×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Runner (Jane Whitefield Series #6)
     

Runner (Jane Whitefield Series #6)

4.2 34
by Thomas Perry, Joyce Bean (Narrated by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

After a nine-year absence, the fiercely resourceful Native American guide Jane Whitefield is back, in the latest superb thriller by award-winning author Thomas Perry. For more than a decade, Jane pursued her unusual profession: "I'm a guide...I show people how to go from places where somebody is trying to kill them to other places where nobody is." Then she

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Runner (Jane Whitefield Series #6) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ah, Jane , back helping people disappear again, even after you retired. All it took, was a bomb, exploding in the hospital where you work. Yes, its been years since she has helped a runner, but she is definitely back in business. Thomas Perry has revived one of my favorite characters, better written, grittier, and a style that will keep you reading...through the night. Absolute must read for the fans of Jane Whitefield, and any Thomas Perry fan. If you enjoy this book be sure to read the early ones also. I enjoyed 'Runner' a great deal and grade it a Five Star Read.
William_BN More than 1 year ago
Thomas Perry is one of my favorite story tellers and the Jane Whitefield Series is just a flat out good read. I really like the main character and the story lines are interesting without all the complications of the International Thrillers. Just the kind of straight forward reading that you can enjoy on that long plane ride or settling down for an hour or so before bedtime. I highly recommend. An A
Mockingbirdy More than 1 year ago
This much anticipated Jane Whitefield mystery is the best yet in Perry's series of the "one who makes you disappear". Jane has matured and moved on in her life, but sustains her tight hold on innate values and thin tensile relationships from the past. This tale blends Jane's "new" life with her former life - not without hiccups along the way, but with a realism that adds pathos to the storyline. I hope it won't be another 10 years before we get the next installment of her tale.
reader100 More than 1 year ago
I adore Perry's work, and was so excited about another Jane Whitefield story that the moment I got my B&N notice about its release, I turned off the computer and drove to the store. They didn't have it yet, so I returned home and ordered it online. It was both enjobable and a disappointment. Perry's Jane is still intriguing, and I like the acknowledgment of the changes happening in her ability to hide/run. What I didn't find believable was the villain's end of the tale. The character Perry created would not have bothered to chase his prey UNTIL the threat presented to him that would have him take that path. Additionally, the opening action felt not only over the top, but didn't quite make sense. The perspective change with chapters didn't work until after the first few chapters. Jane's angst over her relationship with her spouse felt stale and repetitive and, if you haven't read the previous tales, rather unnecessary for the current tale. That part of the series didn't seem to move forward at all. Even with all the problems, Perry's writing is still tight, and he moves you along quickly. I would highly recommend the previous books in his Jane Whitefield series, but this one only to those of us who missed Jane so much we're willing to let this one be the placeholder until we get the next, and hopefully better, one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all the previous books in this series, and I can hardly wait to get this one! I had thought the series was ended, and I have never been so happy to be wrong. I love all of Thomas Perry's books, but this series is the very best. I have also just discovered author John Twelve Hawks, "The Traveler" series, and I am reading that right now. It is excellent, and will likely appeal to those who like the Jane Whitefield series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Glad to see Perry returning to one of the best characters in the past decade. He has allowed time to pass, the character to age and change and grow - bravo! Jane is fascinating, strong and very smart.
TRPChicago More than 1 year ago
Fans of earlier Jane Whitefields surely will like this a lot. For newcomers, Jane is native American, a guide to a new life for "runners" who need a total split from their past, to disappear without betraying a trace of their old identities. In this novel, a powerful family with a lot at stake stalks Jane's pregnant client, and they have plenty of ideas about where to look. Jane herself is believably clever, smart and fiercely loyal to clients despite the disruptions they cause in her private life. While Runner is not quite as good as Thomas Perry's early classic, Pursuit, few escapist thrillers are. Runner is nuanced and fast-paced. Be prepared to read this in one or two sittings.
MinniePE More than 1 year ago
Thomas Perry is one of my favorite authors and I especially loved his original Jane Whitefield series. Was really happy to see that he's writing about her again. His books are so good I can't put them down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is hard to find good new authors somtimes, so going back to someone you know makes it a good enjoyable read********* and I was not disappointed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MusingAlong More than 1 year ago
An unusual and unique plot (this is my first reading of this author). Author keeps the choice of words simple but colorful. Like many novels, it portrays the world apart from the hero as dumb and the authorities as non-existent as the "end justifies the means" of using illegal and immoral means to combat immorality (if we all could justify this, the world would be even more violent than now). As fantasy and "wishful thinking" for those in tough spots it would offer a hope that is non-existent. A plus of the novel is that it reveals little actual graphic depictions of violence (compared to say, James Patterson).
MartaCG More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this, kept my attention. I enjoy Perry's books and this was right up there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago