×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Rushed to the Altar (Blackwater Brides Series #1)
     

Rushed to the Altar (Blackwater Brides Series #1)

3.6 131
by Jane Feather
 

See All Formats & Editions

From New York Times bestselling author Jane Feather comes the first of a wonderful new trilogy, The Blackwater Brides, set in the sensually im-proper Georgian period, in which three noble brothers discover they will be forced to find brides under highly unusual circumstances.

Jasper Sullivan, Earl of Blackwater, needs a prostitute. Not in the usual

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Rushed to the Altar 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 131 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like this book. It has a unique story and the author does an excellent job of developing the characters. I appreciated how the author maintained a constant tension so the reader thought there was always a twist or conflict around the corner, even if there wasn't. I did think the ending was a little predictable and it happened very quickly with no twists. I would recommend this book for a casual summer read.
Dreaminghigh More than 1 year ago
I liked this first book...had some "dry moments" but overall a very good read. I love Jane's books so this didnt disappoint. I loved the characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just finished it and it's a quick read, but would have liked to see more relationship development between Jasper and Clarissa. It seems they fell in love a bit quick. I also wish there was a bit more follow-through with the ending and I would have liked to find out what happened with the twins, but maybe that comes in the sequel (if JF is planning a sequel)?
lexilou99 More than 1 year ago
This book is missing pages 89-120 from a brand new book. I hate reading ahead and even more so missing complete section in a story just when it started to get interesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MEH!I've read several Jane Feather books and LOVED them but I feel like she lost some creativity when she wrote this. The plot has been done several times before and character development is mediocre. Certainly is not one of her best.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1761 the three Sullivan siblings (Jasper St. John and his twin brothers Sebastian and Peregrine) learn the conditions of their inheriting from their still living reformed rakish uncle Viscount Bradley. His lawyer Alton explains that they must 'save" and marry a fallen woman in need of salvation before their uncle dies. The oldest brother Jasper an Earl has no plans to meet the conditions of his uncle's will though he could use the money to pay off the mortgages on the estates he will inherit. However, fate intervenes when he meets Clarissa Astley in a seedier side of town. He assumes her being there unescorted means she is a prostitute; he scoffs at her being an innocent searching for her missing brother Francis abducted by their guardian Uncle Luke while also eluding his nefarious plans for her. He makes her his mistress. However as they fall in love, he knows she was not the hooker he thought she was and marrying her means he failed to meet the intent of the will, but marrying her he will. The first Blackwater Georgian romance is a fun lustful historical starring two likable lead characters and a strong support cast. Clarissa makes the tale work as she tries to pretend to be what she is not while enlisting the aid of the rake and his two "musketeer" brothers. Fans will enjoy the opening act as the rake needs to wed a hooker, but never expected to be hooked by love. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the book, funny and sad...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not bad but not great.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another read out of order, but that's not a problem with this series. While all the brothers appear in each one, they can be independent stories as well.  A wealthy uncle with a mischievous streak leaves all his money to his nephews on one condition - that they reform and marry a fallen woman before he dies (which is probably very soon). The head of the family, Jasper, the Earl of Blackwater, takes the lead and heads to the nunneries to see if any of the women there could be paid to play along. This is where Clarissa runs into him - quite literally.  Given her dress and their location, Jasper makes many assumptions, but Clarissa isn't anything like he thinks. She actually quite virtuous and on the run from a horrible horrible guardian. This storyline really added quite a bit of excitement to the story that was very nice. There is a constant threat lurking over her and she is never quite sure who she can trust. This leads to lots of lies of preservation and makes Jasper quite angry at times.  This deception carries almost to the end of the book and it's resolution was brilliant. Even though they don't quite trust each other, they find that they really enjoy each other's company and both wonder what if it would be so bad if their arrangement was permanent. This was a very exciting romance, as was book three, and I loved how the action and romance were tied together so well. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LaurenDabney More than 1 year ago
Decent book. Plot was a little thin, predictable. Glad I didn't pay for it, but as a free book, it's worth the money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
camaibarb More than 1 year ago
Jane Feather writes the most interesting and fascinating stories. This is the first of a new series and I really enjoyed it. Then I did by the rest of the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like to read romantic historical books. I enjoy reading about their clothing and the style of their homes. You also get to know a little something about different country sides.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a good, entertaining offering by Jane Feather. Always well-written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very enjoyable,good storyline,can't wait to read the others in the series. But... the editing... At the very end of the last chapter pages are missing. I hope the editing is betterin the next books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Happy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
And of course we have harriet klausner and her cliff note book report revealing every detail of the book thereby taking away any reason to buy the book. I wish bn would do something to this obnoxious poster, ban her, dekete all her plot spoiling posts...but do something to her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago