×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Rules of Civility
     

Rules of Civility

4.2 445
by Amor Towles
 

See All Formats & Editions

Unabridged, 9 CDs, 11 1/2 hours

A sophisticated and entertaining debut novel about an irresistible young woman with outsized dreams.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Rules of Civility 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 445 reviews.
sblaser More than 1 year ago
I flew through Rules of Civility in two sittings -- two, only because I had to go to work in between! It's the kind of book you hope for in a summer read but can never quite seem to find: witty and fun without leaving you feeling like you've eaten cotton candy or insulting your intelligence. Towles' New York City is so textured -- from the gritty Lower East Side of the 30s to the smooth-like-velvet Upper East and West -- I found myself wanting to go back in time and drink a martini with his heroine, Katy Kontent and the wacky cast of characters she finds herself among. What a pleasure to have found a smart summer read!
Coconut_Librarian More than 1 year ago
Type: {Impress Your Friends Read: notable; prize-winner or all around intelligent crowd conversation piece.} Rating: {An Unputdownable: Couldn't eat or sleep until I finished this book.} Why You're Reading It: - You want to read the book that I am calling my favorite of the year, so far! - New York City, 1930's? You're hooked! - A smart, witty, & complex variety of characters are enough to convince you to read a book. - Beautiful prose, continuously moving plots, rich details, and convincing story lines make a book a keeper in your eyes. What I Thought: Hello, and welcome to New York City in the 1930's. Not only will you find the glamour, the music, the lingo, and the romance of one of the golden ages of the city, you will also meet one of the most refreshing protagonists in literature - Katey Kontent. Let's follow Miss Kontent through a flashback to the year of 1938 - a year that defined her life - and meet the exquisite cast of characters that Amor Towles creates on the pages of his debut novel, The Rules of Civility. Against the backdrop of a time when anyone could become anything and women were starting to make their own paths to the top, Towles creates a peephole back through time that has you turning page after page wishing you could actually be there, even just for a moment, to catch a glimpse of the sleek and confident Anne, the charming Tinker, the lively Eve, sweet and sincere Wallace, or intelligent, witty, down-to-earth Katey. (This is the second book of the year with a character named Wallace. Though I'm still waiting for a female Wallace to emerge in literature - this book's Wallace was a tribute to the name!) My very favorite read this year, landing a spot on my favorite books ever, I was absorbed by this delicious novel. Balancing the thin line between eating it up in one bite but knowing how much I would regret doing that once it was finished - I paced myself so that I could enjoy the company of this book for as long as possible. Towles did an extraordinary job of creating the scene, making realistic characters, and spinning a plot that a reader can care about. The lessons in these pages are timeless even if the era in which they are portrayed is exact (and thoroughly enjoyable). I highly, highly recommend this book to everyone. There are very few books that I re-read, but this will be one of them. The charming dialogue, the poignant passages, the intelligent references, and the three-dimensional characters make this poetic, philosophical book, about life and the individual experiences that shape it, fun to read and easy to digest. Over and over, I exclaimed to myself (out loud of course, because it doesn't count if people don't think you're crazy), "I love this book. I LOVE this book!" I also can not get over how much I adore the character of Katey; and how fast they will probably turn this into a movie (and probably should), but how very, very sad I'll be because this is a book that belongs to the imagination - it's that magical.
-Madison- More than 1 year ago
In Rules of Civility the setting is Manhattan in the late 1930's. I enjoyed the history of what New York City was like during that era through the eyes of a young woman surviving on her own in the city. The description of the culture of the carefree young in an exciting city was exciting to me. Kate, the main protagonist, is a smart, sassy independent girl who takes charge of her own life and if she isn't happy about something she fixes the problem. Frankly, I was surprised at the freedom women had from the perception I've always had before women's lib. I enjoyed the penetrating storyline so much, of its setting and the bigger ideas that are presented in the mix of people and social organizations, introspection, question of civility in all things. It was a much more social time when technology seems to limit the necessity. Madison Pridgen, A member of Between the Lines book club
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An utterly satisfying, elegant, literary and delicious novel that puts front and center one of the most charismatic narrators I've ever had the pleasure of spending time with. This is the story of Katey Kontent, inauspiciously born and raised by a Russian immigrant father on the Lower East Side, she's made her own way through gritty, Depression-Era New York to find herself holding her own in the secretarial pool of a white collar law firm. With her endlessly curious mind, originality and irreverence, she's clearly made for more, but it's not until a chance encounter with the patrician banker, Tinker Grey, that she is granted the possibilty of entree--for better and for worse--into an exclusive world of New York's Haute Monde. This is a coming-of-age novel, a love letter to New York City during a moment of artistic foment, a study of class and manners, and an unexpected love story wrapped in one. If you love Hornby, Nicholls, Melissa Bank, Midnight in Paris, Mad Men, Aaron Sorkin and/or Capote, you will not be able to resist this one.
gracegee More than 1 year ago
I was hooked from the first few pages. It had been awhile since I so fell in love with a main character. Such a great read, I felt like I was in 1938. I wish there was more!
GoodHeartedWoman More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this novel more than I've enjoyed anything else, in a long time. The characters are believable and well developed. I was very sad to see 1938 come to an end!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RULES OF CIVILITY is fun, sophisticated and witty! A fantastic debut by Towles; I couldn't put it down! Definitely a must-read for the summer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didn't know what to expect from this book. But I can say I couldn't put it down. Following Katey Kontent (that's content like happy not KON-tent like content of a book thank you very much) and her friend Eve, whom she affectionately calls Evey, is full of twists and turns and surprises that I didn't even see coming. It's characters and scenery of NYC during 1938 are so well evolved and scandalous and rich and beautiful and sumptuous, you can almost feel what they are wearing and eating and drinking and seeing! The writing, the story, the words are so sophisticated, so dreamy, so lifelike, you can picture the entire story in your head. I even starting seeing is a movie in my head and thinking of stars who would play the parts because the book so vividly takes you back to a bygone era of gin and whisky and jazz bars and good ol fashioned blue blood antics and sassafrass. It's a must read.
bookclubbed More than 1 year ago
Having been a voracious reader in a reading slump for many months, I was so delighted to have found "Rules of Civility" in my new books bag. I purchased this book for a book club and I am the first to read it. I can't wait to report to everyone I actually finished a book and was sorry to see it end. I rarely give glowing book reports because I think other members may be disappointed when they take the time to read my recommendation. In this case, I have no doubt all the members of my three book clubs will be delighted with this selection. I agree with the other reviewers in their accolades about the characters, the writing style, the transportation to other places, etc. This book was a guilty pleasure that made me stop everything just to read and to get totally lost in another time and place. More than just enjoying reading, this book made me think about the choices I had made along the way. I know "Rules..." was carefully researched and beautifully written and must have taken some time to complete but I am just hoping that I don't have to wait too long for Mr. Towles' next book. P.S. I was definitely surprised that was a male author.
Roxy0909 More than 1 year ago
It took me two days to read this book I couldn't put it down! It was well written and expressed every emotion possible. I was surprised by the ending of the book it definately shocked me. The characters were engrossing and the details to the era down to the clothes were awesome. I am recommeding this to my friends and family.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not recommend this book more highly. Beautifully written.
thewanderingjew More than 1 year ago
In the mid 1960’s, at a photography show, Katey Kontent tells her husband that she recognizes one of the subjects in two pictures. He is shown in two versions of himself, one as a rich man and another as a poor one. His upper crust photo is not the latest one, as her husband thought. Katey’s memory is jarred and the story proceeds backwards. almost thirty years, to the 1930’s and the time she met Theodore “Tinker” Grey. America has come out of the depression. Young people are finding work. Women have few opportunities to advance in the working world; secretarial skills are paramount. Seeking a husband, preferably well-heeled, is the goal of many. Social climbing has become an art form. This is a story about ambition, about how people behave, about their hopes and how they go about achieving them, about social justice and injustice, perception, true and false. It is as much about class distinction as it is about the blurring of those lines. There is a proper way to behave befitting those in polite society and those imposters, as well, that seek to join that rarefied atmosphere. Running through the book is a central theme about manners, manners based on a little primer, handwritten by George Washington, containing 110 rules of civility. They govern every conceivable kind of behavior, public and private, which a lady or gentleman or impersonator of such, would follow, to appear well-bred. It is as much about the arrogance of the rich as it is about the impertinence of the poor. It is a story about real people, how they seek happiness, friendship, love, about rivalry and misunderstandings, hopes and dreams. It is about which of our goals are important and why. It is about Katy, and those of her era, coming of age, coming into their own. The book is about wealth, the kind one is born to, the kind one dreams about. It is about civility and also about duplicity. There is so much deception that no one really knows anyone’s true background. It would seem the characters have all written a portion of their own biographies as they all impersonate different persona, sneaking in and out of the world of the rich and famous with aplomb and then back into the world of the working poor. The book makes it seem easy. The author defines the characters so well, you can visualize them. He uses every world with precision so that it has perfect pitch and meaning. The times and places are captured perfectly. The expressive use of vocabulary was a listening extravaganza. Because I listened to an audio, and there were so many characters, I did sometimes lose the thread of the dialogue. Even when I rewound, I couldn't recapture what I missed. Sometimes, places and characters appeared, seemingly at random, then disappeared and reappeared again later on. Occasionally, I was left unable to remember what role they played in the narrative. In a hard copy, I could easily have looked back. In the end, however, all the characters were accounted for and all the missing pieces were tied together and explained so I lacked nothing for having listened to, rather than read, the written word. The reader was excellent.
NatalieZ More than 1 year ago
Smart, witty, funny, exquisitely sophisticated and well written! Great characters set in the history of NYC truly evoke the aura of Fitzgerald & even at times a bit of O.Henry. One of the best books I've read in years, possibly ever! Mr. Towles would do the reading public a great service if he continued writing after this first novel...
Tine06 More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. I felt like I was actually experiencing 1938 in NYC. The book brought images of jazz clubs, the Plaza, and the 21 club to life. When people actually dressed up to go out and it was fashionable for women to smoke and drink gin. The only complaint, and it's not so much a complaint, is my expection of the book was that it was a story of a relationship between Katy and Tinker and that would be the main plot. But actually it was a year (1938) in the life of Katy Kontent and all of her relationships and experiences that year. Still a very enjoyable book. Made me think how I would be living in that era.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this book! If you liked The Great Gatsby - you'll enjoy Rules of Civility.
texas2012 More than 1 year ago
OH MY GOSH!!! What a read, absolutely worth reading. I was spellbound by the main character. You can see inside her soul. Could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You can hear the ice clinking in the martini glasses and smell the smoke in the tiny jazz clubs. A great read with a fascinating cast of characters headed by a sharp, well read heroine.
KimballSK More than 1 year ago
Rules of Civility is a series of beautifully written vignettes, each one a little love letter to New York City in the late 1930’s. The novel isn’t a series of short stories, technically, but it contains many small scenes that could function very on their own. The overall plot is just as captivating containing numerous twists and turns executed by well-developed characters. The scene is NYC 1938. The depression is almost over, the War to End All Wars has yet to begin and in this pause between historic upheavals, our main characters find themselves thrown together. Eve and Katey are a couple of girls with plenty of smarts and moxie, but not so much dough. Tinker is clever and kind and introduces the girls to a life of privilege and glamour. The question (as and will be) is how much does the “good life” really cost a person? Each character is beautifully developed (even the side characters) and I thoroughly enjoyed immersing myself in Katey's adventures.
catwak More than 1 year ago
This is the perfect book to read when you have a summer cold, which is how I read it. The heroine, Katey, has a pedigree that resembles Daisy Buchanan out of Lily Bart. Her moral compass in choosing among her options is almost too good to believe. The writing, particularly the dialogue and the descriptive evocation of place and time, is superb. (An example, summarizing a character's affinity for jazz: "It was everything he liked about the world: you could smoke to it, drink to it, chatter to it. And it didn't make you feel guilty for not giving it your full attention.") Nevertheless, I refuse to award more than 3 stars to any writer who doesn't acknowledge that "lay" is a transitive verb.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amor Towles first novel is a jaunt into the world of elegance, sophistication, and wealth that is New York City in the late 1930s. Ahead of her time and in a world so different from her own, Brooklyn born Katey Kontent finds herself immersed amongst her upper East-Side peers. After a chance encounter on News Year’s Eve at a second-rate Jazz club, Katey and her rebellious, Southern born boarding house roommate Evelyn Ross find themselves in the midst of the dashing Tinker Grey. What follows is a traffic car accident and a journey fraught with deception, indiscretion, romance, and betrayal. Towles’ challenges his audience to ponder whether perception is reality and whether wealth and pedigree ultimately lead to happiness and a discovery of true self. Rules of Civility is brilliantly written; with each sharp sentence so cleverly pulling the reader deeper into post-Depression, pre-WWII Manhattan. Not drowning with the politics of the time, but swimming with hope, happiness, and radiance, the reader cannot help but fall in love with the beauty of Towles' work.
Girls4Book-Enthusiast More than 1 year ago
My next book club recommendation is found! I loved this story! I read stacks of books to find one that I feel happy about sharing with my reading group, and this is my pick for this year! The late 30s in New York provided an intriguing culture and setting for the plot. The characters were fully developed, and the witty, snappy dialogue was a joy to read. Several surprising plot turns rivetted my attention. Rules of Civility is one of those books you can't wait to share with your friends!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story of the elite and the wannabees in 1938 Manhattan draws the reader into the golden age with its tapestry of youthful escapades. While painting a black-and-white visual of the characters, the book is rich in shades of grey - no one is all good or evil. The inclusion of literary references is plentiful, but not overdone, providing a beautiful backdrop of comparisons to aid in the understanding of the era. My only regret is that it ended too soon - I wanted more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Certainly one of the best reads of the summer. The reader is drawn into 1937 with such passion that one cannot put this book down ! So beware: you will read this book into the wee hours of the morning! GREAT character development along with historical portrayals make this book a compelling read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is by far the best book I've read so far this year. Maybe it is because I grew up in the area and am familiar with the hotels and streets where the story takes place that took me back in time, but I did not want the story to end. I have recommended this book to many of my friends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just couldn't get into this book. The characters are superficial and left me feeling uninterested.