×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Rush Limbaugh Is a Big Fat Idiot: And Other Observations
     

Rush Limbaugh Is a Big Fat Idiot: And Other Observations

4.1 18
by Al Franken
 

See All Formats & Editions

In the grand satirical tradition of Swift, Rabelais, and Twain comes...

Rush Limbaugh Is a Big Fat Idiot, and Other Observations...

a scathing—but uncompromisingly fair—look at America's largest talk show host and the rest of the Republican right.

        Penned by the Emmy

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Rush Limbaugh Is a Big Fat Idiot and Other Observations 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
They teach in biology classes that the name of our species is "homo sapiens". That may be an apt designation for those representatives of the human race who listen to facts and reason, are constantly trying to improve their knowledge of the world in multi-faceted ways, are open to the enjoyment of the arts and feel an instinct to help the less fortunate. However, there is also a subspecies that is diametrically different from the above-described specimen. It embodies all the worst mental and emotional characteristics of humans, and some scientists believe that their world view and behavior might be influenced by their defective genetic material, which forcrs them to be in a state of constant fear and loathing of the "other". A more fitting name for this subspecies would be "homo brutus stupidus", and it is about suchbiological category that Al Franken masterfully writes in his book. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Franken combines humor with facts--a fantastic read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am neither Republican nor Democrat, neither conservative nor liberal. This book is much less serious than Al's new book, Lies. I am also big and fat, but I am not offended by Al's humor, because I'm not an idiot!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It gives Limbaugh and some of the other right wing types a little of their own medicine.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book has had a profound impact on what I read. I have always been a fan of Frankin's, but this book shows his full potential, and it does not disappoint.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i really enjoyed this book as well as all of al franken's books. it is refreshing!!! maybe the negative reviewers should learn correct grammar and spelling then go on to read books. maybe their deficiencies inhibits then from reading good books!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have been waiting for a book such as this one. He hits the mark right on with most of his observations, especially when he talks about Rush Limbaugh. It amazes me when I actually hear people talk as if they believe everything Limbaugh says, it kind of is my way of measuring their intelligence and gullibility. Al has a very high IQ. :) Keep on trucking Al.
Guest More than 1 year ago
While I do not agree with all of Mr. Franken's views, I found this book to be extremely hilarious. Those who do not like it probably do not understand irony. Read any of Mr. Limbaugh's books and one will find that liberals are pure evil, hell-bent on destroying this earth and giving what the few undeservedly have to the many, who are too stupid to possess rich people's materials, and, in fact are lucky to have anything at all. Interestingly, he took from the few rich people while he was unemployed. Democrats have their flaws as well, as Mr. Franken showed in his book, i.e. 'Bill Clinton: The Best Post-War President.' Anyway, good, fun read, just have an open mind when you start the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
People at my favorite message boards know me as Coyotte88. I read the book. I thought it was good but Flanken should have just stuck to Limbaugh. Most of the book is about Rush and his hypocracy and is worth reading. I hope Al gives us a sequel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As ashamed as I am to admit it, Al has done an excellent job exposing me and my blatant stupidity. It is painful to admit as I read this how many of my past sins have come back to haunt me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
just a seriously good book. funny AND infomative. If it doesn't crack you up, you gotta get away from the Rush Limbaugh show, you're taking THAT too seriously.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Just read the published reviews above and elsewhere to see why this book spent months on the bestseller lists. Franken gleefully exposes the hypocrisies of the right-wing and several of its members in an ironic and refreshingly un-politically correct manner. His acute observations disguised as political satire raise issues that most political analysts (and US citizens) have been too timid to acknowledge and explore.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Will the big fat idiot accept the challenge of a debate at the steakhouse of his choice? He hasn't yet and probably never will. Good old Al did alot of homework for this book and hits the nail on the fathead. Find out how long Rush was on welfare, how he picks up chicks, and see a chart of how fat he's been getting over the years. There is plenty of material in '...Big Fat Idiot' about other conservatives and political personalities as well.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When it comes to Saterday Night Live, Al does a wonderful job with the comedy. When it comes to reality, he seems to miss the point, actually he is not even close. Everyone he mentioned in his book has happened upon much more fame then he could ever dream of, including Mr. Rush Limbaugh. This is the kind of book that would go completely unnoticed if it was not for the title. Al owes the sucess (or lack of) of his book to the one and only Rush Limbaugh. Instead of bashing Rush, he should be thanking him.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This 'book' is the worst sort of drivel. I read through this book expecting a good laugh and ended up disgusted by its idiocy. Facts seem to have no place in this 'work.' As far as humor goes, everyone knows that Saturday Night Live hasn't been worth watching for years anyhow.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is another attempt to save a career gone bad and a man with no facts. So you just put Limbaugh's name in the title and sold some outdated 'humor' and at the same time attacked those for which you have no answers for/to. Get some facts and get a better co-host for your lame show Franken. Better yet try hosting the show on your own just like Rush does or do you have the balls or the talent to do so? Didn't think so. Have a good career lamo. Personal attacker with no facts.