×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Romancing Miss Bronte
     

Romancing Miss Bronte

4.4 13
by Juliet Gael
 
In this astonishing novel, a brilliant mélange of fact and fiction, Juliet Gael skillfully and stylishly captures the passions, hopes, dreams, and sorrows of literature’s most famous sisters—and imagines how love dramatically and most unexpectedly found Charlotte Brontë.

During the two years that she studied in Brussels, Charlotte had a taste

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Romancing Miss Bronte 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. Very clever and well written.
V_LynnTX More than 1 year ago
I originally picked this book up from the library to read, and I enjoyed it so much that I bought a copy of it for myself.
goldieloxj95 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book! I gladly recommend it and will be adding it to my favorites list... Very sweet bok! Enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TheCrowdedLeaf More than 1 year ago
Romancing Miss Brontë will make you want to read anything and everything by the Brontë sisters. Following the life of Charlotte and her siblings from the times before they were published, through tragedy and heartbreak, to the last stages of Charlotte's life, Juliet Gael's debut novel is informative, alluring, romantic, and insightful. Crafted from fact, it is a visionary work, reminiscent of the Brontë's writing itself. Pulling themes from the Brontë's books, and molding them into realistic portraits of Charlotte, Emily, and Anne, the reader can't help but fall in love with these women, and feel sadness for all their tragedies. Gael's chosen to begin her story with Charlotte, Emily, and Anne in Haworth, England. Living with their aging father and broken brother, the women turn to writing to escape. First starting with poetry, they eventually succumb to the desires of publishing novels. Met at times with harsh criticism followed by raving success, the women handle their reviews, and their lives, in three very different ways. Emily, reclusive yet wildly abandoned; Anne, prim and proper; and Charlotte, heartbroken but determined. We start out with the whole family, and close in on Charlotte when tragedy falls. We follow her to England and back, landing finally in Haworth where she must decide her fate, and her future, and where her desires and dreams should lie. Gael has written an artful imagination of the Brontë household. We feel for this family, and their circumstances. I was completely entranced by Gael's narrative as the sisters worked on their individual novels. Having only read Jane Eyre, it made me desperately want to read everything else by the Brontës. Not one page of this book bored me, I was completely fascinated by the lives on the page in front of me. The book's description focuses on Charlotte's love life and the man who falls for her, her father's curate, Arthur. And Arthur and Charlotte's story does play an integral part of the narrative, but it's not until the last half of the book, and it's not the whole story. Romancing Miss Brontë is about more than just Charlotte and Arthur, it's about Emily and Anne as well, and even their brother Branwell and father Patrick. It's a beautiful story, and a heartbreaking one. Well-written, well-executed, it is a splendid read, full of vigor and life and beautiful words. 4 stars (I received this book from the publisher for review)
harstan More than 1 year ago
With the death of his wife, the Haworth, Yorkshire Vicar Bronte cannot deal with all his children. In 1824 the widower sends his four oldest daughters (Maria, Elizabeth, Charlotte and Emily) to a charity boarding school; he kept behind his son Branwell to tutor and youngest daughter Anne. At the school the sisters were abused until Maria and Elizabeth caught consumption and were sent home to die. Bronte brought home his other daughters immediately. Charlotte and Emily went to Brussels to study; while there Charlotte falls in love with her married professor before returning back to Yorkshire. The three sisters begin to write under pseudonyms (Currer, Ellis and Acton Bell) to pay the bills of the two males in the family. Wuthering Heights, Agnes Grey, and Jane Eyre are highly popular. However within a year of writing success, Charlotte's three siblings die from consumption leaving her alone to deal with their despondent father. While his curate Arthur falls in love with her, the thirtyish spinster becomes the toast of the Ton as she has been identified as the author of Jane Eyre, but love eludes her in London where she falls for her publisher George Smith until she realizes that and her attraction to the professor were youthful infatuations; she begins to turn to Arthur who begins Romancing Miss Bronte. Obviously targeting fans of the Bronte sisters, this is an interesting biographical fiction tale. The Bronte family comes across as individuals with some interesting connections to the novels they wrote; for instance the professor is the role model for Rochester and Charlotte's discomfort with fame becomes the basis of the novel Shirley and The Professor published after her death. Sub-genre readers will enjoy the tragic lives of the Bronte siblings that takes the readers beyond the myth of a brood doomed to romantic misfortune. Harriet Klausner
inbloom More than 1 year ago
I hope I can do justice to "Romancing Miss Bronte" when I describe why this is one of the best books I've ever read, certainly the best historical fiction novel I've ever had the pleasure to read. Let me begin by saying that even before hearing about this novel, I have always wanted to read a realistic book about Charlotte Bronte's life. That's because I always considered it such a tragedy that almost all the people she was close to died so early, and she herself marrying someone that (as I got the impression from reading the bios) she didn't truly and passionately love. And dying during her pregnancy at that. What a sad way to go. I wished that there was an author out there who would be able to capture Charlotte's life all the way to that conclusion honestly and sympathetically, at the least, with maybe some extra insight into the life of an author I only knew a little bit about. I really wanted a happy ending to what I believed was a sad fate for Charlotte, author of such a tremendous work like "Jane Eyre". With this novel, I got all of that, but also a level of such love and respect for the Bronte siblings, their lives and work, that I was quite literally blown away. Most significantly, this book was written from the heart. I was astounded that the Bronte sisters, Charlotte, Emily, and Anne were written so well. Each had their own distinct personality that was developed fully and realistically. Even their brother Bramwell was a fully rendered character. Their close relationship as a family was very convincing. They come alive in this novel truly as sisters, bound together by love and respect, but not without their own wants and needs that lead to misunderstandings and disagreements. I was very eager to read about what their family life was possibly like, considering the author of "Wuthering Heights" was one of the sisters. I became engrossed by Gael's skillful portrait of these sisters' interactions with each other and with their father and brother. Gael so respects her characters that she doesn't shy away from detailing their hurts, fears, humiliations, and even their deepest darkest thoughts. I believe you can find a well-rounded, authentic portrait of each of the characters in this novel, and we are all the better for it. For in these characters we can see ourselves. Secondly, "Romancing Miss Bronte" is a well-written, meticulously researched work. As far as I can tell, the events in the book follow the events of Charlotte's own life. The author imagines these events in intimate detail, drawing us in the story by making every part of her life fascinating and personal. You experience her joys, suffer her humiliations, grieve with her, and feel the deepest, deepest sympathy for her. She really was an extraordinary woman; I had no real idea until I read this novel. Yet, she was a real woman, with the same insecurities and emotions. Lastly, this novel is real. Despite the title, I don't believe this book is about "romance." It's about Charlotte discovering her true self. It's an honest depiction of a human being, a woman that was under so much pressure, not only from those around her, but also from herself. A good life is not always what you think it should be, and truth can come from unexpected places, as the quote from Charlotte's last book "Villette" on the cover page eloquently puts it. Thank you, Ms. Gael. It was truly a privilege and an honor to have been able to read this marvelous n
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The overall story of this book was well written. While I wished for some more details in the beginning, the story flowed easily, especially when the author used actual letters written to and by Charlotte Bronte. I would have loved to give this book a better review if it were not for the last part of the book. I found it hard to read the intimate details of Charlotte's marriage when the rest of the book doesn't go into such details and even dances around the affair of her brother's life. It did not fit with the rest of the story especially when Charlotte Bronte did not want even the smallest details of her life exposed and yet in this story it shows her in a degraded way that only sexual intimacy can achieve love. If the love story was at the author's liberty, Charlotte would have loved Arthur for who he was and not how he made her feel in such an intimate setting. Too many details left little to the imagination, and yet even in the Brontes' own works, they did not divulge such intamacies in graphic detail. I say stick with the Brontes' own works and you'll be much more satisfied. Especially when Charlotte Bronte has Jane Eyre's own romance to indulge in.