×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Salem's Lot
     

Salem's Lot

4.4 715
by Stephen King
 

See All Formats & Editions

'Salem's Lot is a small New England town with white clapboard houses, tree-lined streets, and solid church steeples. That summer in 'salem's Lot was a summer of homecoming and return; spring burned out and the land lying dry, crackling underfoot. Late that summer, Ben Mears returned to 'salem's Lot hoping to cast out his own devils and found instead a new, unspeakable

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Salem's Lot 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 715 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was the first Stephen King book I read and I was thoroughly impressed. It offers a plethora of horror, suspense, and almost non-stop action. It was the first book that actually scared me in any substantial way and made me sleep with the lights on. One night while I was reading it, I had my window open and I actually closed it because I was so scared. I have read Dracula by Bram Stoker, the original Vampire story, and in my opinion, this book is better. It started off a little slow but didn't take too long to get exciting and once that happened, the suspense and action kept on coming throughout the entire book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First off let me start by saying this book scared the living hell out of me. There were nights where I would stay up until three in the morning reading and have to shove it under my mattress before turning the lights out. I thought that my life would never be the same again after reading this hahaha! King has a gift of building up this intense level of suspense and it's not until the last quarter of the novel where the climax actually happens. My friend would ask me what the heck was so scary and I had a hard time putting it into words, it just was! Such a great classic! I am so in love with this book even though I still turn on all of the lights in my house!
Enchantress0fTales More than 1 year ago
Stephen King seems to have a knack for making something so traditional and so (nowadays) cliche and making it so freaking amazing. It took me a long time to read the novel only because I have a social life and school. However, while I was reading it, I was automatically sucked in. My teachers had to literally force my attention back to the board or textbook. It doesn't take but one page to suck you in. After you get going, you don't even need the lights off to get the creeps or shivers. It's that natural talent that I envy that Mr. King has. Vampires have never seemed so real to me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This novel shows the progression of Stephen King from master of the scary story to literary treasure. The writing is so-so in some places and excellent in others, but the sheer amount of raw talent from a young novelist (I believe he was 23 when he wrote this) makes this book such a standout. Ominous, even downright scary in parts and well-worth your time.
JessieW87 More than 1 year ago
This is my first Stephen King read and I am pretty happy with it. It was definitely thrilling and suspenseful. At some points, I was a little scared! I thought it was particularly slow in the beginning and I find his character development extreme. I love know back stories and details about characters, but I thought he went into too many details with minor characters. It was minor, but the extreme character development did leave me annoyed sometimes when I wanted the story to start picking up. When it finally picked up, I started to enjoy it very much!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Salems Lot is the best vampire story ever written...ive read all kinds of authors books about vampires...but Salems Lot beats them all!!!!
cbuckley More than 1 year ago
If you enjoy being scared, then this is the book for you. It is a story of a town that is being invaded by vampires turning the townspeople into the undead. Whats cool about the book is that each chapter is from a different characters perspective. The vampires don't arrive until later in the book... just so you get to know the characters, so when they die you actually feel for them. But before the vampires arrive you are still scared with stories of the old abandoned mansion in this town. If you are scared easily this is not the book for you. But if you enjoy being frightened and gore, this is the book for you.
Captain_Steve_Cook More than 1 year ago
I was stationed in Germany (Army) when this book came out. There was one copy between 4 barracks roommates, hence 4 bookmarks. We were all on different shifts at a radar repair facility so the book was being read constantly. We all were afraid to open the curtains for fear of seeing Danny Glick hovering out there. Chilling To The Max.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This by far is my favorite book by Stephen King. Funny, Ive been reading his books since the 80's and I had never read Salems Lot. Amazing, Scary and I could feel myself being right there.. thats how good the Author is!! Give this 5 Stars
One_Picky_Reader More than 1 year ago
When this book first came out (hardback) I began reading Kings books. This one freaked-me-out !.. I turned the lights on !! Why they made into a movie ? Man it didn't even come close to the book !
smp315 More than 1 year ago
I originally read this in middle school and remember loving it. Decided to take it for another ride (I like reading scary stuff as Halloween approaches). I was amazed how scary and suspenseful this book still is after 30+ years...a classic that still stands above the others in the current vampire craze. Check out another Haunted House story to be released. Check out "The Supernaturals" by NY Times bestselling author David L. Golemon (Event Group Series). A friend of mine is reading an advance copy he picked up at a Horror convention and says it's creepy with Stephen King-like elements.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book had me hooked from the first word. A thrilling advenure only the master of horror Stephen King could have created. I love it! A legacy in a leauge of it's own. This three-part book will capture you and never let you go!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This novel, like much of King's finest work, is successful because he is able to make you believe in the unbelievable. He does this by creating finely drawn, idiosyncratic characters which inhabit a fully realized world. The reader is drawn in and involved in the characters lives in a way which encourages the suspension of disbelief. King is a fine writer and this is a wonderful example of his talent.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a huge fan of horror. It's all I read. I wanted to read a book I had never read before, but not be disappointed, so naturally I picked a Stephen King book I hadn't for some reason read yet. The second I started reading the first few chapters I knew it was good. It was taking a tiny bit to get to where the story really picks up, but when it does, it picks up big time. About a little over halfway through I had to stop reading because it got late and I was about to pass out. I was on the verge of severe nightmares that night. It took me forever to fall asleep. I don't know how I gathered enough courage to walk a couple steps to the bathroom. The horror in the book is so well written. It is in all of King's books. This one especially. It impacted me mentally and, as one that doesn't usually get affected by stories like this, it was terrifying. He writes with such detail, you can perfectly imagine each scene. There are moments of suspense and I just want to skip over sections to see what happens next. You can't skip though because almost every sentence is important to the story and you'll miss something that will make you confused later on. There is content that is only meant for adults, but not that much. I would say ages 15+. Definetly a must read for anyone who likes a great horror book. And possible nightmares.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the book that got me into Stephen King when I was assigned to read it in high school. I got so hooked in it that I turned my school copy back in to my teacher and went out and bought the full version and started over and finished it before any of my other classmates. A great book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought that this was a well written book, for sure had dark Gothic elements in it. For my first Steven King book, i was thoroughly impressed because i had never been scared by a book before. This definitely had me on the edge of my seat (figuratively speaking) and I never thought that i could be so attentive to a book before. Well done, Steven King.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it. Creepy, lots of characters and lots of detail - classic King. Really enjoyed the back-story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Creepy as hell. Could be a town out there like this one. Hated when Susan went in that house. Stupid stupid stupid. I'm brave, curious etc. but yea right. Only way I'd have gone in there is if my kid, mom, dad, sister, etc etc was in there. Not gonna happen otherwise. For me, that part really sucked
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite Stephen King books. It's written the way a horror novel should be written; suspenseful, chilling, and (most importantly) horrifying! There was a surprise in every chapter, some that even had me stop reading and ask myself if that really just happened. It kept me on the edge of my couch and was thoroughly well written from the first few pages. If you are a fan of Stephen King than I definitley recommend Salem's Lot, and if you have never read any of his novels yet, this is a great one to start with.
Cynthia_77 More than 1 year ago
What a great classic Stephen King read! I really enjoyed reading this classic horror novel and if you love the horror genre and vampires, this book will suit you. There are no "nice" vampires in this book, and for that reason, this was such a refreshing read from the brooding, romantic vampire books that are currently cashing in sales at the local book store. Stephen King delivers the basic old-school vampire theory with 'Salem's Lot. Now, some readers will claim there is way to much mundane information included about the townspeople of Jerusalem's Lot, but you must get to know these people to get the full effect of this book. As far as the scare factor with this book, there are some that claim it kept them from sleeping soundly at night. For me, well, I slept just fine. It didn't give me nightmares or scare me into hanging garlic on my windows. I'm not saying this book isn't scare worthy because I am sure for some it absolutely is. It really takes something absolutely horrendous to scare me. I seem to be desensitized to the horrors associated with vampires. 'Salem's Lot is a well-written, classic read that I thoroughly enjoyed. I would absolutely recommend this book to all my vampire loving friends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am not normally a fan of the vampire genre, but I love Stephen King. Not since "The Shinning" have I been sufficently terrified by a book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hadn't read this since high school, but I'm glad I chose to reread it. One of King's best!
feeway More than 1 year ago
This was the first SK book I ever read and it scared the hell out of me when I was 10 as well as now. This was written back when vampires were evil and you did not sleep with them or marry them. Nor could they walk in sunlight. I read every year to remind myself how good Stephen King can be. I wish he wrote a sequel .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book. Stephen King never ceases to amaze me. <3
Jennifer24 More than 1 year ago
I really liked it.