×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Road Less Traveled
     

The Road Less Traveled

4.4 34
by M. Scott Peck
 

See All Formats & Editions

Perhaps no book in this generation has had a more profound impact on our intellectual and spiritual lives than The Road Less Traveled. With sales of more than 7 million copies in the United States and Canada, and translation into more than 23 languages, it has made publishing history, with more than 10 years on The New York Times bestseller list.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Road Less Traveled 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The ideas presented in this book were derived from Dr. Peck's clinical work with patients. As a psychiatrist, he believes psychotherapy provides guidance in the process of mental and spiritual growth. I found some of his ideas to be truth in it's purest form and then I was very 'disturbed' by some statements which I felt would just be immoral. I liked the idea of life being a series of challenges which evoke various feelings. I felt that perhaps a challenge could also evoke good feelings, but Dr. Peck focused on frustration, grief, sadness, loneliness, guilt, regret, anger, fear, anxiety, anguish and despair. He says that people tend to avoid problems to avoid emotional suffering. He believes this is the primary basis of all human mental illness. He says that 'discipline' is the tool you need to solve life's problems. These tools include delaying gratification, acceptance of responsibility, dedication to truth and balancing. His basic theory is that love is the motivation and energy behind the discipline. With all that I could agree. Just as I turned the 174th page, I was surprised to find a statement which I am wondering if any of the other reviewers read? I read a statement on page 175 which made me lose all the respect I had built up for Dr. Peck. He didn't just go overboard, the ship sank! This is the sentence: 'Moreover, were I ever to have a case in which I concluded after careful and judicious consideration that my patient's spiritual growth would be substantially furthered by our having sexual relations, I would proceed to have them. ' - page 175 Shocked? I sure was! This seriously makes me think that women should only see a female psychologist and men should only see a male psychologist. And on that page, I closed the book! To me, that is taking advantage of a patient and it is inexcusable! While he claims never to have done this, I was still shocked that he would even put that in his book. So, if you choose to buy this book, I loved it up to page 174...after that, I felt very uncomfortable and simply decided not to read any further. I wish I could be more positive about this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think this is a book a lot of people could benifit from. It is a very easy to read book, very informative, and very inspiring. If you like psychology, or you are just looking to understand your own life, this book will help! It is a wonderful book, and I am happy to say that it is one of the best that I have ever read!
ObjectiveReviewer More than 1 year ago
Most people equate love only to emotions. This book provides another dimension of love that is often ignored - that love is volitional.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book when I was 17 living with two alcoholic, abusive parents and did not I guess realize what I had my hands on. Recently over 30 years later I read it again and found it to be a wonderful gift to myself reading this book. I would recommend it to everyone but especially to those who are having difficulty dealing with life from the past or present. It is simply inspiring...not really simply but inspiring the same.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book helped me through a difficult time in my life and kept me on the right track when I was likely to step-off. Since that time, I frequently visit the 'Discipline' and 'Love' sections (my favorite parts). He does not beat-around-the-bush. He gets right to the point with his first three words: life is difficult. Before I found Peck I thought life was supposed to be easy and problems were to be avoided at all costs. Now I think quite differently. Life is essentially a set of problems that must be confronted. Since my initial read eight years ago, I have gone back several times when I am faced with critical and difficult times. Not only is it extremely useful, it is also quite entertaining and well written.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When The Road Less Traveled was first published, and Scott Peck was making endless personal appearances--before the books was well known, I was corresponding with him.

This is a seminal work, of immense value, written by a truly sensitive man who has the background, the education, the experience and the insight into the human condition to do his subject justice.

He is well-respected by his peers, as well. I knew a psychiatrist who worked with him in Washington, D.C. Walter (his first name) was impressed with Scott long before he wrote of his experiences, and the conclusions he drew from them.

In our correspondence, I recognized a thread, and told Scott that he was a mystic. He answered that he had studied Zen, but that he was a 'Christian mystic.'

I recommend this book, and its author. You should read it.

Anonymous 22 days ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He knocks on the door.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lays in his bed grounded
ElizabethAB More than 1 year ago
The Road Less Traveled is my all-time favorite book. It gave me a new perspective on faith and encouraged me to continue my study of psychology. Ann Brown
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is truly one of greatest books ever written. This should be required reading in universities, high schools, etc. the world over. This book can take its reader to a level of maturity with the ability to love others and himself that he never thought possible. Scott Peck has given the world a true gift.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book has changed every single aspect of my life. It not only helped me to understand myself, but also helped me to understand everyone around me. This book is a must read for life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A great book. As a 26 yr old, I especially find the section on love valuable. The author emphasizes the importance of parenting, and gives fresh insights to love and religion. Most important of all, the author encourages his readers to actively solve many life¿s problems, and to view life¿s problems as opportunities to grow mentally and spiritually.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is not just a self-help book; it is primarily the author's spiritual philosophy. M. Scott Peck, a psychiatrist, wrote this book in 1978, and it's as fresh today as it was then. The format is such that the book can be used as a reference. It is filled with stories of Peck's personal struggles and case studies from his practice, all of which serve to clarify points and to help readers overcome problems. Peck, however, has provided us with the best merger of psychology and spirituality I have ever read. He makes it clear that mental health and spiritual growth are the same thing, which is unusual considering most in his field try to condemn anything related to God. As for style and content, Peck is obviously building towards the fourth and last section titled 'Grace.' The first three sections are written in a simplistic yet thorough manner so that Peck can reach a wide audience and to ensure that all readers are on the same page. He talks about discipline, love, religion, and the tunnel vision of the scientific community. The concepts developed in these sections prepare the layman for the section on grace, which by itself is worth the price of the book. It is also where Peck gets a bit controversial. Notwithstanding, you have to admire Peck's honesty and forthrightness. He has produced a special book that should be required reading for every teenager and anyone else looking for a better understanding of life and how to live it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book single-handed brought me back from years of skepticism about the role of Christianity in my life. Peck writes with such clarity on love, discipline and responsibility and does a masterful job in attempting to help us make peace with God and religion. The book is not religious in nature, but spiritual and just a tad 'new age'. As a Christian counselor, I give this book to all I counsel. The Road Less Traveled will give you a new and more spiritual perspective and is practical enough to bring about real change. Highly recommended.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Awesome. Anyone who wants to know how to grow spiritually, how to love and live a better life should read this book. If the chapters on love, discipline and responsibility were read and practiced by everyone, this would be a wonderful world. As a Christian counselor, I give this book my highest recommendation.