×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Robert Ludlum's The Arctic Event (Covert-One Series #7)
     

Robert Ludlum's The Arctic Event (Covert-One Series #7)

3.5 48
by Robert Ludlum, James H. Cobb
 

See All Formats & Editions

On a remote island in the Canadian Arctic, researchers discover the wreckage of a mysterious World War II-era aircraft, a discovery that forces the Russian Federation into a shocking admission. The unmarked plane is a Soviet strategic bomber that disappeared with its crew more than fifty years ago while carrying two metric tons of weaponized anthrax.

Desperate to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Robert Ludlum's The Arctic Event (Covert-One Series #7) 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 48 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was very excited when I discovered a new Covert One book was on the market, but after reading The Artic Event, I was left not only disappointed, but disgusted. It is apparent that this so called author, James H. Cobb, had never bother to read any of the previous novels prior to writing his jibberish. It is appauling to me that someone had the audacity to let this book be published with Robert Ludlum's name on it. Not only did he change the intergerity of the charcters, but their dynamics with each other. I cannot put into words how upset to have this so called author trash what has taken six pervious novels to build. The plot was slow and predictable. The action-lame, dull. This book ranked lower than a dime store novel. I hope that in the future,Covert One, to go back to the spirit it was intended, and ensure that this is Mr. Cobbs last attempt at the series. Please bring back Gayle Lynds, Patrick Larkin, and Philip Shelby, and make Robert Ludlum proud
mysterybuff47 More than 1 year ago
While I've moved away from the techno-thrillers in recent years, I got this as a gift and actually read it because of the links to WWII. It was better than I expected, and I enjoyed reading it. Because of the great descriptions of Arctic weather, it makes a great read on hot summer nights.
lost_in_a_book More than 1 year ago
Readers of the Covert One Series will most likely be disappointed in this book as the well developed characters of the series are not true to themselves in this title. It will be interesting to see if the characters return to their, "normal selves" or if they will continue to go through personality changes in the up and coming novel. Now I must say the book is not as bad as some make it out to be. New characters are thoroughly introduced and the story line is believable enough. The best part of this book is that I found myself on the edge of my seat several times eagerly anticipating what was going to happen. All in all, not a bad book just a little skewed in the returning character department. One last point this title takes a little while to get in to.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book has a slow beginning but once you get into it, it really holds your attention.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read about our or five of the Covert One series novels so I will admit that I have not read them all, but I think I have a good feel for what Ludlum wants with his characters, and having a new author rape Randi Russel is not it. I was very disapointed that Cobb felt the need to to 'spice up' a successful franchise. If you like the characters of this series, I cannot recomend this title.
harstan More than 1 year ago
The photograph taken on remote Wednesday Island in the Canadian Arctic was a simple innocent display of the harshness of the wintry environs. However, incidentally the photo includes the wreckage of a WW II Russian bomber plane that shakes up the leaders of Russia and consequently the western governments. The Russians believe the lost plane that vanished five decades ago contained weapon-graded anthrax. No one knows what weathering will have done to the plane or the sealed cargo. Covert One, consisting of the best operatives from several nations, is sent in to learn the status. US Army physician Lieutenant Colonel Jon Smith, CIA Agent Randi Russell and Russian history professor Valentina (Val) Metrace are the agents assigned to investigate. Also the Russians add Major Gregori Smyslov to the team with a special agenda that if a certain secret deadlier than anthrax is uncovered, he is to kill the Covert One team. No one on this sanctioned squad is aware that notorious armed dealers have sent cold blooded mercenaries to Wednesday Island to pick up the anthrax for resale value. --- This is an exciting tribute to Robert Ludlum¿s Covert One team as THE ARCTIC EVENTS is an entertaining exciting thriller. The Covert Team dies not trust the newest Russian assigned to them and has doubts about the loyalty of the professor the Russians feels the same way about the Americans as they wonder what the Yanks will do with the cargo if found in containers that are movable. Although the arms dealing mercenaries add suspense, they seem more like intruders to a tense situation between teammates distrusting one another made tauter by adverse brutal weather and the other weapon. --- Harriet Klausner
johnwillie More than 1 year ago
Very supenseful
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
42Jo More than 1 year ago
in character for the series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cameraflyer More than 1 year ago
I liked the concept. There are not any slowdowns in the book Jon Smiths character is still fresh. It is a series I will follow as long as it keeps going Over all an action thriller that makes it hard to go to sleep if you happen to start it at night.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago