×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

River Secrets
     

River Secrets

4.5 126
by Shannon Hale
 

See All Formats & Editions

Razo has always thought of himself as pretty much useless-too short, too weak, too slow-only good for catching with his sling the odd squirrel for his mother's cookpot. But when he is asked to join the king's soldiers on a peacekeeping mission and the peace they are sent to protect is being sabotaged, Razo finds that his squirrel-killing talents come in handy, and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

River Secrets 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 126 reviews.
Reads_a_lot More than 1 year ago
I LOVED River Secrets. Make sure, though, that you read The Goose Girl and Enna Burning first. The Books of Bayern are fantastic, and I cannot wait for Forest Born! If you loved the others, you'll love this one. Razo is SUCH a great character!
mostest_pug_lover More than 1 year ago
I love the characters in this book!!! Razo is so sweet. I wish I could meet him. The story itself can get a bit slow, but the characters and the conflict are really different from other stuff I've read. I personally don't think the picture of Razo on the cover does the character any justice, but it doesn't matter. I can't wait for Forest Born!!!!! :D
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is by far one of my favorites! I love Razo and Finn! You just have to read the book for yourself and see how it is. Truly it is an amazing book and I find myself wanting to read it again and again. Be sure to read Goose Girl first then Enna Burning if you want to know how the beginning started.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I would give the book River Secrets, by Shannon Hale, 5 stars. River Secrets deserves five stars because it is full of magic, mystery, wonder and power. River Secrets keeps you turning the page. You can't put it down. Shannon Hale's creative writing ability is notable and obvious in River Secrets. For example, Shannon Hale writes 'Razo felt the energy like a muscle twitch'. River Secrets is filled with metaphors and similes to help paint the scene or describe a character. An example is '¿ Dasha held up her hands and laughed, as pleased as a fish in a stream.' Shannon Hale's writing is beautiful, lyrical, and descriptive. She can paint an entire landscape, a people, or a culture in a few sentences. I felt like I was right there with Razo as he ran down the streets of Tira, or when Dasha and Razo went to the ocean. My favorite aspect of the book is that it is a perfect fairy tale without being too far fetched, magical and unbelievable. There is just a sprinkle of fantasy and magic mixed in with mystery, secrets and suspense. I recommend the other two books written by Shannon Hale in the Bayern trilogy, Goose Girl, and Enna Burning. I am an eighth grader who loves to read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
River Secrets is such a great book i cant wait to see what happens next!! I could not put this book down i loved it. Shannon Hale is my favorite author.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was really well written and again, Shannon Hale has proved to be a master of storytelling. I highly recommended its companions, The Goose Girl and Enna Burning. If you love Shannon's books, make sure you check out her website!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this series! the first 2 books were so good and so is this one! shannon hale is such a good author! you have to read this series!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Such a great story line. i was wondering when waterspeaking was gonna come in...well i dont wanna spoil it so i wont say anymore but WOW great story!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Shannon Hale is one of the best authors alive today. I'm expecting another Newberry Honor, or maybe a medal, out of this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I adore this women for all the great charcters she has displaid to the world of YA. I think that she should defenatly make a movie out of these because these books are so wonderful that i would pay money to watch them be so incredibly awesome just like this :D this is defenatly one of her many master peices. If she is making any other books to his one, i really want to be one of the first people to read it - love marianna lucero <3
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One word, amazing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like a good romance this is a must have
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVE this book. My favorite one out of the Heather Dixon book is Ennas Burning. But all of them are great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
People before u write a reveiw read the book!!!!
Sierra Michelle Simmons More than 1 year ago
I believe this is the second best book of the seres. it is tthe only one that centers itself around a guy. the plot moves along nicely, and you find things in places where you least expect. this book kept my attention the entire time. i could not put it down. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My favorite was the first, but this one had a good plot, was well written, just not enough romance!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is it a good book for a 12 year old?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fan club res 1! Be there to share opinions!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like tha certain story that grabs you with a little romance and a mystery to solve at the end of every section, then this is the book and author for you. Shannon hale is the best author for your children ages from eight to teens. It really depends on what your child's knowledge level is on the world itself. Her bokks are always great.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So I will! Hameh
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
POST WHAT YOU THINK OF SHANNON HALE ON ENA BURNING I WILL PUT THE RESULTS ON FEBRUARY 28 AND RESPOD TO a lover of shannon hale AND NOOOO BAD LANGUGE OR IT WONT COUNT!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing! Probably like the bedlst book in the series. It combines fantady with romance and suspense!!