×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Runner (Sam Dryden Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of Runner (Sam Dryden Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of Runner (Sam Dryden Series #1)
     

Runner (Sam Dryden Series #1)

4.4 65
by Patrick Lee
 

See All Formats & Editions

Sam Dryden, retired special forces, lives a quiet life in a small town on the coast of Southern California. While out on a run in the middle of the night, a young girl runs into him on the seaside boardwalk. Barefoot and terrified, she's running from a group of heavily armed men with one clear goal—to kill the fleeing child. After Dryden helps her evade her

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Runner 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 65 reviews.
BJsBookBlog More than 1 year ago
4.9 Stars MY THOUGHTS I REALLY LOVED THE STORY!!! and that's really saying something - because I normally HATE everything that's supernatural or psychic or anything like that! But I really loved the people in this book - Rachel and Sam. I LOVED SAM!!! He's such a sad and lonely person - ever since his family died he kind of gave up. He just moves through his days without really living. But meeting Rachel finally gave him something insanely important to do! He literally had to save the world - or at least a part of it - and especially this little girl. A girl that's all alone in the world - just like him. ...at the end of the book I might have had something in my eye! That happens so often while I'm reading - no idea what that is??? Maybe I should go see an eyedoctor ;))) the only thing I didn't like was the fact that I didn't know that the book had those 'psychic' elements in it - probably my own fault - but maybe a tiny little bit the fault of the publishers for not putting a hint in the synopsis - it only says that Rachel has 'some talents' ¿ But other than the psychic element - which is a huge part of the book - I REALLY LOVED the story. It was a THRILLER! A thrilling - suspensy Thriller from the first chapter - ALL THROUGH THE BOOK!!! I couldn't really find a few quiet moments...I could NOT put the book down - I had to know how and if they would make it! I would have given 5 big stars instead of 4.9 - but the psychic thing is just to creepily unreal for me ¿ but now.... I'M REALLY LOOKING FORWARD TO BOOK #2
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is well worth a read. It starts as a good but simple thriller. Then you reach a point, I won't say what it was, where this turns from a simple thriller into a complex and fully engaging story. I'm going rread the rest of his books for certain.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was great. I enjoyed it and found it to be a real page turner. A new topic, and very unpredictable. I highly recommend. This is my first submitted review - that's how strongly I feel about this book.
joella-marie More than 1 year ago
Loved the story, characters and suspense.    Can't wait until #2.   Thanks, I can't remember when I enjoyed a book so much.  Hope #2 is right around the corner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have been looking for another great aurthor like lee,box & cobern********* drum roll please! Great story,great characters, great read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put it down. Really imaginative, fast paced and surprising. At times I swear I felt prickling in my spine. Really enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading (and thoroughly enjoying) Patrick Lee's first three books, I wondered when the next would come out. Another great read. Please don't wait so long to write #4.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this story. Fast paced from the beginning, full of suspense with a different story line than what I have been used to reading. Started this book on Saturday and finished on Sunday. Loved it and can't wait to read more by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The champion that Mr. Lee has presented his readers with is a Tier one caliber guy that just happens to be a genuine good guy. Sam Dryden brings so much depth to his character as illustrated with his finding the adolescent heroine very much in need of rescuing. She is a very unique being with some very special gifts. Very likeable and somewhere in the future books it would be good to see her again. This is a great fast pace book that before you finish you are already looking for the sequel. Yeah, it is really that good. Wyatt Westt
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What is not to love? An adolescent girl with supernatural powers, depressed former military hero with exceptional survival skills and with parental instincts and a big government conspiracy. And it all reads extremely well. I finished reading it in one day. It is SO MUCH better than author’s previous trilogy. I am looking forward to the sequel.
nvan More than 1 year ago
If you like the thrill of the chase with a little sci fi and a lot of mystery this is well worth the read. Sam Dryden out on a late night run encounters a young girl running in terror and the chase begins as he comes to her aid. What is she running from? What is it that makes her the object of such great interest to the armed men chasing her? The story immediately draws you in as you discover through Sam the amazing truth about this young girl.
DesertReaderAZ More than 1 year ago
I have read all of Patrick Lee's books and this one is exceptional...I don't want to give anything away but it is definitely a book you can't put down.  All of the character's are exceptional and he allows you to "imagine them", which I enjoy doing.  I am an avid reader, so when I say this is exceptional, believe me. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the hero, Sam, in this book. A strong,nice guy. What a concept. One of the best of this type I have read in a long time!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down! Sleep was the only thing that kept me from reading this book in one sitting. Strongly Recommend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This first book in the Sam Dryden series by Patrick Lee was a good read! Lee develops his characters well with an engaging plot. Sam Dryden is a character who makes you want to read forthcoming books in Patrick Lee's series. Looking forward to more!
debfromphilly More than 1 year ago
Already have the 2nd book on my wishlist!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's been quite awhile since I found a book that I couldn't put down. Really enjoyed it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LuvTheTruth More than 1 year ago
I really liked the book. Looking forward to the next book in the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago