×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Samuel Adams: A Life
     

Samuel Adams: A Life

3.4 31
by Ira Stoll, Paul Boehmer (Narrated by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

The rousing story of Samuel Adams, the Founding Father who has been undeservedly overlooked by history but who, in Thomas Jefferson's words, was "truly the Man of the Revolution."

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Samuel Adams 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
flyUSMC More than 1 year ago
Having forgotten almost everything I learned in grade school with regards to the founding of this country, any book about Samuel Adams would have served its purpose. This book, however, went above and beyond. The story was engrossing as well as informative. It spent as much time describing how we got into a revolutionary war as it did in describing how Samuel Adams was the "Father" of that revolution. It really portrays Samuel Adams as a great American that put his life on the line for the good of the country. He was an incredible patriot and hero. I Would recommend this book to anyone wanting to know Samuel Adams or needing a reminder of how our country was founded.
Jason_A_Greer More than 1 year ago
Ira Stoll's Samuel Adams is a readable popular history of a Founding Father who has been known of, but not necessarily known in American culture. This biography places Adams in the context of British and New England colonial life, and show his motivations for pursuing a revolution in government. Adams here is an ideologue, and someone devoted to changing Boston, Massachusetts life and forming the new American republic. As someone committed to principles and often just opposed to those who crossed his view of the future, the Adams here is convincingly portrayed as someone who was hard to work with, even for his allies. Stoll shows Adams motivations and consequences of his actions. He avoids hagiography, and show how Adams was a flawed man, who accomplished more than he thought possible, and when he passed, after several terms as Governor of Massachusetts, the new American life had taken on a life of its own.
HistoricalMadman More than 1 year ago
After reading David McCollough's "John Adams" and Ron Chernow's "Alexander Hamilton", I set upon Ira Stoll's "Samuel Adams", hoping to receive the same exciting and interesting style of biography. This book, while decent, is not in the same league as the others. The other two books I mentioned provided deep, vivid detail of their subjects' families, work, thoughts, gaffes, and ideals. After reading this book, I understand Samuel Adams more, but the amount of detail was lacking. The other authors made their respective subjects' legwork and daily routines seem interesting and memorable. By the end of this book, I was thoroughly bored of Samuel Adams, and couldn't tell you the names of any of his relations. There are a few positives, however. The book does show how feverishly devout Samuel Adams was, and how this shaped his views. In fact, that particular point is droned upon endlessly. I also greatly enjoyed the last chapter, in which the author gives some meaningful insight into why Samuel Adams is both tougher to connect with and lesser-well-known than his revolutionary counterparts. Don't expect the detail found in the larger revolutionary biographies here, and expect to hear a lot of "he liked God, hated Catholics, and wrote a lot of letters stating the same". If you're not an American Revolution buff, you'll probably stop reading one or two chapters in. But all things considered, it is certainly worth a once-over from anyone already interested in the subject.
JustinAL More than 1 year ago
What a fantastic source. I knew Sam Adams was more than a beer, but I had no idea what an important figure he was in our Nation's founding. I would say it proves to that, since King George wanted him, by name wanted Samuel Adams. Great read. Great information. Inspiring. Don't hesitate.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ira Stoll has done exceptional work in his biography of Samuel Adams. The book is well researched and documented and sheds light on a man who has not gotten the credit he deserves for helping in the founding of this nation. In fact, he appears to be the linchpin. So many of his ideas and phrasing wound up in our Declaration of Independence, Bill of Rights, and Constitution. He was a devout Christian who lived out his faith and is a role model for the man/woman in government who is there to serve the American people and not there to get rich.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
P-Sin More than 1 year ago
This book is good for a casual reader interested in a quick coverage of a largely unappreciated Founder. This book gives a good overview of Samuel Adams's life and times, but it fails to go deep enough to be a hard hitting biography. This is not entirely the author's fault however, as he makes it clear that Adams destroyed most of his correspondence, making it nearly impossible to recreate his frame of mind at any particular point. So the book does a good job working almost exclusively through secondary sources. I did particularly enjoy the final chapter which examines Samuel Adams's rise and fall in popularity given the national mood in any given era. His memory has become a sort of national barometer. If nothing else, it was enjoyable to read a book which examines a pivotal figure in the American Revolution who can be appreciated for more than inspiring a brewery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sanuel was a grat man but carried only two messages. One our religious right and the other freedom.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago