×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Rumors (Luxe Series #2)
  • Alternative view 1 of Rumors (Luxe Series #2)
  • Alternative view 2 of Rumors (Luxe Series #2)
     

Rumors (Luxe Series #2)

4.2 379
by Anna Godbersen
 

See All Formats & Editions

True love. False friends. Scandalous gossip. Welcome back to Manhattan, 1899.

As rumors fly about the untimely demise of New York's brightest star, Elizabeth Holland, all eyes are on those closest to the dearly departed: her sister, Diana, the family's only hope for redemption; Henry Schoonmaker, the flame Elizabeth never

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Rumors 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 374 reviews.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
The mysterious death of Elizabeth Holland still hangs onto the hearts of those whom she was close to. Her fiancé remembers the look she gave him the last time their eyes met and it continues to haunt him. Only Diana Holland and Penelope Hayes know the truth behind Elizabeth's death. That she didn't in fact perish, but fled New York to follow her one true love, Will Keller.

Penelope has her heart set on claiming everything that Elizabeth left behind, including her fiancé, Henry Schoonmaker. Henry, however, is even more aware of his feelings for the younger Holland sister, Diana.

Lina Broud, the Holland's former maid, continues to rise into society as she had often dreamed. Box seats at the Opera and lavish parties are now her reality. She also continues to be a cause of trouble for the Holland sisters, with the help of Penelope Hayes.

When Elizabeth receives word that her mother is ill and that the family is in financial disarray, she knows that she must return to New York. Even if it means revealing the scandalous nature of her true disappearance. Elizabeth never could have imagined what events would unfold next.

RUMORS was an entertaining and captivating sequel to THE LUXE. If possible, it may be even better than its predecessor! Godbersen continues to impress me with her writing and flair for the dramatic. Although I initially started reading this book for its historical fiction aspect, I couldn't help but become engrossed in all components of the story!

Diana continues her reign as my favorite character. I admire her strength and compassion. Penelope, unfortunately, continues to be her evil, conniving self, and I only hope that she gets what she deserves in the end. I have come to know and care for these characters and I was very surprised and shocked by the ending! I have to say I was a little disappointed at first and thought that certain aspects were unnecessary, but not every book can have a happy ending.

I have faith in Godbersen's creative mind and I can't wait to see what she has devised next. I will eagerly be waiting for the release of ENVY.
SquirtAH More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put rumors down! Rumors was so much better than luxe. this whole series is petty good. it makes you keep guessing then makes a huge twist
ali_catt More than 1 year ago
Wow.I thought this book was very good. It suprised me alot near the ending, and at times it was really sad, but i love it! It had a lot of drama, which I enjoyed very much. Overall, I thought it was a great book. :]
Whisperlynn More than 1 year ago
The follow-up to The Luxe, exceeds anticipations. The world created by the writer is beautifully described and pulls the reader into all that we dreamed about as little girls. The american "royalty" depicted is extremely beleivable and fantastic at the same time...even the scandals, back-stabbing, and munipultions are as enjoyable to the reader as the daydream quality this series exudes. If you enjoyed The Luxe, you will rave about Rumors...this is one I will read over and over!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i just read the book, and overall i like the book. I don't know why i didn't pick up this book earlier and i always see this book right in front of me but idk. Penelope is such a witch, i can't think of anyone to be so evil and exhausting just reading whats going through this characters mind. I feel so sorry for Diana and Elizabeth, the way it had end in this book for them. Lina, i don't know what to think about her, i somewhat feel bad for her and i get how shes trying to fit in with the high class crowd but i also think its so wrong for her to sell out the Hollands of all their secrets, when she has one of her own. Although i like how detailed the author is to make the scenes of the book suck you in and like your right their watching every move these characters make. Oh yah i love the covers of the books its very eyes catching and gorgeous!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rumors is the sequel to The Luxe, which set the stage of the backstabbing social world of NYC at the turn of the twentieth century. All eyes are upon Diana Holland, the late Elizabeth Holland's younger sister, the family's only hope of redeeming their financial situaton. In the meanwhile, Penelope Hayes, NYC's most envied girl in society, is stirring trouble by trying to take everything Elizabeth left, including her fiance. Now, however, everyone is watching Henry Schoonmaker, NYC's most notorious bachelor, to see whom is next for his proposal after the tragic passing of Elizabeth. Then, there is Carolina Broad a newcomer, an immediate exotic beauty. But, behind the rich and glamorous heiress is a vulnerable girl, once Lina Broud, the Holland's former maid. Once again Anna Godbersen spins a phenomenal, scandalous tale, of how even the best are not quite the best.
Angieville More than 1 year ago
Well, everyone's in love with the one person they can't have and no one seems to be able to communicate their woe to anyone who could help. Must be Tuesday in Luxeland. RUMORS is the second volume in the Luxe series and, as the deep red dress and haughty gaze of the cover model suggest, things are just getting worse and worse for our crew of Manhattan debutantes/bachelors/scheming underlings. I checked this copy out from the library and the girl at the checkout desk smiled knowingly and said, "I liked this one." I smiled and said, "I just finished THE LUXE." Her grin got bigger. "I liked this one much better," she said. So. There you go. I was beginning to get the impression that lovers of THE LUXE fell into two categories: even bigger lovers or big time haters of RUMORS. I was interested to see which category I fell into (if any).

So everyone thinks Elizabeth Holland is dead. And pretty soon (oh, let's go ahead and say it) shockingly soon, everyone thinks Henry Schoonmaker should just say enough with the mourning and go ahead and marry Penelope Hayes since it is clear they were Meant To Be. What with the being rich and hot and whatnot. But then Elizabeth Holland is not actually dead, is she? And Henry is not actually in love with Penelope, is he? Meanwhile, Lina is masquerading about as a mining heiress from Utah (LOL), Penelope is advancing on Henry like a post-coital black widow, and the weight of the world rests squarely on Diana's little shoulders as she is the one who is now expected to make a most advantageous marriage to save the family name. Just not the advantageous marriage she'd like to make.

I liked this one. Liked it just as much as the first one, in fact. I continue to enjoy Diana and Henry and what's going on there. I continue to hate Penelope unreservedly and feel almost unbearably embarrassed for Lina around the clock. Although I do wonder about Tristan. As I was never a fan of the whole Elizabeth and Will thing, I was perfectly happy to have them off screen (for the most part). And I have to say, I really liked the ending. I mean it was exactly the awful thing you were expecting down to the last dewy glance. In slow motion. But then the last page was just so awesome and fierce in its way, that I'm really looking forward to reading ENVY and consuming another volume of decadent treats on display.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Anna Godbersen gave readers a delicious follow up to The Luxe in this exquisitely scandalous novel. Rumours brings us back to all our favorite characters, and all the ones we love to hate. There's Elizabeth Holland, now out west and forging a new life with Will after she escaped from Manhatten's social scene by faking her own death. Her sister, Diana, is pretending to mourn for her and being presured to make a good marriage as the family fortune dwindles. And all the while she's pining away for her sister's former fiance... Penelope Hayes, who has her eyes on Henry as well, is playing the part of the demure debutante so she can impress his father. Meanwhile, Lina Broud is discovering that being a lady means more than having money. And Henry Schoonmaker himself, Manhattan's own heartthrob, who faces the possibilty of being seperated from his love forever. In her second novel, Anna Godbersen's writing has improved. The characters are more developed, and Manhatten 1899 is a fully believable setting. Cholk-full of intriuge and good use of the English language, the second installment in the series is more than just teen fluff. This time around you have sympathy for all the characters, who happen to have twice as many juicy secrets. You won't be able to put Rumours down, and it will leave you longing for more.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Yum, yum, yum. This book was just as delightful as the first one in the series which I am really happy about. Sometimes, you get an amazing first book and then a really bad sequel, but in the Luxe series, that is not the case. Thankfully. I completely loved hearing more about all of the scandal surrounding the families that I had come to know and love in the previous book. I think one of the things that is the best about this series is that Anna Godbersen has the perfect writing style to go along with the storyline. She knows how to write so that even the language aspect of the book draws you into a world that's far from your own. Also, the plot was really amazing. There were a ton of twists and surprises that left my mouth open, and my mind scrambling. But in a good way of course. These were nice and luscious twists that were completely plausible but at the same time unexpected. The ending especially nearly wrenched me apart. I almost cried! Yikes! It's a little wierd to confess to crying over a book that's purely fluff made for enjoyment. But it's the kind of book that gets you to relate to the characters and actually care about what happens to them. That's definitely one of the parts that keeps me coming back for more. I feel like I'm actually in the turn of the century New York, which is saying something because not only do I have no idea what New York's like, I do not in any way know what anything around that time period would be like. But the book is such that you can't help but be drawn in. And although this series is completely fluffy, I still love it to pieces and I can't wait for the next book, Envy. If you haven't read the first book, The Luxe, you had better go and pick it up soon!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didn't like this sequel at all, made me stop reading their series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This whole series is really great, I couldn't put the books down! Not only was it was entertaining but I learned a lot about the 1900s and realized how not much has changed in social gossip. Read these books, you will not regret it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series of books are very entertaining and are hard to put down. I read this particular book in an entire day. I love the detail the author uses that paints a picture of 19th century America. I love these novels although i must say the only characters I am hoping come out on top are Diana and Henry. Elizabeth was unconventionally mean to Lina and Lina has just taken things way too far. Penelope sucks...point, blank, period. But I must say i was so sad because of what happened to Will and I found it odd how easily Lina got over it. Hmmmmm juicy stuff! Cant wait to find out what happens next!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago