×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Run for Your Life (Michael Bennett Series #2)
     

Run for Your Life (Michael Bennett Series #2)

4.0 456
by James Patterson
 

See All Formats & Editions

A calculating killer who calls himself The Teacher is taking on New York City, killing the powerful and the arrogant. His message is clear: remember your manners or suffer the consequences! For some, it seems that the rich are finally getting what they deserve. For New York's elite, it is a call to terror.

Only one man can tackle such a high-profile case:

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Run for Your Life (Michael Bennett Series #2) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 456 reviews.
Freeway-Mandy More than 1 year ago
Since all of these reviews except one are without reading the book first, it's my turn. James Patterson went from a great author to a miserable one with this co-author army that pumps out 10 150 page books (- the blank spaces) a year that you can read in 2-3 hours. Even Cross Country was terrible, the worst Alex Cross book yet. The Sail? Please - what a Joke. What's next, JP with Donald Duck as that's what we have been getting lately. He'll still make his millions on people who thrive on these mindless reads. Want a real mystery novel? Try Baldacci, Connelley, Deaver and Daniel Kalla for medical mysteries. They will never disappoint you.
VICKIDFL More than 1 year ago
THIS IS ONE OF THOSE BOOKS YOU BETTER MAKE TIME FOR BECAUSE ONCE YOU START IT YOU WILL NOT WANT TO PUT IT DOWN. I TOTALLY ENJOYED THE STORYLINE, THE CHARACTERS, THE BEGINNING, THE MIDDLE AND THE VERY SATISFYING ENDING.
gl More than 1 year ago
I very much enjoyed Run for Your Life. As all of Patterson's novels, it is fast-paced with continuous action and a sympathetic lead detective. I enjoyed Run for Your Life in part because it had less gore than most other thrillers and even the killer was unusually interesting. How can you not be drawn in by someone whose mission is to teach the wealthy and arrogant of NYC manners? Plus, Run for Your Life introduces us to a fun new detective. I was drawn in by Detective Michael Bennett and the insight that comes from his role in NYPD Tactical Assistance Response Unit. The light hint of romance adds to Michael Bennett's charm. Publisher: Grand Central Publishing; 1 edition (October 20, 2009), 416 pages. Review copy provided by the publisher.
CBH More than 1 year ago
Being a cop in a large city such as New York can be a very difficult job in the work you perform, the job you take home with you, and the perpetrators that are always in your mind. Detective Michael Bennett had been a cop for quite a few years and thought he had met some weird criminals but this new perp that called himself The Teacher was possibly the worst ever. He was killing, seemingly taking no definite direction regarding his victims as to location or individuality. And his killing was increasing too quickly to keep up with or where he would next strike. Bennett had lost his wife, Mauve, less than a year ago. She was his rock and salvation being there to give Michael comfort when he came home downhearted because of work problems. Mauve knew how to "be there" for him whether it was a hug, a beer, words of encouragement, or anything else that caused him to be out of sorts. But Mauve wasn't there now, only his nanny, Mary Catherine, who lived in a nearby apartment, filled in caring for the ten adopted children he and Mauve had adopted and loved so much. Huge problems existed in the Bennett apartment when the kids started coming down with some bug and were vomiting, sometimes not in the proper place! Thank God Mary Catherine was there to assist with the kids. Amidst the sickness Bennett was trying to find this killer that struck anywhere, anytime, and dressed himself in ways that made it even more difficult to track and find. Several task forces were formed due to pressure the Police Commissioner was placing on Bennett and all that had been thrown into the fray. Days went on with no further progress in the killers search but Bennett's kids still were taking their turns puking. Poor Michael and poor Mary Catherine. Rest for both was hard to get. A reporter had broken some news not released and Bennett's superiors accused him of leaking the information. The Teacher escalated his killing using more disguises and appearing in the least likely areas to do his killing. The police always seemed to be one step behind. The Teacher sent his "mission statement" to the reporter who took it to Bennett. She wanted to get on his good side now. The statement made no sense other than he would kill more unless certain statements he wanted published we so done. Eventually the Teacher and Bennett made contact by email but there was still no information on where this guy was or where he would strike next. You certainly have the gist of the story now and I consider "Run For Your Life" one of the best these authors have written in some time. I used to always read every James Patterson book, even the ones he co-authored. The last book I was very disappointed in after reading and did not even write a review. This book is very well written with a very good story and great characters.
Picky_ReaderTS More than 1 year ago
This is the secord book i read by James Patterson. I read "Sail" and liked it a lot. This book was not believable, not captivating. I though the plot was not complex, and the main character was no appealing. Before this book, i read "The Associate" by Grisham and loved it. I hope this book is just one bad apple for Patterson, i purchased "The 8th Confession" and i am really hoping i like it better. Will let you know.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a good bok for a plane ride but not when you want something to really sink yout teath into. Some parts are completely unbeleivable.
terrylazar More than 1 year ago
James Patterson is throwing his reputation as a exciting author down the drain. With his partnering of unknown writers, the large print and short chapters, his books are not worth the money. A man with 10 children could not do what Michael Bennett does for a living. I know it's fiction, but it's also unbelievable. Totally......
LC112648LC More than 1 year ago
I'm an avid Patterson fan - so what happened to this book???? One of the worst I have ever read of his. I'm not sure if I shouldn't buy another Patterson book with Michael Ledwidge on the cover or not. Talk about boring - how you could take a plot that had potential and totally bore the reader to death with details that don't even matter or have anything to do with the book! Who cares if the main character's character has 10 kids - that is unbelievable enough - but how time and detail went into his kids throwing up, him stepping in, smells, etc. - I mean who cares??? Patterson used to be goog - BUT I'm wondering if he just signs his name on to the book cover and never reads it???? So, bottom line, for the cost of hardbacks - at this point - I will make sure I don't ever pick up a book with Patterson/Ledwidge combination again. He used to be the best - maybe he's just too tired to write stories anymore or even care. This would be at best, a bargain store buy, so sorry I waited and bought it as soon as it came out at full price. Very discouraging to say the least!!!
juarbe More than 1 year ago
He is my man I adore his book I wait for every book of his and I have to get it immediately. He is exciting and dont want the book to find can't wait for his new ones to come out.
MSH66 More than 1 year ago
This was not up to the regular standards. The family story was touching, it is hard for single working parents to do everything, especially with 10 children. But the killer was just too ordinary and not very exciting. I did finish it but would not recomend it.
emmi331 More than 1 year ago
Wide margins and double-spacing suggest this is a bit of a potboiler, but it's still fun. NYPD detective Michael Bennett faces down a serial killer who targets the city's snootier denizens. He also has a brood of ten kids at home who are down with the flu. How a cop can afford the monthly fees on an "inherited" luxury coop, as well as feed his ten kids and pay a nanny is never explained. But never mind. Expect the usual harrowing climax, complete with highly unlikely come-back-from-the-dead recoveries after serious throttling, not to mention hairbreadth escapes. Still, it's a good escapist book that can be finished within the day.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In this heart racing novel, many good and bad points surface about people and society as a whole. The author's ability to truly capture the thought process of a calculating murderer in such detail really helps the reader understand the overall situations throughout the book. As seen by this example 'but so was the profane hollowness she called her life that she either hadn't noticed or didn't care that she had offended a fellow human being.'(page 41) Not only is this novel narrated through the protagonist's point of view, but also the antagonist's. This made the story more interesting as the readers would have to pay close attention, but also required of them to remember details about each character. Although this novel is fiction Patterson managed to create real life situations and captured the society's reactions to people and events quite accurately. As seen on page 44, 'people still watched him, but no one was going to challenge a man who looked like him, on the word of a woman who looked like her...' However, due to the usage of some strong, unnecessary and overall offensive language did take away from the story. Overall this story is a definite 'must have' to any reader who enjoys action, ingenious plots, and thrilling suspense within a novel.
BNManager More than 1 year ago
Patterson has been up and down in his mass attack of book over the past few years but this one is back to Patterson spot on. A page turner that will leave you sweating. Like Cross it gets back to the roots! Read you be happy you'll did
CraigFL More than 1 year ago
Whilst I agree with others that co-authored James Patterson books in general are lack-luster and are for the most part disappointing, this one's a gem. It's every bit as good as a true James Patterson endeavor! This partnership with Michael Ledwidge is a winner. Looking forward to another!
grumpydan More than 1 year ago
I know that there are times where I would like to scream at the obnoxious person talking loudly on their cell phone in a public place without a care to the others around them, but when the Teacher in James Patterson novel, RUN FOR YOUR LIFE talks it to the extreme and pushes her onto the tracks of an income subway train. The Teacher is the latest protagonist in a Patterson story and he continues to murder those he deems rich, obnoxious and not caring about the importance of all our lives. New York City Detective Michael Bennett starts putting the pieces together and tries to track down the Teacher while trying to maintain a family for his ten motherless children. As with many of Patterson's books, this is a fast-paced, easy read. One can devour it one sunny day at the beach. But the thrills are beginning to fade. His stories tend to formulaic and even the twist at the end did not make for a good book. My wife loves James Patterson, but he puts out books too quickly for me to expect anything powerful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great new series for Patterson
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Some of James new books are not up to par, especially when he writes with someone else. This one was very good, Patterson Style. For anyone who wants to read a good mystery by him, this one is great.
oldbumplumpy More than 1 year ago
This seems like Patterson has run out of steam with Alex Cross so is trying to invent a new detective. It DOES NOT WORK. A detective with 10 adopted kids whose characters do not truly develop (and who cares). Far too much time trying to create a family we care about rather than concentrating on the case in hand which should be the thrill of the chase. I love reading Patterson but this reminded me of too many recent movies I have seen. Certainly not one of his best.
Brad_Puckett More than 1 year ago
A menace is loose in the Big Apple, punishing the rich that don't have good manners. Calling himself "The Teacher," this menace has gone on a killing spree in New York City. Co-authors James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge take you through a suspenseful thriller that might just leave you scared in their book Run for Your Life. The story takes place in the magnificent and sometimes scary New York City. The main character Michael Bennett is a police detective for the NYPD. The story gets right into the suspense as it starts with a touchy hostage situation. Bennett is also a widow and has to take care of his ten adopted children. His life gets quite hectic trying to do his stressful job while taking care of the kids, especially when all of them come down with the flu. When word of a murder hits, Bennett is assigned to the case. A second murder occurs at the 21 Club by a bicycle messenger. After studying evidence, Bennett decides that the murders are related. It is the work of The Teacher. He says he is tired of the impoliteness in New York and is punishing those who don't have manners. Bennett is determined to catch this menace so New Yorkers will calm down. Patterson and Ledwidge create a suspenseful situation that makes you feel like you are actually there. The ending twists and turns and gives you a sense of satisfaction. If you love James Patterson's mysteries, you will love this one even more. With the combined mind of Michael Ledwidge, this suspense thriller is one of a kind. This book is mind twisting and fun to read.
SexyPR9803 More than 1 year ago
I love JP but I am feeling disappointed lately. It is true that he has way too many books out with co-authors that were no good. Even Cross Country was a huge disappointment.
I have read ALL of James Pattersons books. The very best is The Jester and The Beach House. I sure hope that this new book, Run for your Life, is good cause if not I think James will continue to loss his fans.
Anyway, on another note,there is a new author by the name of Chelsea Cain that is fantastic. She only has 2 books out, HeartSick (part 1) and Sweetheart (part 2). While part one was good, I must say part 2 will knock your socks off!!!! I am sure looking forward to a part 3. Go pick up these books, they will not disappoint.
Anonymous 21 days ago
{I'm on an emotional high right now. We're watching the Super Bowl, and with Jasmine Cephas Jones, Renee Elise Goldsberry, and Philippa Soo singing 'America the Beautiful' I'm now just plain psyched.}<p>I awake to some pitter-patter, the same sound as my feet made when I was younger.<p>I turn around, facing the expanse of room. I can't even remember where I am or why I'm here. I only remember when I reach for my hair and it isn't there.<p>Standing in the corner next to an oven- which I hadn't even realized was there in the first place- was a young man, probably my age, and a younger girl.<p>The girl was leaning over the stove, checking on whatever was cooking- which smelled delicious- and the young man looked my way. His hair was the same color as mine, except it had some blond streaks, and his eyes were a hazel.<p>When he saw me awake, he grinned from ear to ear. Not in the way he would've smiled at me had I been dressed as the girl I am, but in the way a boy would when his buddy wakes up. He poked the girl before speaking.<p>"He's awake!"<p>The girl turned in my direction ad smiled. She had dark skin and long, black hair tucked underneath a simple white scarf. But the smile was captivating, the type that makes you feel like you've made a new friend without even talking. It was kind, caring, compassionate, friendly, and sympathetic.<p>"Breakfast is almost ready," she said, quickly turning back to the stove, "do you prefer your hotcakes with or without butter, sir?"<p>"Please, call me Thomas," I say in my best imitation of a man's voice, "and I prefer my hotcakes with butter, if it's not to much for you, that is."<p>"Oh, it's not too much," she began, "and if I have to call you Thomas, you can call me Katrielle. And this is Alexander."<p>I sit up straighter, nodding. Alexander studies me for a minute or so before sitting down in a chair.<p>"What brought you here, Thomas?"<p>Oh, I don't know. My mother killed my father because of a Mark and is possibly out seeking me because I ran after being questioned about said Mark.<p>"I was just out for an evening walk when the sun started setting prematurely. I came across this empty hut and decided to rest until morning."<p>Katrielle nods and turns around, holding a plate full of hotcakes. I see a patch of eczema on her left wrist and wait until I'm calm to ask.<p>"Is that a birthmark?"<p>"Hm?"<p>"On the inside of your left wrist."<p>"Excuse me, Thomas," Alexander interrupts, his first time speaking since I woke up, "but it can't possibly be a birthmark on Katrielle's wrist."<p>"And why ever not?"<p>He slides his sleeve up to reveal a clock. Katrielle does the same. I smile softly and pull my sleeve back.<p>~-~<p>"How can this be, though?"<p>I repeated the story that Lucas had told me earlier to my companions, who listened intently to every word.<p>"What do you suggest we do about this, Thomas?" Katrielle asked, as if my ideas really mattered.<p>"That's the thing," I whisper, "that's all I know. There's more in the book 'The Traveler' by I.M. Thyme, but I haven't read it all, I don't own a copy, and the one from our public records building has been checked out by the same woman who thinks we might be a threat to society."<p>I leave out the fact that the woman is my mother.<p>"You know what we have to do, then," Alexander says.<p>Katrielle and I both shake our heads simultaneously because we really didn't know.<p>"Tommy, Kat," Alexander whispers, "we have to get our hands on a copy of that book."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very good read! Read it and you will see!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago