×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Runaway Duke
     

The Runaway Duke

4.1 69
by Julie Anne Long
 

See All Formats & Editions

Ruined! No one could ever accuse Rebecca Tremaine of being a proper young lady. She's wretched at embroidery, pitiful at the pianoforte, and entirely too informed about the human body, courtesy of her father's scientific journals. And now she's been compromised by a dandy she despises! When her parents arrange a hasty marriage, there is only one man she can turn to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Runaway Duke 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 69 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a wonderful book for anyone who claims to love historical romances. It's always wonderful to find a brand new author at their first novel and find that they know their stuff. The book is about Rebecca Tremaine, a woman who gets caught in a compromising position with an insufferable man that was after her sister. Her family is going to force her to marry 'The Bore' and he claims he will 'most likely wish to beat her daily'. In comes the white knight in the form of Connor Riordan, the family groom who Rebecca has known since she was a child. He cannot stand the idea of someone as spirited and honest as Rebecca having to marry a man like Edelston ('The Bore') who will certainly crush her spirit. He agrees to help her runaway and that is when things begin to change between Rebecca and Connor. Connor, on this journey, is unable to hide his true identity, the Duke of Dunbrooke!!! And Rebecca is unable to continue to see Connor as her childhood friend and instead sees him as a man. The humor of Rebecca, a truly admirable heroine, gives the story a wonderful comic relief. She is an outspoken and inquisitive girl who tends to ask the most inappropriate questions that are always throwing our hero off track (we wouldn't want him always having the upper hand, now would we?). And to balance her out, we have Connor, who is about as sexy as hero's come and whether he is saving her from highwaymen or simply loving her for exactly who she is, you will love him. Add that with a vengeful mistress with much to lose, a jilted fiancé, and a band of gypsies with a jealous girl and you get the hilarious, but touching adventure of a lifetime for Connor and Rebecca. Along the way Ms. Long writes scenes of romance and love so sensuous and poignant that you can't help but feel the main characters love growing and turning into something that you can picture them having for the rest of their lives. This is a new author whose next book we will be purchasing on its release date and not a day later!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Rebecca Tremaine is a curious, lively young girl who manages to get herself compromised by a handsome fop in search of a rich, disposable wife (she was trying to catch her sister in the midst of a midnight assignation with him, but her plan went horribly awry). Connor Riordan is the head groom in her father's stables -- and no one knows he is actaully the Duke of Dunbrooke, supposedly killed in battle at Waterloo. Connor never wanted the immense responsibility and gilded trappings of his birthright -- but when Rebecca comes to him for help, his past suddenly comes back for reckoning -- in the form of a blackmailing mistress and a mysterious locket. This book was simply wonderful. I could NOT put it down. The characters were so vivid and likable, even the villain, Edelston, and the villainess, Cordelia, as well as even the minor characters who show up along the way (I loved the gypsies!). The plot sweeps you along, with many surprising twists. And the love between Connor and Rebecca is so sweet and sexy, and almost blushingly real, the way it evolves. The writing is a cut above the usual romance fare -- Julie Anne Long is very skilled at description, and the dialogue is sharp and funny and realistic. I read a lot of romance, Stephanie Laurens in particular, and this is one of the best ones I've read in years. I didn't want it to end! I can't wait for her next book. HOpe this review helps anyone trying to decide to buy the book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
In 1815 Waterloo, the chaos of death and destruction leads a wounded Englishman to mutter Roddy to the question who is he is. Everyone concludes he is Roddy Campbell while next to him is the dead future Duke Roarke Blackburn. Once he realized what happened, Roarke fails to correct anyone as he sees this as an avenue to escape from his abusive father. A year later, Roarke goes by the name of Connor Riordan, head groom for Sir Henry Tremaine.

In 1820, Lord Anthony Edelston arranges a tryst with Rebecca¿s sister Lorelei. Rebecca follows her sister outside, but Edelston accosts her with kisses just as Henry catches them together. Henry calmly tells Edelston that he now has a fiancée. Over the next week, Edelston visits and bores Rebecca with his trite poetry and conversation. Rebecca tells her confidant Connor that she cannot marry Edelston. He promises to help her escape though he knows that his peaceful five years of living ends with this pledge. As they flee to his aunt¿s home, Connor¿s past will make the trek dangerous for them, but love makes the trip also pleasant for the duo.

In her debut novel, Julie Anne Long provides Regency romance readers with two fantastic lead protagonists, but especially interesting is Connor, running from a past that ultimately catches up with him. The support cast provides depth to the story line particularly intriguing is The Rom (Gypsy) moral philosophy of theft. Though the climax seems too soft and the audience never learns what happens to a key tertiary villain, sub-genre fans will want to run away with this delightful pair.

Harriet Klausner

Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book i have read from this author, it wont be the last! The story line is complex and funny at the same time. You are hooked from the very first page until the last. You will not regret investing time in this book,
LadyScarlet More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed other works by Ms. Long. Loved the hero but couldn't help feeling like the heroine was coming off a bit young and immature. The hero was such a strong intelligent man I didn't think she was his match. That being said, there were some great scenes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've just discovered this wonderful author. This is the third book I've read so far. She has a wonderful way with words, the story line and developing the characters. I've enjoyed each and every book. They are easy to read and a;ways make me smile. Thumbs up!!!!!
darjeeling44 More than 1 year ago
Julie Anne Long knows how to write. There's a reason I keep reading books in the romance genre. I am constantly on the hunt for a good love story, and I found one in The Runaway Duke. It has everything I could possibly want in a story: a fantastic hero whose complexity is believable (anyone else sick to death of reading stories about a hero whose only character trait is that he's been crossed in love before and is now wary of the emotion? Oy...), a plucky and likable heroine, a villain with whom you can sympathize (a tiny bit)... It's pretty fantastic.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just could not put this book down. I was up until 1:30 in the morning so I could finish it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the first book I've read by Julie Anne Long but it won't be the last! She blends humor, excellent pacing and an intriguing premise with characters who you'll quickly come to care about. They are intelligent and honest and adventurous and the kind of people you want to know! I stayed up late to finish this novel. I highly recommend this book
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a treasure! I read it straight through in one sitting and fell completely in love with the characters! I am not usually a fan of historically-set stories, but this one sure broke the mold! I gave it to a friend of mine to read when I was done, and she raves about it as well! Get your hands on a copy of this book as soon as possible--you'll love it (and Connor Riordan)!
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a find! I read the RT review, and this book got a Top Pick. The plot sounded fun and different, so I decided to check it out, though I'm not crazy about all of RT's picks. But I LOVED this! ONe thing that really stands out is that Julie Anne Long has a gift for dialogue -- I swear, she should write screenplays! The story moves quickly and you just can't put the book down, and each scene is like a wonderful little surprise. The hero, Connor, is vivid and sexy, and Rebecca is adorable. I read several scenes with a lump in my throat while i was smiling. But mostly I smiled the whole way through this book. All in all, It's sweet, sexy and unique. The publisher did a good job of summarizing the plot up top, so I won't go into it.I'll just say, you won't regret buying this book, and I doubt you'll be able to put it down once you do! I hope she writes more.
RBCrump More than 1 year ago
Wonderful book. The characters were fun, had great chemistry, and just flat out loved each other! I'm looking forward to reading more of her books.
skelley55 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book.  The hero is wonderful, a nobleman in hiding after Waterloo and dealing with  his  emotions.  The heroine is very young and impetuous but isn't that what  this hero needs.  This is a good love story.
regencyromantic1 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. It wasn't exceptional but none the less a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
***** = 5 star......
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is even better than the first Julie Anne Long book that I read. Her characters are very easy to love and are perfect for each other. Rebecca has spirit and a genuine personality that is hard to resist, and has no sense of her own beauty. Connor is at times seems selfish but is really just in denial about his place in life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago