×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Rumor Has It
     

Rumor Has It

4.0 476
by Jill Mansell
 

See All Formats & Editions

Would you be tempted?

Newly single, Tilly Cole impulsively accepts a job offer in a small town as a "Girl Friday." Fun job, country house, fresh start, why not? But soon she finds herself in a hotbed of gossip, intrigue, and rampant rivalry for the town's most desirable bachelor-Jack Lucas.

Rumors of Jack's "love 'em and leave 'em" escapes abound, and Tilly

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Rumor Has It 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 476 reviews.
MasonCanyon More than 1 year ago
I was intrigued when I read the blurb about RUMOR HAS IT. Newly single Tilly Cole impulsively moves to a small town, only to find she's arrived in a hotbed of gossip, intrigue, and rampant rivalry for the most desirable man-Jack Lucas, whose reputation is beyond bad. Tilly has no intention of becoming another notch on his bedpost. But she finds the thoughtful, caring guy she comes to value as a friend doesn't seem to fit the town's playboy image. Should she listen to her friends or her heart? Is Tilly being mature and sensible-or running away from the love of her life? After reading the book, I don't think the blurb really does the book complete justice. Don't get me wrong, it's a good blurb and gets your attention. However, there is so much more going on with the other characters that's not mentioned. There are several basic storylines happening at the same time. Author Jill Mansell has a unique way of intertwining all the storylines so they flow smoothly from one to the next and back again naturally. Besides the fascinating story of Till and her attraction to the town's Casanova, Jack; you have her best friend Erin, who owns a consignment dress shop. Erin falls for Fergus, who is estranged from Stella. Their story is funny, outrageous, sweet and touching. To have Erin's grace would be amazing. Next you have Tilly's new box, Max, and his 13-year-old daughter, Lou. Max owns an interior design company and is gay. Lou is a typical teenager with moments of grownup wisdom. Also in the mix is Max's ex-wife, Kaye, a Hollywood actress. Kaye finds herself in a wee bit of trouble in the states, returns to Roxborough and soon has the attention of a "stalker" from New York. All of this may sound a little confusing, but not to worry. RUMOR HAS IT is a delightful read from the opening line until the last word with no confusing bumps along the way. If you enjoy YOU'VE GOT MAIL or SLEEPLESS IN SEATTLE, you don't want to miss this book. It will have you laughing out loud, shaking your head in disbelief, stunned at some of the outrageous behavior, and even shedding a tear or two of joy and sorrow. This may be a chick-lit book, but I think male readers will enjoy it too. They just may not tell anyone they've read it. As for the central figure, Tilly. She's a wonderful character. She has the normal faults and concerns we all have. She does, however, find herself in some unusual circumstances from time to time. When you need a relaxing, fun book to help you unwind and have a laugh or two, reach for RUMOR HAS IT. You won't go wrong.
vickytren More than 1 year ago
This is a great book. Breathtaking. Beautiful. Recommend it!
BookaholicTracy More than 1 year ago
This was a great great read. The writing is beautiful, the story wonderful. I can't wait for the next book to come out.
pinkixniki More than 1 year ago
I became a huge Mansell fan by accident. Actually, i saw the cover for one of her books about a year ago and decided to buy it because of two reasons: one -- i was a fanatical british chick lit reader and, two -- I thought the cover was pretty. I'm not even joking. Luckily enough, the pretty cover matched the story inside! I immediately started researching other novels written by Mansell. Then i had read a review about this novel and just judging from the back cover i could NOT WAIT to get my hands on a copy. I was even researching if i would be able to have one sent to me overseas! I decided to wait it out the grueling 6 or 7 months to FINALLY get this book. and let me tell you... good things come to those who wait!!! Meet Tilly Cole and her lovely group of friends. Of course she notices Jack Lucas -- everyone in town certainly has. But with fair warning from her friends, she keeps in mind that Jack has a bedpost with one too many notches on it. So, naturally she keeps her guard up, at least she tries to but not without difficulty. Jack is just so amazingly charming and sweet that I wish wish wisssshhhh that he were a real person! The cast of characters were certainly something. Lou and Max were some of my favorite. However, compared to past Mansell novels i've read, i just wasn't as caught up in the subplots in this one compared to Miranda's big mistake. Or maybe it was just because i was so into Jack and Tilly that i got annoyed when she strayed off of their storyline. All things in mind though, this is definitely a novel i think you should read, especially if you're a fan of British chick-lit! It definitely had it's funny moments and touching scenes. Mansell's writing is flowing and easy to read. It epitomizes everything i love and adore about british culture just from my love of brit chick-lit. I devoured this book in a day and a half. And I'll probably sit and read it again some time in the near future.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very English, you can guess the meaning of some of the words but a good story that wraps up quickly at the end. Really should have been 100 pages longer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Liked the book cover, so decided to try this book. I recently traveled this part of England and really enjoyed reading a modern story about village life. I especially enjoyed how the author develops her characters. I really felt like I knew them personally. By the end of the story, I was sad to leave the village of Roxborough. Luckily, Jill Mansell has more villages to discover! Can't wait to read more of her books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A nice fluffy chick-lit romantic comedy type deal. Kind of Sophie Kinsella-esque, which is why I picked it up. I'm definitely going to give her other books a go.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book! I have been looking for a good chic lit novel and was failing until coming across Jill Mansell. I have read the ending to this book a half a dozen times now. It has love and tragedy and surprises around every corner that i could not have predicted. I want to immediately reread it but instead will read more of her books in hopes that i can forget the details and be joyfully surprised all over again!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Funny, entertaining and engaging
BtO More than 1 year ago
Of the four Mansell books I've read this was my least favorite but it was still an enjoyable read. My biggest problem with any of her books is how fast they go by.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the story. It was very enjoyable and humorous. My only complaint was that it needed better editing. There were many, many words splt apart, like the word frustrating for example was fru strating - which I did find very annoying.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is one of the best books i have ever read, i recommended it for teens and up. Its filled with romance ahd adventure and its just amazing. Bravo!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jill Mansell is an interesting writer. All her books are a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A light-hearted, fun read. I enjoy Jill Mansell's whit and sense of humor and find her books fun and entertaining. "Rumor Has It" was no different.
JGeiger1234 More than 1 year ago
This is the first Jill Mansell book I have read. It was really smartly written. I like that the characters have class and personality. They do not just jump into bed with people and everything turns up roses and wedding bells like in other romance novels. Her characters are smart, funny, and have great hearts. They also have self respect. I was highly impressed by this author. I have started on another of her books and will continue to her novels. This book was a great find.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I Enjoyed the characters and the storylines.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All her books are pretty much the same
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this this story i will read another
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago