×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Rising Sun
     

Rising Sun

4.2 52
by Michael Crichton
 

See All Formats & Editions

During the grand opening celebration of the new American headquarters of an immense Japanese conglomerate, the dead body of a beautiful woman is found. The investigation begins, and immediately becomes a headlong chase through a twisting maze of industrial intrigue and a violent business battle that takes no prisoners.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Rising Sun 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 52 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Crichton is an amazing author who writes amazing technothrillers like this. Not suprised by how great it is.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a very good book with twists and turns to keep you reading until the very last page
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the first book I have read by crichton and it was amazing. Read it back in high school and when I was done I felt like the main character was someone I could actually know and have a conversation with. Loved it. Highly recommend to anyone interested in crichton.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book reflects Crighton's ability to research issues and place them in a believable and entertaining story. It's a bit obvious at points that he is preaching on an issue of American culture: how we are losing our country's business to Japan. It raises the brow, making the reader take a philisophical view on how our country chooses to strive. I recommend this book those who likes an intelligent, insightful read, as well as anyone who enjoys a clever suspense.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book has so many twists and turns. I wouldn't pick it up unless you plan on staying up all night at the edge of your bed! I'd tell anyone to read this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Rising Sun is good. It could have been a lot better if Crichton had not written so many economic business plans. In parts, he almost turns paragraphs into essays detailing how the Japanese are better at business than America. The mystery plot is well done and complex, but at times takes a backseat to Crichton's explanations of why the Japanese were destroying us economically when the book was written. Michael Crichton has far better books than Rising Sun. The book's only saving grace (and it is a big one) is the complex and well written mystery. Crichton's skill at writing such things shines through, but the both anti and pro Japanese business explanations marrs it badly. In conclusion? He's got far better books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the part where Peter was trying to study Japanese.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TheShort1 More than 1 year ago
I read this several years ago, finding it moderately interesting. For me it was a look inside modern Japanese culture. It was a bit too political for me. I've found many of Crichton's books to be very exciting, but this wasn't one of them. B&N asked for a review because I bought it as a gift for my son, who loves Japan, and will be going back there in summer. If you want to read an exciting Crichton book, read "Prey"!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I cannot rate the books because they were a gift to my daughter, Karen, who lives in California. They were on her wish list at Amazon.com for a few years, so I figured I better get them for her as she is always too busy to buy it for herself.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago