×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Rosemary Cottage (Hope Beach Series #2)
     

Rosemary Cottage (Hope Beach Series #2)

4.4 56
by Colleen Coble
 

See All Formats & Editions

Now a USA Today bestseller!

Amy came to Rosemary Cottage to grieve, to heal, maybe even find love. But there’s a deadly undertow of secrets around Hope Island . . .

The charming Rosemary Cottage on the beach offers Amy Lange respite she needs to mourn her brother, Ben. She’s even thinking of moving her

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Rosemary Cottage 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 56 reviews.
BeachRead245 More than 1 year ago
This is my first Colleen Coble novel. I got a chance to meet Colleen earlier this year during the Secretly Smitten party. Thank you to Lit Fuse Publicity and Colleen for sharing this great novel. Synopsis: Amy is moving to Hope Beach to mourn her brother’s death. Her family has had a house there for generations. While Amy would like to start again she receives a deceptive e-mail insinuating that there is more to Ben’s death. No one believes her at first, but there has also been another strange death of a woman on the island who left her infant daughter to the care of her brother Curtis Ireland. Were there deaths the result of foul play or something more? Curtis one of the coastguard is connected decides to help Amy with her investigation. Is there more to the partnership? My Thoughts: I very much enjoyed it. I loved how Ms. Coble kept you guessing as to what would happen next. Of course for the summertime a setting along the Outer Banks works well for Beach read season. The characters are also memorable and weaves a tapestry of emotion and conflict throughout the novel. Have you ever read a novel that you want to find out more but the author makes you wait? I have a hard time being patient but realize the journey is worth it in the end. I found that there were some slow spots during the novel. Overall an enjoyable read. I look forward to reading more in the Hope Beach series.
Lindz2012 More than 1 year ago
This book can be something. I got really into it. I love the fact the Mystery goes though the entire book and you do not figure it out until towards the end. Though you do not until the very end of the book. This book really keep me interested and it made me really want to find out what happen to Ben Lang. I also wanted to find out how Gina had died. It really a good book more mystery then romance. Though you see the friendship that goes though. It also talks about Amy Lang and her struggles as well.
Patty6262 More than 1 year ago
This book was an excellent book. Amy moves to Rosemary Cottage to get away from the city and mourn her brother's death, but she thinks he has been murdered and aims to find out who did it. No one believes her, but Curtis who is one of the Coast Guard personnel there whose sister also died leaving a 1-year old decides to help her. In investigating this it becomes apparent that may be Gina, Curtis's sister was murdered also. You have to keep reading until the end to see what happens. This book is a must read. I have recommended Colleen's books to friends because her books are cannot put down.
ruthhill74 More than 1 year ago
I was amazed to discover that I had read the first book in this series and rated it five stars. I began to recall some of the events as I read through this follow-up book, but I just did not find the first book in the series memorable. And after reading last year's review, I discovered that as nice a story as this book is, it falls short of the other's book's success. Don't get me wrong. The second half of this book is action-packed and chock full of mystery and intrigue. There is no profanity and no sex scenes. Christian principles are emphasized, and it is clear that the primary characters are true Christians. The characterizations are well-orchestrated, and I felt somewhat connected with several of them. The mystery writing is pretty exceptional, and although the end is basically assured, the ride is pretty rocky at times. My complaint is twofold. First of all, I would have loved for there to be a stronger Christian message like there was in the first book. I was concerned that the author may have been watering down her message to attract more readers. I appreciate the Christian principles, but I prefer a much more substantial message. My other criticism is that this book follows the same formula that the first book in the series did. While the method works, I don't understand why it takes half of the book to get the story going. In my opinion, Colleen Coble is a better author than this. I still prefer her historical novels, but I would love to see the passion from those novels placed into her contemporary series. If you have not read the first book in the series, not to worry. This book is definitely a stand-alone. I can recommend it for a quick read and a romantic suspense book that is guaranteed clean. I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have already ordered Tidewater Inn...which is book 1 in the Hope Beach Series. I wish that I had know that Rosemary Cottage was book 2 in the series. I would have preferred to read them in order. I do like Colleen Coble as an author. I will read more books by her.
BrittanyMc More than 1 year ago
I am really enjoying this Hope Beach series. Tidewater Inn was a great book, but I absolutely loved reading Rosemary Cottage. There are so many twists and turns. I figured some things out, but must admit that the author really shocked me at the end. This book was interesting all of the way through. The premise of the story is that Amy Lang and Curtis Ireland have both lost siblings in the past year. And both of their deaths were ruled accidental. But Amy thinks there was something suspicious about her brother’s death and heads to their family vacation home on the island to try to figure out what happened. As she and Curtis spend time together, they learn that there may be much more to both of their siblings than they ever knew. Add in Curtis’ sweet little baby niece and some danger and you end up with a very convincing story full of action, suspense and romance. This is a very well-written story with characters that I felt that I could really connect with. I always love reading a book series that folds in characters from the previous books seamlessly and that is what the author has done with Rosemary Cottage. I am looking forward to the next in the series. I received a complimentary copy from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.
Apassion4pages More than 1 year ago
I've read a few of Colleen Coble's books, and I know they are immensely popular--best-selling even. This one included. She's very good at putting together a mystery and trickling clues throughout until everything comes together in the end, there's just always something missing from them for me. But if it means anything, even after feeling this way about her books, I will still go on to read more of them. Maybe one of these days I'll simply be able to accept her style for what it is--because she is definitely a talented author. I like the characters, I like the situations, and I like the settings. I think it's actually the pace of the story that bothers me. It's very quick, and things happen--and then BOOM, you're on to the next scene. I like a little more introspection from characters, rather than just seeing them go through things and happenings. I want to know more of their devastation and their ecstasy that comes from deep within, from where their hurts and love for each other originate. That's just my preference. When I'm not brought to those levels in a book, I often feel a bit disappointed. Because I KNOW it can be done. And perhaps it's just that I secretly wish every book that fell into my lap was as romantic and tension filled as Julie Lessman, Denise Hunter and Jody Hedlund can write them. :) But that's just me--and why I've begun referring to myself as a book-snob more and more over the years. And after all that, I can insist that this wasn't a bad book at all! If it were, I would have stopped reading it somewhere along the way. Rosemary Cottage kept my attention, and I did like a lot about it. I would recommend it to anyone. I received a free paperback copy of Colleen Coble's Rosemary Cottage from the publisher in return for this honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The beginning was a little mind boggling being introduced to 25 some odd people but they all played into the page turning suspense. Didn't see that ending coming. Good story.
MitziAB More than 1 year ago
Hope Island. Just the name draws me to want to come and spend time there in quietness. But, all is not as it seems.  We were first introduced to the community of Hope Beach in Tidewater Inn, but if you haven't read that one yet, you can always pick it up and read later. Although we do meet the same people, the story is not a continuation. Colleen weaves a sweet romance in with dramatic suspense in her talented writing, and once started, this book is difficult to leave. As in any small town, but perhaps more so in a rather isolated town, everyone knows each other, or thinks they do, and what they do not know, they assume. And often, rumors become what we take as reality because we have heard them so frequently.   Aside from being a great novel written in Colleen's unique style, this novel has deeper levels. How well do I really know my family? Amy thought she knew Ben, but did she? Curtis felt the secrets he was keeping was honoring his sister, but do we keep secrets because we are trying to shield ourselves? How far would we go to get something we want?  Definitely a novel suspense readers will enjoy. I received this free book from Amy and Chris at Litfuse Publicity Group and Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for an honest review. A positive critique was not required. The opinions are my own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This has a shocking ending. I was up late finishing the book as you just cannot put it down. One of my favorite of her books. I will be reading only her books until i read them all.
Its_Time_Mamaw More than 1 year ago
Amy Lange has so many wonderful memories of her and her brother, Ben at Rosemary  Cottage and their long hours playing on the beach.  But this year Ben isn't with her at Rosemary Cottage but his memory is here.  Ben lost his life in a surfing accident.  Amy was looking for closure in her brother's death.   She may even move her midwife practice to Hope Island.   Amy can't help but wonder if his death was really caused by an accident. Curtis Ireland has also lost a sibling, his sister, Gina was was killed in a boating accident. She left something very valuable to Curtis's care, Raine, Gina's daughter.  Curtis will do anything to protect his niece from intruders.  That is until he meets Amy Lange and then his world is turned upside down.  But is that a good thing  or a bad thing? This is a nail biting, chills running up your spine, suspenseful story.  Your brain will be working overtime to find the secrets that will solve THE mystery.  Aside from all the suspense is an on and off romance between Amy and Ben, with littIe Raine in the middle.  I get really into the books I'm reading and forget sometimes that the characters can't hear me giving them some well needed advice.   This author never seems to let me down when I read one of her books and I have read several of them.  All winners, in my opinion. I highly recommend not only this book but this series and especially this author. Disclosure:  I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson/Litfuse Publicity Group for review.  I was in no way compensated for this review.  This review is my honest opinion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very entertaining. It has kept me wanting more and on tender hooks. Very exciting and a tear jerker to say the least. Nice surprising turns !
iblog4books More than 1 year ago
I'm a huge fan of Colleen Coble's romantic suspense novels, and Rosemary Cottage did not disappoint! I liked Amy and Curtis right away—even if they didn't like each other! Both of them were struggling to deal with the deaths of their siblings, which added a deeper dimension to both of them. There was so much chemistry between the two of them as well. It seemed that every time they talked, they alternated between intense attraction and heated arguments. Of course, their fierce loyalty to their respective siblings didn't help in the midst of those arguments! My enjoyment of the novel was probably enhanced a little as I read about half of it during a power outage due to a thunderstorm. Nothing makes a suspense novel more suspenseful than reading it in a dark room, by flashlight, with a storm raging outside. Feel free to re-create this scenario when you read Rosemary Cottage! :) If you enjoy suspense novels, you are sure to love Rosemary Cottage! I highly recommend! [4.5 stars] I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson and Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
VSliker More than 1 year ago
I have the perfect summer read for you:  Rosemary Cottage.  This book is as relaxing as a beach chair in the surf; the story just rolls right over you like a cool wave.  Rosemary Cottage sits on the beach in the Outer Banks off the coast of North Carolina.  Amy Lange returns to the cottage to grieve the loss of her brother Ben and find some closure with his death.  Amy meets an Outer Banks Coast Guard officer, Curtis Ireland, who is also grieving the loss of a sibling.  Amy and Curtis find unexpected correlations between the two deaths and soon discover that the pieces of this puzzle lead to countless unanswered questions.  Foul play, double lives and dangerous secrets unfold as Amy and Curtis are drawn together in a relationship that is a bit more than friendship. Characters you'll love, wrestling with moral dilemmas in a risky adventure on a beautiful summer background make this the perfect book to take on your summer vacation. Then leave it at the beach house as a delightful surprise for the person who comes behind you. Disclosure:  The product in this review was given free of charge. My opinions are my honest, tried-and-true views and were not influenced by any source. I was not compensated monetarily to advertise this campaign. 
Anonymous 15 days ago
Yivnvngtugj
PollyBennett More than 1 year ago
What a great mystery. Had me going from the first chapter. This book has it all, strong hero and heroine(s) one an infant! The story had so many twists and turns. Loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SAC112750 More than 1 year ago
I am on my 2nd Hope Beach book. I had never read Colleen Coble before. The books are very nice, well written, and move fairly fast. There is no bad language or sexual innuendo's. However, 1 thing DOES bother me, and this is strictly personal, I find offense to her description of Aunt Pearl. She is heavy, round and short and chairs creak when she sits down. None of the other characters get body descriptions. I found this in both books so far. I just feel it is a bit rude!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Most wonderful author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Terrible book. Poorly written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
quaintinns More than 1 year ago
Colleen Coble’s ROSEMARY COTTAGE, is part of the Hope Beach series (#2), and can be read as a standalone; however, you will fall in love with this series, and want to read them all. Set in the coastal area of the Outer Banks area, of North Carolina— a nice contemporary romance, with lots of mystery and suspense. Having read an advanced reading copy of (#3) SEAGRASS PIER, Hope Beach series—packed with suspense, mystery, emotion, complex characters, a psychopath, obsession, and romance—A "Must Read" coming July 1—and one you will want to read! After reading TIDEWATER INN (#1), readers will enjoy following up with characters and the setting of this beautiful area. Rosemary Cottage is a cottage that has been in Amy Lang's family for generations. She is returning to the area after the death of her brother, Ben for a multi-layered mystery. There were circumstances surrounding his death, and she begins searching for answers, while grieving for her brother. Ben was a strong swimmer, so things do not add up. Even her own parents won't support her decision to investigate Ben’s death—she plans to move her midwife practice while trying to put the pieces of puzzle together and solve this mystery. She hopes the Coast Guard team will be of assistance --No one is taking the suspicious email she received serious. Meet Curtis Ireland, a Coast Guard Officer who lives in the area. His sister, Gina, also died in a swimming accident, as well. She was also a strong swimmer, with dreams of the Olympics. She left a seven month old little girl named Raine—Curtis is raising her with his aunt Edith. Curtis also is keeping Raine’s father a secret. Curtis and Amy knew of one another; however, never really close friends. When they meet again, they are both grieving, and begin to wonder if the mystery behind their loved ones’ death could be connected. While they work on the details, an attraction develops between these two. However Amy has a secret as well. How far will they go to keep their secrets from being discovered? Well-developed characters with many twists and turns for a nice light mystery, romance, and family drama. Would recommend to those enjoying Christian fiction with an intriguing story. A novel of redemption, loss, love, and forgiveness—one of letting go, in order to move on. A special thank you to Thomas Nelson--FICTION and NetGalley for a complimentary reading copy, in exchange for an honest review.