×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Sammy's Hill
  • Alternative view 1 of Sammy's Hill
  • Alternative view 2 of Sammy's Hill
     

Sammy's Hill

4.6 51
by Kristin Gore
 

See All Formats & Editions

The truth behind the lies.

It was an unforgettable scene. Dina Matos McGreevey, an attractive woman in her mid-thirties, wife, mother, and First Lady of the state of New Jersey, watched silently as her husband, then New Jersey Governor Jim McGreevey, resigned his office with the revelation that he was a "gay American." The picture of grace

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 50 reviews.
THHernandez More than 1 year ago
This debut novel by the middle daughter of former Vice President, Al Gore, is a hilarious, witty, page-turning comedy with a sliver of politics running through it. Twenty-six year old Samantha Joyce is a newly arrived staffer for the junior Senator from Ohio with expertise in health care. Released in 2005, the topic was timely with health care reform front and center, but it's still as fresh ten years later as it was back when I first read it. Sammy is idealistic, nervous around members of the opposite sex, a little neurotic, and forever hopeful. As she works on the issues for her boss, she tumbles into a romantic relationship. While billed as chic-lit, this is more than that. It's equal parts politics, which no doubt Kristin Gore has the experience to accurately portray, and lighthearted romance. I loved the story, the politics, and the characters. I'm looking forward to picking up more by Gore. Plot The main plot is Sammy's goal of getting health care reform passed, but a strong subplot is her romance with Aaron Driver, and both are done really well. It's definitely a fun, light read that moves quickly. The political process is interesting, even if it's told in a humorous way. Well, let's face it, politics is pretty much a joke in this country anyway. World Building Set on Capitol Hill, Kristin Gore has a solid handle on the world she's set her story in. Considering her parentage, it's understandable. I love her witty take on D.C, the procedures, and the political infighting. Characters Sammy is quirky in the best sense of the word. I know a lot of people have compared her to Bridget Jones, but she's really her own kind of awesome and she comes off adorkably so. The rest of the cast is just as delightful, but much less neurotic. Top Five Things I Enjoyed About Sammy's Hill 1. Sammy's quirks. She worries about everything and anything, including things that probably would never happen to anyone, but that's all part of her charm. 2. Capitol Hill. The setting is as fascinating as the characters and often just as colorful and off-balance. 3. Health care. Because even after the Affordable Care Act, it's still an important topic. 4. Politics. I'm a political junky, so the wonky plotline was pure confection. 5. Aaron Driver. He's one of the really good guys and it's nice to see that guys don't have to be total alpha male types to get the girl. Bottom Line Sammy's Hill is a quirky political romantic comedy with fun characters and a timeless plot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of my all-time favorite books. I re-read it every summer and I just came on here to download it for my new nook and it's not available in ebook format! Nooooooo! I am hoping it comes out for the nook soon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book made me laugh so hard I cried. Sammy is one of the funniest characters I have ever read. I let my dad read it and he couldn't put it down either- despite the fact that romance in it, it is an all around great read for anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
angelacli More than 1 year ago
Funny, funny, funny... The main character could be your quirky best friend. A hilarious fictional work that shows a funny perspective of capital hill. The plot thickens as the main character finds herself on a political roller coaster supporting her employer..one of the only honest politicians in DC, while he rockets forward in the political arena. The main character finds her in hilarious predicaments that she solves with the help of her also quirky friends.
Stacie0408 More than 1 year ago
Gore starts the book off as though the characters were in mid-sentence with you which is a great feeling! Immediately understanding the protagonist, Sammy, and her issues is a great insight to the novel. With recent events in Washington, the discussion of healthcare reform should resonate loudly with the reader. Learning more about her romance with Aaron Driver and the repeated run-ins with Charlie Lawton while balancing a full-time staffing job of a US Senator is full of laughs and "I can't believe that really happened to her" moments. Sammy's promotion to work for her boss as her party's Vice Presidential candidate brings yet another level to the amount of work she tries to accomplish in a mere 24 hours a day. From the opening lines to the ending, Sammy's Hill is an engrossing read and will definitely give a lift to your day.
AgathaHD More than 1 year ago
This was so close to Bridget Jones, that at first I was turned off, but I warmed to it very soon. Sammy is a kinder, gentler Bridget Jones. Whereas Bridget doesn't have much going for her, Sammy is at least very efficient at her job, even though she's got the klutz thing going on. Although I knew right where it was going, I enjoyed the ride. It was also interesting to speculate what fictional American political figures in the book might be patterned after real political figures. It gave me hope that perhaps not every politician is a jaded player. There could be some out there who are interested in decency and who feel they really do work for and are accountable to the people. Or members of the "pubic" (read the book!).
KRK More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down! From cover to cover, it took me less than 24 hours. There are pieces of Sammy that everyone can identify with, be it her addiction to the man that is clearly wrong for her, her affinity for sticking her foot in her mouth, or her self-proclaimed status as a hypochondriac. I must admit, after reading the first chapter, I wasn't that excited about the book, but it quickly took off from there. Sammy's Hill was a fabulous read - thank goodness I also bought Sammy's House so I can follow Samantha Joyce to the White House!!
LFWright More than 1 year ago
Really funny book that I truly enjoyed from cover to cover!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
SAMMY'S HILL throws young and idealistic Sammy Jones into the fiercely competitive, smooth-talking, back-stabbing world of D.C. politics. While at times it can be a struggle just to keep her head above water, Sammy never wavers in her commitment to serving the public good and bringing about honest change through the democratic system.

Working as a domestic policy advisor for a U.S. Senator is by no means easy, but Sammy adores her boss and works her butt off to make sure that he has the best information possible to make decisions about health care policy. Sammy is on a quest to make health care affordable for all Americans, and she will do whatever it takes to pass the necessary legislation. Pulling all-nighters fueled only by coffee and calling in weed-addled senior citizens to give testimony at Senate committee hearings are par for the course.

When she starts dating a staff member of a rival Senator, Sammy's professional and personal lives intertwine, with occasionally disastrous consequences. With her quirky and klutzy character, Sammy is lovable and easy to relate to. Who hasn't been conned into buying far-too-expensive Japanese fighting fish from a secret agent of the North Korean regime?

Kristin Gore is genius at crafting a witty storyline, too complex to be deemed merely chick-lit, but hilarious and with a proper dash of romance nonetheless. For anyone who adores romantic comedies but finds them often all too predictable, SAMMY'S HILL is a more intelligent alternative, with underlying messages about politics and life effortlessly woven into fast-paced entertainment.

Sammy's optimism and perseverance are inspiring and refreshing in a world that most associate with dirty money and personal agendas. If there were more Sammy Jones' in Washington, the world would be a better place.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
After reading the great reviews on Sammy's Hill here, I was disappointed. I found Sammy to be seriously neurotic and superstitious, and the whole book preachy concerning the health care system in the U.S. I just couldn't identify with Sammy at all, although parts of the book were funny. For those reasons I'm only giving it two stars. I had hoped it would be something more than it was.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just got done reading Sammy's Hill today and it was one great romp around the country. I am so glad that the follow up, Sammy's House, is available. I'm not done with this character yet, that's for sure!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought Sammy's Hill was great. Gore shows how females are making their way into the political picture with a witty sense of humor and realistic stuggles.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i love politics, but i wasn't sure what to think of this 'political chick lit' book. i was very pleasantly surprised. the author's voice is warm and hilarious, and although it is 'chick lit' it has some substance to it, as well as brains. i can't wait to read her next one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! I just finished it and am totally bummed there's not another one to read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sammy's Hill is a hilarious, 'laugh out loud' read. If you are having a bad day, week, or year, pick up Sammy's Hill and it will pick you up! If you have ever done anything embarrasing you will feel better reading this book as Sammy has done much more humiliating things than you dreamt imaginable!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sammy Jones and her wildly aloof imagination had me rolling on the floor laughing and rushing to turn the pages.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book and I absolutely loved it!! I work on the Hill and 'Sammy's Hill' was a somewhat true depiction of life on the Hill. Although, life on the Hill is not that dramatic, as it was depicted in the novel(ie: man gets high before testifying at a committee hearing or someone is accused of being a spy just because he/she shops at a certain place all the time), I loved it because I knew of the many places Kristin Gore talked about and the fact that it took place in DC.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is wonderful, Kristen Gore could have been reading out of my diary of life on the hill. This is a must read for every twenty-something looking for romance and a career, especially for those of us living in DC!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. Kristen Gore is a wonderful author who kept me laughing. I simply could not put the book down. When is her next book coming out? The characters were so human, so real - at times I felt like I could relate to Sammy. This book was recommended by my sister, who also loved it, I am SO glad I borrowed it. Definitely worth reading and sharing with others
Guest More than 1 year ago
Kristen Gore is a phenomenal author. She writes with such honesty and humor. I simply could not put the book down. I finished it in three evenings. I had to find out what would happen to Sammy, a character I, oddly enough, relate to. I have only one question: when is Kristen Gore's next book coming out??