×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Sam's Letters to Jennifer
     

Sam's Letters to Jennifer

4.2 334
by James Patterson
 

See All Formats & Editions

Laced with mystery, Sam's Letters To Jennifer combines two unforgettable love stories in a novel that's absolutely impossible to put down.

Jennifer returns to the resort village where she grew up to help a beloved relative--and ends up experiencing not one but two of the most amazing love stories she's ever known.

The first is completely unexpected. In a series of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Sam's Letters to Jennifer 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 330 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mind you, this was my first James Patterson novel and compared to all the other reviews I have read I am sure there are other great books by him. I am now reading "The Lifegaurd" and so far it's great.
Sam's letters to Jennifer was a good read. I read it in two sittings and it kept my attention the whole time. I thought it had a good story line and I enjoyed to two love stories.
I believe the story could have been played out more. But you can tell it was a get to the point story. I wouldn't surprise me if Mr. Patterson wrote it over the weekend.
I recommend this book to someone who is taking a long flight or isn't a avid reader, because it is such a good short read. Not a disappointment,
sendy_s More than 1 year ago
If you like a good love story, then Sam's Letters to Jennifer is the story you're looking for. It gives two love stories from a grandmother and granddaughter. It all happens in the summer in Lake Geneva. Jennifer the main character of the book leaves her job in Chicago to go to Lake Geneva where her grandmother, Sam, lives. A family friend found Sam on the floor unconscious. Jennifer has been very close to her grandmother; it's like if she was her best friend. Jennifer feels lost because she doesn't want to lose her grandmother like she did her husband, Danny. This novel is different from any other novels because it has a lot of feeling to it as well as imagery. A good example of the imagery the book has is in page 102, "A cooling breeze gusted under a hazy sun, and the air was a perfect seventy-five degrees." I can really picture the way it would be out. It has a good story to it, and gives you two sides of love stories. Some of the surprise moments in this novel are when Jennifer finds letters to her from Sam. She reads them little by little while Sam is in the hospital. In one of the letters it tells Jennifer how Sam will be telling her secrets nobody ever knew about her. The first letter told Jennifer how Sam never really loved Charles, Jennifer's grandfather. Sam goes into detail how she met Charles. He was a gentleman at first but the 3rd day of their honeymoon Charles slapped Sam. Sam left everything for him and he slapped her, she felt like running away. Sam calmed down and told him next time he raises his hand to her she'll leave. After that nothing was the same, Charles was moody and always was working. Sam also says "These letters aren't just about my life, Jen; they're about yours." She wants to get Jennifer to move on and feel better. Sam tells Jennifer that only because Danny is dead doesn't mean she should shut love out of her life. This book has a good story to it. I enjoyed reading the book Sam's Letters to Jennifer. I usually don't read books but this book I am almost done with. It has a lot of imagery to it, tone and feeling. It makes you think about life and all the good things it has to it.
LovieMarie More than 1 year ago
I picked up this book not sure what to expect...I could not put it down. It was three love stories in one! The chemicals between all of the characters was phenomenal. For anyone who is a sucker for love stories, this one hits the spot!
morghenp More than 1 year ago
James Patterson has a way of expressing the things in life that we take for granted in his writing. Published on June 30th, 2005 is where in this Fiction novel the main character, Jennifer is facing trials of guilt, love, sadness, and hatred. But, through her Grandmother (Sam) letters she is able to find a bit of herself in her Grandmother in a shocking twist she never expected. Patterson is able to dazzle the reader's in this captivating story of love and hardships. As Jennifer begins the new chapter in her life she is able to realize that she has taken many of things in her life too seriously and she decides to let loose. She is able to find true love, and lose a person she loves. This novel can really help you realize that you can meet and love so many people but they're always going to be gone before you can ever do anything. God has placed us on this Earth and he can take us at any given moment. I would have to say that Patterson has written many great novels. Another one of his novels that I have grown fond of is Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas. Also in this novel, a young lady named Kate falls in love with a guy but he winds up breaking her heart and then he shows her why these things happened between them through the Diary of his late wife and son. These two novels relate in a way of both having key reasons of why the things happen to such good people. Patterson really makes you fall in love with his characters in a way that he simply describes them and gives them problems that many of his reader's can actually relate to. I recommend that anybody and everybody should read this novel. You can really get a good vibe of how precious life truly is. I mean, do we as humans actually realize how precious life truly is? That we can be given true hardships and love? Or that we can actually lose the ones we love before we are ready? So in this story you would need to have a tissue on hand because it is so heartwarming. You get to learn of ones struggles through losing the man she loved and how her Grandmother went through many of the same trials that her Granddaughter is facing now. I can relate to this story in some ways because like Jennifer, I was close to my own Grandma. It's nice to have the love that your Grandma can show you. I mean, they are just like your moms except they tend to be a lot more fun. And like Jennifer, I have lost my Grandma and you really do grow to miss them. And as Brenden says in the book "I like to live my life to the fullest from sun up to sun down." We can all really get with that message. We truly should live everyday like it's our last because you never know, but it could be. So I say if you're the type who likes to read about romance love or a little bit of drama then this book would be perfect. It's filled with love, romance, happiness, and sadness which make a great book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a lovely story! Touches many parts of love/life... smiles,tears and all. I highly recomend! Read this in one sitting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love love love
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would recommend this book to anyone!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm not a big reader but my cousin had recommended the book so i read it and let me just say i could not put it down. i spent the whole day reading it and i just loved it, i would recommended this to anyone and everyone i can't wait to read another one of his books
Guest More than 1 year ago
I get easily distracted when reading a book and I tend to never finish a book when I start reading one. But I could not stop turning the pages of this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love James Patterson and this book, just wish he got more detail with the characters
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great sentimental read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book. I had never read anything by James, but now look forward to them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
grandmagGM More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this story but was surprised the outcome as far as Sam was concerned. Patterson definitely has a soft romantic side. Love it.
samieOH More than 1 year ago
on of the best books i have read. I would recommend it to everyone!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down!  I thought is was a great read and a great reminder to never turn away from love.  Plus, it was pretty cool to know that I knew Lake Geneva, Alpine Valley, Chicago and Medinah CC. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was just not what I expected (sic).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just finished reading this book on paperback. And I now have a new favorite book. I seriously couldn't put the book down! I finished it in 4 hours! Not because "It's a short read" but because I couldn't put it down. Whoever says "it's a short read" and "the love story sucked" It wasn't and it didn't! Love this book along with its author! New favorite book, and my new favorite author! -Shea
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a neat love story. A delightful and easy read.