wrong ohh well. This is the only truly scary book I have read and if you say other wise your lying...
Guest More than 1 year ago
My kids rented the movie and I was intregued. I just had to get the book, because there are usually more details to be had by reading. The book has a different twist on the story line, which I found better than the movie. I would love to read some more of Suzuki's work; just wish I could read Japanese, as waiting for English translation may be a long time coming.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I haven¿t seen the movie Ringu 0: Birthday and I don¿t know if it explains how the girl is born and what made her evil. Plus it's suppose to be in Japanese, or something? But, I think they should make an ¿English¿ movie about how the man and wife wanted to have a babe, and include were they went to do it, and what ever it was they did to make the birth possible. Then make it lead up to the beginning of The Ring ¿English¿ version. After I saw the movie The Ring ¿English¿ version, I thought to myself, well that was intrusting but ¿I wanted to know the story behind the story¿. I guess people probably couldn¿t envision any more detail then what the movie provided. As an average movie watcher I'd like to see more of how the story came to be, as well as the horror involved. So, if someone would give a little insight of what the Ringu 0: Birthday movie is about I would greatly appreciated. E-mail me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
wow. i don't read much but this book sucked me in from the start. i saw the movie so i expected this and that to happen but it was completely different! i reallly enjoyed this book. i may even read it again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I liked this book, it's readable, fairly fast-paced and its structure is interesting with regard to the different story-telling styles of East and West. Just one criticism of most of the reviews here though... PLEASE stop talking about THE Ring. It is simply a stateside, typically unimaginative, remake of a genuine classic - Hideo Nakata's 'Ring'. No doubt about it - the Japanese are making the best thrillers at the moment while the West reflects envious echoes. Bottom line, if you haven't got the concentration to watch a film with subtitles, you've no business having an opinion. So there.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After seeing the American movie The Ring I was interested to know more about the video tape so I decided to buy the book Ring when it was released here in the states. The book was excellent but since it's a trilogy I think they need to release Spiral and Loop in an English version. How else will I be able to find out what happens??
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was so good! I read this before seeing the movie and I loved the book more. I totally recommend this book to anyone who would like to read something scary for a change. I have read this book over and over and I still love it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Though similar to the 'The Ring' movie (American Version--based on this novel), this novel has a different spin and answers many of the questions left unanswered in 'The Ring' movie--such as details on how the TAPE was made. This novel (a fast read) was very entertaining and left me with wanting more of the same. The sequels (Spiral, Loop, and Birthday) aren't available in English to date. I have contacted Vertical Publishing, and representives advised that they have 'options' to make these novels available in the future but no plans are 'etched in stone.' They went on to say that if plans are finalized, then each book (unknown on Birthday) will be available starting with Spiral next year and Loop in 2005. It's a long time to wait but may be worth it. I don't believe that fans of 'The Ring' movie realize that this book is even available. I just happened to see the book's title in the closing movie credits, so spread the word.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was expecting so much, after seeing the movie I could not wait to read the book. Surprisingly I found the movie to be much better than the book. Don't get me wrong the book is good, but it took me 2 weeks to read it, and I usually read 2 books a week.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ring, as wonderful as it is, is just the first of a series of four. The next book is entitled Spiral, followed by Loop and then Birthday. Birthday explains everything that occurs throughout the series. I read all four in Japanese and just hope those following Ring will be translated to English so all can enjoy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best thrillers I have ever read...Kept me going from start to finish...I have never slept well since. 'A MUST FOR ALL IN FAVOR OF A GREAT MYSTERY'
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is not a review as I have not even read the book but was wondering if anybody knew if it could be purchased in English as well as Japanese.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best foreign horror novellas I've ever read in my life. This surpasses anything Suzuki has ever written before and more. This terrifying rendition of a 'could be' urban legend of a mysterious videotape whose only motive is to destroy the very person who watches it. Wonderfully written...you know what is going to happen...but then do you? This is a seriously recommended and acclaimed novel that has won many of the Eastern Hemisphere's hearts. Both spine-tingling and brain-wracking, this book is for all those people in the world...who can read. Check this out, I'm positive you'll be impressed...so good its scary...