×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Saucer (Saucer Series #1)
     

Saucer (Saucer Series #1)

3.8 55
by Stephen Coonts
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Coonts knows how to write and build suspense." -The New York Times Book Review

A relic from the past. A bridge to the future.

After 140,000 Years...

Seismic Surveyor Rip Cantrell has made an exhilarating discovery-a flying saucer embedded in the Sahara sandstone. Buried for eons, it's not the invention of modern man. Computer-equipped, it can't

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Saucer (Saucer Series #1) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 55 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
While the plot and storyline is worth the reading of this book, 'It Could have been much better!' Had the author decided to explore the origins of the saucer and how we as a race were intertwined with it, the novel would have been much more of a 'Cannot put it down' book. As it is, the petty thievery and the chase are barely able to sustain the reader through to the end. Having said this, the book is still worth a look.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Stephen Coonts hits the nail on the head on the technological progress of civilizations from hunter-gathering stone age societies to modern information society and back. Here is an excerpt: 'The properties of the technological continuum that we have just talked about are rigid; in effect, they are laws. Since each level of technological achievement requires more and more people, more and more social organization, it follows that without the specialized people, the technological level cannot be sustained.' How true. Besides being a great story, Coonts insight into our technological society and its properties are magnificently presented. I highly recommend the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Coonts isn't known for this genre of writing, but I think he should continue. The story moves right along, the characters are compelling (the good guys likeable and the bad guys BAD). These are great vacation books, as the entertainment value is high and the reading is light.
Kyblossom More than 1 year ago
The book was okay but was very elementary considering the Jake Grafton series.
Sabin More than 1 year ago
I found the characters very likable and the story makes you want to root for them. The plot is unlikely but who cares, it's entertainment and entertain it does. The author makes the story seem very plausible. If you are interested in UFOs or not it makes a good quick read. So much so that I am currently reading the sequel Saucer:The Conquest, Which is the further adventures of the original characters.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Saucer is another exciting read from Coonts through most of the novel.The book is hard to put down, its just to bad the ending was a little to unrealistic.This is still an exciting journey worth taking.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Much better than I expected. I really like Coonts' Jake Grafton series. But with this being such a drastic change in the authors normal genre I did not know how well it would be.
lydiao More than 1 year ago
Stupid, wanted to like it but.......................NO
MikeD0 More than 1 year ago
Barnes & Noble....... aaarggghhhhhh. I type an extensive review, took me 10 minutes, and of course I was asked to register. BUT completing the registration does not post the review. This is standard stuff people! If you ask your customers to register AFTER having an available text box, keep the review!!!!!! I wonder how many reviews you've lost in thie process............... Book was a bit silly, but enjoyable. 2 stars. Waste of time this was.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Honestly, one of the worst stories I've ever read. I just wrote a particularly lengthy and scathing review of this book, but it was accidentally deleted. I don't feel that this story deserves any more of the time it would take me to re-write it. Just please, please take my advice. Stay away from this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really, that's all that can be said about this book without being unreasonably rude. It sucked. Really bad.
RCBMO More than 1 year ago
An enjoyable read and more attention holding than I expected. I purchased the 2 follow-on books because of the story line.
Winging More than 1 year ago
Fun book that will keep you reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CGAux26 More than 1 year ago
I just read all 3 of the Saucer series. A good, semi-plausible plot. But Coonts leaves a lot of loose ends. To wit, in the second book, the White House and several other landmarks are destroyed by an anti-gravity ray run by the bad guys. But in book 3, less than a year later, the White House is prominently featured for much of the book, with no mention of its destruction or rebuilding. A more picky example: The benign aliens arrive in book 3, in a star ship said to be mile in diameter. They come down to visit, and ask for provisions. They are given supplies, including "a ton" of water. That's only 250 gallons, hardly enough for the 100 year voyage they are headed for.
Capt_TomUp More than 1 year ago
It is not often I quite a negative review, but this book was not one I would recommend to readers looking for a book that you can't put down. I was just too far out there for me to get my head wrapped around the possibility of someone finding a saucer and almost overnight be able to figure out how to get it running and then successfully fly it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fun sci-fi book that held my interest.
ljparker2983 More than 1 year ago
Frankly, I don't find anything objectionable about this book at all. I guess its a matter of an author doing a SF book, which his many fans find objectionable. This the first book I've read by this author and I really enjoyed it. I have read the other two, which I also really enjoyed. Thank you Stephen Coonts for a really great story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mv
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cricker More than 1 year ago
This book was a very enjoyable read, though its premise was pretty impossible! The characters were well thought out and the plot moved right along.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago