×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Sad Desk Salad: A Novel
     

Sad Desk Salad: A Novel

4.4 20
by Jessica Grose
 

See All Formats & Editions

As a former editor for popular websites, including Slate and Jezebel, Jessica Grose intimately understands the realities of life in the blogosphere—and she employs this knowledge to hilarious effect in her edgy and timely debut novel, Sad Desk Salad. Grose's story of a savvy blogger who stumbles upon an irresistible scoop—one that could cause

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Sad Desk Salad: A Novel 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
aharkins More than 1 year ago
boring
RtBBlog More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Robin Book provided by the publisher for review Review originally posted at Romancing the Book Before you have your coffee in the morning you have to check the blog postings. Don’t deny it you know you do. Trying to find a new place to go to meet that special someone (hopefully) you check the internet. Need to know what is going on in the lives of the celebrities you follow the internet is your go to. The access is fast and ever changing. Unlike waiting for the magazines, newspapers or even the news on T.V., everything is so yesterday once it hits the airwaves or print. But with the internet, tweeting and blogging you get information so much faster. Good? Bad, it is up to you. Ms. Grose gives us a hilarious look into the crazy life of Alex Lyons and her friends Rel and Tina as they blog. The life of bloggers seems glamorous to those that don’t blog. Easy you say…simple. Well, not so much. You still get the positive reviews which bolster your ego along with the negative which make you think twice most times about what you have chosen to do. One thing nice is the instant success of blogging. You don’t have to wait for the reviews you find out right away with IM’s. In this case Ms. Grose made the IM’s very real with her times and dates. Helped in making the IM’s seem more plausible. She had a way of making Alex like a real blogger or perhaps our image of bloggers in pajamas or unkempt clothes that you just throw on because after all who is going to see you when you work from home? The writing for this easy-breezy story was spot on with the insight into the digital age of everything. Also, how we as a society tend to want to get information quick because of our lack of attention spans. Ms. Grose touched on the lack of privacy for the rich and famous which caused a ‘stalker’ for Alex who sent her hate/bullying in the blogging world to light. How you can easily find yourself so wrapped up you forget about the real world and how to deal with real people. Her lighthearted look into the world although funny also tended to touch on the truth and made everything seem very real and not just a story. I found myself wrapped up in the lives of Alex and her friends…They made me laugh. Who doesn’t need a good laugh once in a while? Whether you are a blogger or just someone who enjoys blogging you will find this story very insightful into the life of bloggers everywhere. Real or not? You can be the judge?
RobertDowns More than 1 year ago
SAD DESK SALAD takes a snarky and impassioned look at American society through the eyes of Alex Lyons who has much more to offer than just snarky wit and charm. This tongue-in-cheek approach to the Internet way of life had me nearly in stitches at times, and at other times, I seriously questioned the sanity of our society. I mean, many Americans literally live for the latest antics of Britney Spears, Lindsay Lohan, and Amanda Bynes and seek out the latest celebrity sex tape scandal like it’s a ticket to the Italian opera. We’re a crotch flashing, paparazzi attacking, reality show watching, screwed up society. The crazier you are, the more likely you are to actually get attention. We want immediate gratification, and whatever happened two hours ago is old news. Yes, folks, gnats actually have larger attention spans than we do, and it’s only going to get worse. Like Alex, I’d like to “state my opinion without being attacked by the judgment police every goddamn second.” But if you do write a controversial post, it’s important to stand by what you’ve written without feeling the need to defend yourself, even if the comments flood in like a broken dam. “The positive ones are ego inflating, and the negative ones can be soul raping, but if you let them get to you too much, you start pandering to the audience.” I loved the fact that the IMs were time stamped with hours, minutes, and seconds. That’s what we’ve reduced ourselves to people, even though we have 31,536,000 seconds in a year. And if you don’t use them properly, your life could follow Alex’s train wreck tendencies. Her out-of-control spiral resembled her sketchy hygiene, unwashed black eyelet muumuu, and penchant for Internet abbreviations. I cringe at the thought that we might actually enter a world where we can be BTD, BRB, DARFC, BTFO, CBB, DDG, and EMI all in the same sentence. If you don’t like to take yourself or your characters too seriously and you’d like to take a rather hilarious look at the extremist tendencies of our society, you’ll probably find yourself enjoying this read. Robert Downs Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings Are you looking for a quick chick lit to read to put you in a good mood?  Are you a blogger and want to read a book about a fellow blogger?  This is the book to pick up, it was a perfect chick lit read for this blogger!  Although Alex and I have very different blogs, it was so fun to read a book that centers around a very consuming hobby of mine!  Alex blogs for a blog titled Chick Habit that specializes in the celebrity and issue related news that is happening here and now.  She spends most of her day on her couch looking for the next story that must be ready to go to "print" within 45 minutes of finding the news blurp.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a slow read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Here?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Go to the book "desktop yoga"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is dragged there
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Attacks frank then disappears
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
FU.CK YOU, PO PO!!!!!! *Firebombs the station*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A tall 18 year old girl with really curly Marie-Grace style blond hair and grey-blue eyes. Funny smart tomboy and sort of a rulebreaker. Bf none has a little sister named Jackie and an older brother named Chase. Also has a nephew named Jack and a neice named Sierra.~l_ottie
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thirteen meth qiuter five feet
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im nook police department!!^_^ ~ashley
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Brow hair tall no bf loves to party looking for a sweet guy who will love her no mtter wht she does happy even when ppl make fun of her
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Has gold eyes has silver eyes with gold streaks through his arm a secret one brother called seprioth valintine gf none
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A tall slender girl with waist length auburn hair pulled into abponytail. Shes wearing blu skinjy jeans, a light yellowtanktop and sunglasses. Her fingernails are perfecty manicured and yellow to match her shirt. She walks in confidently, dragging three suitcases. She stands studying a campus map
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A tall 17 year old that has long blonde hair has no boyfriebd sexy and hard working athletic and smart sweet fierce and cocky. Wants to go to collwge