×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Roadside Crosses: A Kathryn Dance Novel
     

Roadside Crosses: A Kathryn Dance Novel

3.7 100
by Jeffery Deaver
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Astonishing" (New York Times Book Review) suspense master Jeffery Deaver brings back investigative agent Kathryn Dance (The Sleeping Doll) in a timely and chilling bestseller.

Roadside crosses are appearing along the highways of the Monterey Peninsula, not as memorials to past accidents but as markers for fatalities yet to come . . . and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Roadside Crosses (Kathryn Dance Series #2) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 99 reviews.
murphyMT More than 1 year ago
I am having a hard time getting through this book. Usually I look forward to the evening when I can sit and read but I haven't been looking forward to finishing this book. Too much about the blogs, and the kinesic information. I will finish it and am counting down the pages to til the end. Sixty pages to go... ugh...Hope the ending is worth it. It also feels like Michael O'Neill doesn't want to be in the book either. Was hoping to see more of him.
Imrahil More than 1 year ago
Roadside Crosses was my introduction to Jeffrey Deaver and sadly, I have confess this book was barely readable. I have to agree with another reviewer that character development was rather minimal and I found it odd that all the story characters spoke in clipped,fragmented sentences. It was irritating and almost considered quitting this story. The only thing that stopped me was that I bought this book. Some men might speak fragmentedly, but I find it difficult to believe that women, even law enforcement career women like Kathryn Dance speak this way as a general rule. Everyone has their own unique speech & vocabulary patterns when they communicate, but everyone in this story spoke in the same fragmented manner. Implausible! Then there was the endless streams of blogs I had to sift through & other techie information which was very monotonous. Ennui quickly set in after awhile, living inside the head of Kathryn Dance throughout most of this book. There was much too much display of kinesics and processing in this story for me. Kathryn Dance read everyone,kids, friends, co-workers, suspects, witnesses, the dog.....on a 24/7 basis. It made me think Dance is a control freak and way too sensitive about what others think and what their body expressions might convey. Her professional analysis of body reading can assist in investigations, but is insubstantive and an inadequate basis as a primary tool for crime solving. It's a good tool as an aid....but just an aid. I found it hard to believe that a good law enforcement agent can conduct a thorough and factually based investigation solely based on kinesics. Furthermore, I wasn't convinced that Dance could effectively control people on a consistent basis by giving hard looks & or growling commands. Once Dance barked, people backed off. Really? Men,in particular, often challenge the authority of women, yet not one gave her a serious challenge. I guess Dance was talented that way. Ha! I really had a difficult time getting through this book. Most of the story was dialog so I presume that the author is hoping for Hollywood to buy the screenplay & movie rights for this story. The author did not appear to "paint" the scenes and just plainly told the reader how things were instead of using the device of powerful or subtle scene descriptions to lead the reader down the path of imagination. It appeared to me, this author wrote this story in a hurried manner to meet a deadline. Sorry to say, it but this is one of the worst novels I've ever read. Interesting storyline & plot twist but extremely disappointly poor in execution. Here's my two thumbs down on this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I listened to the Roadside Crosses audiobook. It was enjoyable, but simple. Although the idea of confusing the online world with reality is fairly fresh, the book didn't go into much depth on this topic. The Roadside Crosses audiobook came with a free book by Deavers called "The Blue Nowhere". This book was absolutely outstanding. The plot was thrilling, the lead character extremely likeable and the technology was thoroughly described. I felt that I really learned about the world of computer hacking in-depth. This book was enjoyable and provocative. I felt like Roadside Crosses was written for a leisure audience, while The Blue Nowhere was written for a more serious reader that wants to learn about a new, scary technology. I read many books, and I felt that the Blue Nowhere was really refreshing because it did not assume that the reader simply wants a cheap thrill. The book was clearly thoroughly researched and I was pleased to finally read a mystery novel that was complicated and intellectually engaging.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read all of Deaver's books but this one spent too much time on the family and coworker's side stories. I had hoped for more focus on the title story and felt that more time should have been spend developing that.
LisaDunckley 3 months ago
Jeffrey Deaver always brings it with a good story, but while this is a decently good read, it's not one of his best. Kathryn Dance is the kinesics, or “body language” expert for the California Bureau of Investigation. She can “read” people and tell if they are lying, AND what kind of liar they are. She uses this in her investigations and especially interrogations. The case to which she's just been assigned is a serial killer who is leaving crosses at the roadsides, with the date of the death—BEFORE he kills them. The clues lead Kathryn and her team to Travis Brigham, a teen obsessed with online role-playing games. Travis was involved in a car accident where two girls died. Although he was not cited for a criminal act (no drinking involved, appeared to have simply lost control of the vehicle), the community is against him and baying for blood. A popular local blog calls for more investigation into the incident, especially for officials to look into road safety in that area—and it turns into a no-holds-barred attack on Travis from multiple posters. Everyone has heard rumors that they KNOW are true: Travis is a Satanist, he stalks women, he's crazy. When Travis disappears and the killings and attempted killings ramp up, Kathryn knows she must find him before it's too late. But how do you find someone who has spent 8 hours a day online, studying fighting and survival and advanced evasion techniques? One of the reasons that this book is not quite as good as most of Deaver's work is not really the book's fault—it has a lot of information about blogs and online gaming and like any fiction book that has the internet as part of the plot, it is VERY dated. When one character carefully explains to Kathryn what blogs are, how they were invented, their history, etc, it completely ruins the building tension of the storyline because it's sooo not necessary to explain that to anyone in the world reading this book. “Oh my gosh, a “blog” you say? Short for “weblog”? And people write stuff and post it online? And anyone can read it? How crazy and innovative!” Lol. There was information about how there was a huge war going on between computer blog purists who thought all blogs should be about computers, and the other bloggers, who thought blogs should be about anything you want. Also the blogger in this story was considered incredibly influential because he posted his opinion on things like highway safety, new construction projects, etc. And he refused to take it down even though the people commenting were being killed. This all was hard to believe. Sort of a plot hole that if his motivation was that his egotistical thoughts were sooo important that his message must go out—why not just close the posts to comments? Problem solved! Pretty sure that all blog software that lets people post comments also has the option of NOT letting them. The last part that was sort of hard to believe was that all the teenagers would be reading his blog and commenting on it. Yes, because teens love nothing more than posting on adults' blogs about new construction and stuff. When I'm reading a book, I want to believe what's happening, it needs to be believable while I'm reading the book. I want to be lost in the story. So it's annoying when something comes along that throws me out of the story, and that happens a lot in this book because of the outdated technology. The other problem I had with the book was that Deaver tried to cram too much in
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a pathetic, boring book which I finally gave up reading. 90% filler and a job to read. This guy makes you endure an entire chapter about nothing more than dinner at the main characters house and endless page after page after page of stupid "blogs" which make up the ( and I use this term loosely)....story. Worst boredom I have endured since Moby Dick. Finally gave up on it halfway through and opened Lee Childs, Gone Tomorrow which was like opening a big box of chocolates. This guy can write and in living color. I'm all better now. Gave this book one star because it was required before submitting the review. Deserves negative stars. What a waste of time and money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A 13 year old boy looks around. He has turcoise eyes and dirty blonde hair. I wonder which god is my dad...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i could not put this book down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
carriemurcier More than 1 year ago
An excellent read, I highly recommend this book!