×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Rusty Nailed (Cocktail Series #2)
     

Rusty Nailed (Cocktail Series #2)

4.3 89
by Alice Clayton
 

See All Formats & Editions

In this sequel to Wallbanger, fan favorites Caroline Reynolds and Simon Parker negotiate the rollercoaster of their new relationship while house-sitting in Sausalito.

Playing house was never so much fun—or so confusing. With her boss on an extended honeymoon, Caroline’s working crazy-long hours to keep the interior design company

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Rusty Nailed 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 89 reviews.
BlushingReader More than 1 year ago
Rusty Nailed is the follow-up book to Wallbanger and  I REALLY insist you read Wallbanger first before you dive into Rusty Nailed.  If you have read Wallbanger, then you are in for a treat... more Simon, Caroline and Clive!  When I read Wallbanger last year, I never dreamed we would get more from this couple and I am very glad Alice Clayton created Rusty Nailed to give us the "what happens now" that I crave from favorite characters!   My expectations for Rusty Nailed were very high since Wallbanger is one of the books I recommend constantly and while Alice Clayton did deliver a great story, it just didn't give me ALL that I wanted.  (I said my expectations were stupid high, didn't I?)   Alice Clayton gave us more Simon and Caroline that I have been missing and they did deliver the humor and heat!  We get to dive into what the reality of their relationship is like and watch them grow into their roles as boyfriend/girlfriend.  I loved that we got to dig deep with Simon in this book and really start to understand his character.  Caroline got a bit high strung in this book, for good reasons and it is was entertaining to watch how "pickles" got resolved. Alice Clayton has a magic way with telling a story that is witty, funny, sweet, romantic and hot!  I love the cast of characters she created in this series and the interactions they all have with one another.  In Rusty Nailed the secondary characters did start to take over parts of the story, but since I enjoy them all it was fine for me.  While I am not sure this book was absolutely necessary, I did love catching up with "old friends", seeing how they are doing and learning new things about these characters.   My wish for the books to come in this series is that we do get to visit Simon and Caroline again, just to keep tabs on them while meeting the new characters.   If you have been missing the Alice Clayton wit from Wallbanger and her fun, lovable and crazy characters (Clive even gets to tell part of the story in his POV), then Rusty Nailed is a great way for you to kick of your summer reading!  If you have not read Wallbanger I beg you, go read it, it truly is one of the funniest, sexiest books I have read in a long time (then read Rusty Nailed).  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I began this book, I was nervous for the first thirty pages or so because it did not seem to be as good as Wallbanger. Just as I was feeling a bit sad and disappointed, the rythm and sass came back and I could not put the book down. Definitely all the attributes of the first and made me fall for the cast even more if that is possible. Excellent sequel. Love this author!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was reluctant to read a sequel to the Wallbanger, concerned it would kill the great memory. But I could not have been more wrong. This is like a long epilogue where Caroline and Simon take their relationship to a new level, while still keeping the unconventional couple dynamics that made this story so unique. The dialogs are fresh and funny, and the story is entertaining from beginning to end. Loved it!
NerdAlertBL More than 1 year ago
4.5 Wallbanging Stars!!! Alice has done it again! I could not wait to get my hands on more Caroline and her Wallbanger (Simon). Their dynamic as individuals and as a couple is so much fun! We take a quick ride through their relationship in the beginning of the book, then things start to get interesting… Caroline finds out what it’s like to be the boss of her friends design firm and Simon goes back to his home town. You can't help but fall a little more in love with Caroline and her Wallbanger through it all. Alice takes us through all this, while making me laugh my butt off throughout the entire book. I even started singing a Wizard of Oz song because of a line she inserted. :) We get tons of Clive action... I LOVE that cat. We get to spend some times with their friends too! I absolutely love all of Alice's works and Rusty Nailed did not disappoint! Oh, and wait until you get to the Epilogue!!
TheBookBar More than 1 year ago
Bartender Rating: Top Shelf “Pure, naked joy.” < That would make a good band name! This and more reviews at The Book Bar.co Caroline and Simon are back and perfectly imperfect, just the way we left them. I love this couple and their hilarious real-to-life drama. I read Wallbanger Jan. 2013, and immediately fell in love with this author's writing style and her characters. I told Jen that we needed to move to San Fran. immediately because it sounded absolutely magical. Wallbanger and Rusty Nailed have a fantastic mix of smart humor, hot bedroom (and kitchen counter) scenarios, and food... ahhh the food. The food plays such an important role that Ms. Clayton actually gave away a Kitchen Aid mixer for her Rusty Nailed blitz! "Need you, Simon - need you, please!" I was ready to tear my hair off my head and throw it at him, if I thought that would get him inside any faster. Clayton, Alice. Rusty Nailed (Cocktail #2), 2014. ARC provided by Publisher/Author. What I love most about these books is that they could be a crazy phone conversation you are having with a best friend. You can feel the emotion and visualize the environment. You're there with Caroline as she's freaking out about her work load or walking into her first home that's in desperate need of a makeover. Details are not left out and everything is a beautifully painted scene. If I thought every candle in San Francisco was at the chapel, then every candle in the rest of the entire Bay Area was lit inside this ballroom. Add to that the golden chandeliers, the crystals dripping from every sconce, the mirrors reflecting and dancing back every flicker and twinkle, and the effect was not of this world. It was of the planet Money. Which was within the galaxy Ridiculous. Clayton, Alice. Rusty Nailed (Cocktail #2), 2014. ARC provided by Publisher/Author. Simon is not just a hot boy toy, he has great lines too (hip hip hooray for a smart, well thought out male character!). He and Caroline are truly two perfectly matched puzzle pieces. Simon has his own issues to work through as these two both embrace becoming 'grown-ups'. The way he looked at me. Like I was the prettiest girl in the room. "Hey, babe." The man was a poet. "Hey." I was too. Clayton, Alice. Rusty Nailed (Cocktail #2), 2014. ARC provided by Publisher/Author. Caroline's best girlfriends are just as supportive and outspoken as Caroline, and together they can conquer any issues with take-out, game-night, or a full bar. And it's not always about Caroline. She has great advice for her friends when they need it most. Damn. Powwow in the toilet. "I'll be back; don't let them cut the cake without me." "Yes, I'll be sure to explain to the bride and groom, as well as all these good people here, that they have to wait on cake because of chitchat in the henhouse," Simon responded drily. Clayton, Alice. Rusty Nailed (Cocktail #2), 2014. ARC provided by Publisher/Author. In Rusty Nailed, Caroline's boss lady, Jillian, is hosting the wedding of the century and Jillian needs Caroline's help beyond the wedding. Caroline is overcome with taking on a huge, new project all on her own, as well as running the office. This is a wonderful example of how you get handed the baton; not everyone feels like they are ready, it just matters if they step up to take it. She was always calm under pressure, always the cucumber when everything else was jalapeños. Clayton, Alice. Rusty Nailed (Cocktail #2), 2014. ARC provided by Publisher/Author. The Alice Clayton Cocktail series is bound to be a big hit based on these two books alone and I would highly recommend them to my friends when they are looking for a fun, fast, hot read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this author's writing style.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a fantastic book! I love Caroline and Simon (mmmm, Simon) are together. It's the kind of funny, easy going relationship everyone wants to be in that can only be told by Alice Clayton. Can't wait to hear the rest of their story, and so glad that Clive finally got the lovin' he deserved :)
RoxanaRP More than 1 year ago
You know what to read now? No? Rusty Nailed, of course! If not for our wallbanger, then do it for Clive. He really needs to for us to read his story... ahem... Simon and Caroline's story.  So... this is the second instalment  in Alice Clayton’s contemporary adult Cocktail romance series that began with Wallbanger. Girls... seriously, don't miss it, because it has everything you want to find - romance, witty banter, hotsot neighbor, ex-master of THE HAREM. This is the man who can make you drop your panties in a second with his hotness and charm. But most importantly, he's a man who wouldn't suffocate you, but also be with you in a heartbeat if you need him. Sounds like the perfect prince charming of our modern times, right? Well... he is... until he's not. But let me explain... Carolines working crazy long hours to keep the interior design company running, especially since she's also the lead designer for the renovation of a gorgeous old hotel on Sausalito. So with her hotshot photographer boyfriend photografing the world for his job, she and Simon are heavy-duty into 'absence makes the heart grow fonder' mode and for her this is the perfect relationship. This was an aspeect I could easily relate to, because God knows how some of my relationships has ended because of my priorities, so I had known from the first moment when Simon decides to be home more, that this was going to be a problem for them. But like always, Alice Clayton's writing makes you forget about the drama in the instant you reconnect with the group, because  Neil and Sophia, Ryan and Mimi, and  Jillian and Benjamin are here. And Clive. Of course there he is. Sincerely it's the first time when I go nuts everythime a cat is in the scene. Of course, it's not just any  cat... he is Clive... hilarious, badass, smart-meowing Clive- like always I ADORED him and laughed at the antics and dinamics of our group. But, how could I not? Because this time, one of the guys does something wrong in the eyes of our girls, and now we have another World War on our hands (and prepare yourself of battle girls, because they don't give up easily). More than that... like I anticipated, pur favorite couple finds themselves facing dificult times with Simon being more home than far away, and Caroline has to find a way to cope with this situation. If it was me in her place... I don't know if I would find my way in his arms again, and not thrown him to the curb, but then again that's Simon that we're talking about, so after all their history (and how sweet, caring and gorgeous Simon is) I did wanted her to chose him over everything and everyone... and she did.  I'm not going to lie... sometimes I hate dramas with all my heart, but this wasn't the case. My opinion on this matter is that if you combine the angst and fury, resentment with humor and do it well... then you have a golden mind on your hands, and Alice Clayton delivers that... Obviously, we don't have Simon's point of view, but for a man who had a harem at his disposal, he is the perfect boyfriend a girl could want, and  I didn't expect that. I thought that I would myself being disappointed about him, but I'm more than happy that it wasn't this case. More than that, Simon and  Caroline's chemistry is sizzling hot with witty banter and scenes that it makes you laugh and hot in the same time. And even though that I would've wanted more Simon and Caroline's time, after everything I'm more happy that she dedicated a good portion of this book to the other characters, because in the first book I wanted more about Neil and Sophia, Ryan and Mimi. Final  Decision- If you want a book about hot neighbors, or a book about sexy photographers, or about witty and crazy designers, or about crazy couples, or about wars between members of the opposite sex, or about a cat named Clive who wants to find true love. Or if you want just a really good book, then you're in the right place. Run, don't walk and buy it! Do it for Clive!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I fell in love with Wallbanger, and this sequel did not fail in my love for Simon and Caroline; thrilling and beautiful
FS_Meurinne More than 1 year ago
Alice Clayton has become one of my favorite authors, ever since Wallbanger, well Rusty Nailed was an amazing surprise, I thought it couldn’t beet the first book, but this one got me on edge the whole book until I finished it. It is just that good. Simon and Caroline relationship is strong but has it’s struggles with Simon traveling all over the world. But this made them grow as individuals and couple. I love Alice’s humor and this book has it. What I loved the most is that we get to see more about other characters life and struggles. The story plot is excellent; the flow of it all is perfect. You just fall in love with all the characters and will be looking forward for the next book.
feather_lashes 11 months ago
★★★½ Some of the books in Alice Clayton's Cocktail series feature different couples and different storylines, but Rusty Nailed is a direct sequel to the first installment: Wallbanger and continues following lead characters Caroline and Simon. After the hilarity of Wallbanger, this sequel was fairly disappointing in comparison, but the newness of the characters' romance has passed and watching relationships progress can get a bit rocky at times. I love this series and had previously skipped over this sequel but after watching a friend recently meet Caroline and Simon for the first time, I thought it was about time to finish their story. If you are a fan of this series, make sure to include this one in the mix. My favorite quote: “...sometimes you have to pretend to be feeling better to actually feel better. It’s why new workout clothes make you feel like you want to work out. I was still waiting for that one to turn out to be true...”
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could NOT put these books down! They have me laughing out loud, smiling ridiculously, and wanting more. Wallbanger and Nightie Girl have me hooked and recommending their stories to anyone who enjoys reading great novels.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CrystalMarie218 More than 1 year ago
I have liked every book that I’ve read by Alice Clayton. She has great characters and laugh out loud moments that set her apart from other authors of this genre. And I loved Wallbanger. After reading Rusty Nailed, I’m starting to wonder if perhaps my expectations for a sequel to such a great book were a little too high. This is the continuation of Simon and Caroline’s relationship from Wallbanger. They’re doing great and settling into life as a couple together. Simon is continuing to travel for his photography, Caroline is busy with her interior design work…it all seems to be falling into place. But as things with Caroline’s work intensify and Simon has a change of heart about his nomadic lifestyle, will they be able to handle a new dynamic in their relationship? I guess the biggest issue I had with this book was I just felt like nothing happened. There wasn’t some great drama or misunderstanding with Caroline and Simon, it was more kind of the hum-drum musings of a couple. I’m a part of a couple and believe me, it’s just isn’t all that exciting. Sure they had some things they needed to deal with, but overall I just felt the plot around the two main characters was lacking. It was not lacking, however, for the supporting cast. This is where all the drama gets injected into the story, and in the end it made me feel like I got a little ripped off for a book that was supposed to be a continuation of Wallbanger. Caroline seemed to have quite a lot of growth as a character, but Simon almost seemed like he was absent for most of the book. That I found to be disappointing. Of course as an Alice Clayton book this read had some really funny moments. Let me just take a moment to say that Clive the cat needs his own spin off series…he is the best character of this series, in my humble opinion. Clive…the book is worth reading just for him. Overall, I didn’t find myself enjoying this book as much as Wallbanger and it had a rather abrupt and I felt unfinished ending. However, I think if you enjoyed Wallbanger you should give it a shot. This is merely my opinion and as I stated I may have been filled with overinflated expectations when I began this, which I didn’t have for Wallbanger. I say read it. 3.5 stars. Reviewed by Sara Squared for Crystal’s Many Reviewers *Copy Provided for review*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
fanofbones More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed Rusty Nailed ( 2nd in the Cocktail Series ) just as much as Wallbanger.   Following Caroline, Simon and Clive around  SanFran was just a joy to read.   I love that the author gives me descriptions to die for in her books.   From the city to the cozy homes or the clothes, she makes it sound beautiful.   This had just as much humor, you laugh and cry with the characters. I can't wait to read  the 3rd in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the continuation of caroline and simon's story. Romantic, funny, sexy an overall great read. 237 pgs
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Waste of money and time
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Hi there"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I slogged thru this book because the first was soooo good, but this book was awful. TO THE AUTHOR: IF YOU DO NOT HAVE A STORY TO TELL, DO NOT WRITE A BOOK!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book and sweet romance